We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, good atmosphere”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Reviewed September 25, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Argyll. Our room was not luxurious, but clean tidy and with a good view over Loch Broom. The owner and staff were all friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the pub atmosphere, and the music. All the meals we had there, including breakfast were good. The Argyll also represents good value.

The Argyll might not be everybody’s ideal place, but if atmosphere, a warm welcome and good food are things you value, you’ll like it here. We will stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rover54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 257 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2010

We stayed here for one night on our return from Lewis, I did not have the chance to read the reviews here so came to it as a blank canvas. Over all it was a good night's rest in pleasant surroundings, but there were pro's and cons.

The owers were great hosts, friendly and welcoming. The room was small but clean with great touches - games and books, fresh flowers and yummy biscuits. There was even fair trade hot chocolate on the tray - a real plus for me. The view over the harbour and Loch Broom was stunning. BTW, this is not a hotel for those with impaired mobility, two flights of stairs and no lift.

The bathroom was small with a tiny shower stall, hard to retrieve the soap, and on the negative side there was no shelf or rack to put you toiletries on. Most people take soap, shampoo and conditioner into the shower and it was a problem. It would not be rocket science to put up a small shelf. When we arrived the towels were beautifully folded on the bed, looked lovely, but there was nowhere to put them apart from a wobbley floor standing rail in the bathroom that was too small for them. A simple wall mounted rack would solve the problem.

Also, having only one power socket to share between kettle, TV and hair drier, not to mention any guest's appliances (phone chargers or the like), was poor.

With some minor tweaks this could be a perfect small boutique hotel.

Downstairs, the atmosphere in the bar was great with a mix of locals and visitors. We elected to dine in with mixed results: My husband had the lamb, delcious if a little over cooked, with good mash and gravy. However, my venison burger was awfull, over cooked, tough as old boots and clearly made from over hung meat - high. We ate venison regularly thoughout our 10 day holiday and this was our only bad experience. On the plus side, when I raised this with the land lady she dealt with it perfectly and offered me an alternative with no fuss and an appology!

The evening's musical entertainment (a singer song writer with an acoustic guitar) was fine, not to our taste but hey, we weren't there for that. We had an early night instead.

Breakfast was grand, delicious porridge and a fine selection of local fare. Husband had the local smoked salmon and scrambled egg, I went for the pancakes with blueberries and maple syrup (a bit more syrup needed perhaps?) and the esspresso was some of the best we had on our trip.

Don't expect the Ritz, just enjoy the highland hospitality and a hearty breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jart_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

My friend and i had gone to stay for the weekend and booked in to the Argyll Hotel. OK the rooms are not high standard high tech, namby pamby bedrooms but the match the Scottish highland scenery and old old charm.
There was lots on within the hotel, quizz nights, singers, poker nights and everyone was friendly, staff, holidaymakers and locals. The food was good pub grub....yummy!
We had a fantastic time, Nige the owner was great company and loves a sing-a-long (esp Abba songs). and even a rendition of Goodnight ,farewell ..... know the song from the sound of music, well her took part in that as we all retired for the evening.
Fantasttic time, fun people and a fabulous weekend

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaxmax62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

We stayed one night at the Argyll and were very pleased with the accommodation, staff and the food.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjanderson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

We stayed the weekend and were made most welcome . nigel (cossie) is the man !! the girls sing like angels and the locals are fantastic ( gerry) . the menu is extensive and good value as well as quality .Would highly recomend anyone to stay especially if the enjoy music and laughter . Colin baxter

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

lovel y room with stunning view of loch broom.Extremely friendly hotel. with good food and entertainment.Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merseaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We felt as though we had arrived in the middle of an all day drinking session at the hotel. The bar was very busy - full of locals who had obviously been there for a while. We had planned to eat at the hotel but decided it wasn't the best environment for family dining. The room was excellent, spacious with a lovely view of the harbour. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boondoggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
658 reviews
17.7 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
405 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
24.1 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 18 Argyle Street, Ullapool IV26 2UB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range: $86 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly independent hotel with impressive views over Loch Broom, lounge bar and quality restaurant, live music and entertainment, fresh locally sourced Scottish menu, seafood and steaks, range of vegetarian options, good beer, real ales, large free car park. 'Wester Ross Pub of the Year 2011' as voted by CAMRA. In Good Beer Guide 2011. Well behaved pets welcome. Free Wi-Fi. Husband and wife Nigel & Franner and the team look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing