We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (284)
Filter reviews
284 results
Traveler rating
43
103
75
35
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
103
75
35
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslive musicquiz nighttop floorfolk nightloch broomfriendly hotelfront facingreal fireshort breakcullen skinken routeferry terminalone night staypubharbourmusiciansscotland
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 284 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2009

We stayed the weekend and were made most welcome . nigel (cossie) is the man !! the girls sing like angels and the locals are fantastic ( gerry) . the menu is extensive and good value as well as quality .Would highly recomend anyone to stay especially if the enjoy music and laughter . Colin baxter

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

lovel y room with stunning view of loch broom.Extremely friendly hotel. with good food and entertainment.Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merseaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We felt as though we had arrived in the middle of an all day drinking session at the hotel. The bar was very busy - full of locals who had obviously been there for a while. We had planned to eat at the hotel but decided it wasn't the best environment for family dining. The room was excellent, spacious with a lovely view of the harbour. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boondoggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Argyll in May 2009 for one night during a two month trip to the UK and Europe. I had read a number of reviews for this hotel, the majority of which were very positive. Perhaps I was expecting too much for my 75 pounds!! As some reviews noted the rooms are very small/compact and the fittings are 'art deco'. This was not a problem and the hotel promotes this as a 'selling feature', but having paper thin walls was an issue. I found it very off putting listening to other people's conversations, and having to contend with the 'melodous' sounds of snoring all night from the adjoining room did cause me to have a disturbed night's sleep (even with ear plugs!). The staff were friendly and helpful. If you are wanting a 'pub' atmosphere, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muchtravellingbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2009

The owners have clearly tried to rejuvenate the bedrooms recently but they (the bedrooms!) need completely refurbishing and are shabby and drab. The breakfast, however, was very good and the bar was cheerful and popular.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews