We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place”
Review of The Ferry Boat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ferry Boat Inn
Ranked #42 of 46 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed overnight for a party in Ullapool staff very friendly Sandra Munro very friendly behind the bar made it very relaxed, our room was fine but wished we had been a floor up as it was bit noisy and we were having a late check out but no harm done nice stay in all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizamacph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 249 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

I would like to recommend the ploughmans lunch It is a ample portion with the lovely dunlop cheddar cheese being the main portion served with pickles and onions and lovey ullapool bread The staff are very helpfull The dinners at night are just as good with a choice from the specials board The portions are big so you need to be hungry I had the venison which was beautiful The views over the loch from the inn are superb with the hills in the background changing colours all the time If its a nice hot day you can take your drink and sit on the wall opposite looking out over the loch If you are driving they also offer a becks blue which is non alcoholic but tastes similar to the original becks I would highly recommend the Ferry Boat Inn not to be missed if you are passing through Ullapool !

Room Tip: only dined there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COLIN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed two nights at the FBI. I like the typical pub, and this one has a taste of authenticity. The room overlooking the loch was so very simple and nice, very clean, and excellent value. The bathroom is really small, though, with a simple shower system and a mini washbasin. The view was great, with a few boats, the mountains on the other side of the loch, authentically Scotland! Downstairs, there is a sofa by the window in the bar, great for a proper Scottish ale after a walk in the rain ;-)
restaurant quite decent in Ullapool. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the Loch, on the first floor above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guy415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I had the misfortune of staying one night in the Ferry boat Inn. The experience was truly horrendous. My room was in a state of disrepair and was cold. The shower door was hanging off and the curtains had staining. The worst thing however was the party which was being held on the floor on which I was staying. On three seperate occassions, people tried to get into my bedroom. Fortunately I had the door locked. The noise went on for most of the night. Needless to say, there was not much sleep that night.
Breakfast was also extremely disappointing.
Not what I expected from a three star establishment.
Should have read trip advisor before I booked, as there seems to be a common theme to the reviews others have given.
Definetly would not stay again and would advise others to do likewise.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a place to stay the night before the journey to Lewis. Location was good, service friendly, great live music in the evening (Thursday) and breakfast was good.
Rooms were small and plumbing in need of maintenance but clean. Guest next room was having great joy slamming doors everytime he/she could, but I know this is hard for hotel staff to control.
Overall, happy enough to return if in the area again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kilted-swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed there (room 1) on 29 April & again on 2 May after 2 nights in Lewis and were charged an extra £5 as we were into May. Thought this a bit cheeky especially as the room was cold although a heater was provided and agree with previous reviewer that the bathroom is a disgrace, hot tap squint and the loo lid would not stay up. The windows are in desperate need of replacing/coat of paint and charging for breakfast is outrageous, we had it once and not worth the money, no fish on offer and very mediocre, including the service. Food in the bar good and staff pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

In Ullapool for Feis Weekend, the town is buzzing and really busy. Thought we would treat ourselves to a" special dinner" Ooohhh we should have saved our money. We booked a table for early evening and arrived in plenty time ,it was already busy. We ordered dinner, 10 mins later the starter arrived,it was dissapointing , 3 tiny bits of goats cheese and a big pile of salad leaves drowned in vinegar. Then an hour after ordering, the main coarse arrived, it was fish ,which only takes a few minutes to cook,it was very fresh but undercooked and smothered in a tomato sauce which was too strong for the fish which was rolled around yet another pile of leaves, spinach, which was uncooked ,and set on a bed of veg which was also undercooked, raw red onion,it was obvious the problem was in the kitchen, too many orders and not enough staff, by now we had run out of time had to rush the dinner so could'nt wait to complain, but made it to the Feis concert which was GREAT!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank lona s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.0 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
650 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Creagan Guest House Ullapool
0.5 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arch Inn
The Arch Inn
#8 of 46 in Ullapool
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ferry Boat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ferry Boat Inn

Address: Shore Street, Ullapool IV26 2UJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range: $91 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ferry Boat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ferry Boat Inn is a 3 Star (Visit Scotland) 18th Century Inn, situated on the busy Shore Street of Ullapool overlooking Lochbroom and Ullapool Harbour. With 9 en-suite rooms and a lively Bar & Restaurant, The Ferry Boat Inn offers a welcoming stay right in the centre of Ullapool. Our Menu changes daily with local fish specials, main courses and of course delicious deserts too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ferry Boat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ferry Boat Hotel Ullapool
The Ferry Boat Inn Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing