We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More a pub with rooms than a hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Moray, Scotland
Level Contributor
251 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“More a pub with rooms than a hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

We felt as though we had arrived in the middle of an all day drinking session at the hotel. The bar was very busy - full of locals who had obviously been there for a while. We had planned to eat at the hotel but decided it wasn't the best environment for family dining. The room was excellent, spacious with a lovely view of the harbour. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boondoggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    88
    64
    27
    18
See reviews for
31
111
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Argyll in May 2009 for one night during a two month trip to the UK and Europe. I had read a number of reviews for this hotel, the majority of which were very positive. Perhaps I was expecting too much for my 75 pounds!! As some reviews noted the rooms are very small/compact and the fittings are 'art deco'. This was not a problem and the hotel promotes this as a 'selling feature', but having paper thin walls was an issue. I found it very off putting listening to other people's conversations, and having to contend with the 'melodous' sounds of snoring all night from the adjoining room did cause me to have a disturbed night's sleep (even with ear plugs!). The staff were friendly and helpful. If you are wanting a 'pub' atmosphere, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muchtravellingbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mjcon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

The owners have clearly tried to rejuvenate the bedrooms recently but they (the bedrooms!) need completely refurbishing and are shabby and drab. The breakfast, however, was very good and the bar was cheerful and popular.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ullapool hotels

Wirral
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2009

Our room was fairly basic but quite acceptable with a view of the harbour.
We had an evening meal lin the lounge/bar of the hotel and were surprised to hear the manager say to us in a rather terse manner that he wanted our table for 9pm tapping on the table as he did so. The table was in fact required not for diners but as a gaming table for a featured poker evening. It would have been quite possible for the manager to explain his requirements in a more considered manner.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calvinWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2009

I am puzzled by the postive reviews of this hotel - we were very disappointed overall. The location is great and we had a fantastic views of the harbour. Plentiful supply of biscuits in the room was welcomed. However, the rooms are very dated and ours was not well maintained - very dusty and the bed was not properly made on arrival, or the following morning (the covers were just flung back over.) When the hotel got busier on our second day the hot water appeared insufficient and I had to wait several hours for a bath - frustrating when you have been out all day. The breakfast was also not great - hard to help yourself to cereal, fruit and yoghurt as on the menu when of these only a very limited selection of cereal was available.
We had a good night in the bar on our first night, with reasonable pub food. However, the our overall feeling was that this was a poorly maintained hotel that did not offer value for money and we would neither return nor recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AKREdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

Again, I had a lovely time in Ullapool, staying at The Argyll, as usual. There was live music on two of the nights during my stay; the first was an acoustic folk evening where everyone brought along their own instruments - guitars, violins, percussion, mandolins etc, and sung if they wished! The second was a local folk/country band- all acoustic and in keeping with the area. On the third night there was a quiz night- the prize being several bottles of wine! My room was lovely with amazing views, that looked even more stunning than they did at Christmas. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank badey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

Let's just say we KNOW we chose well with the Argyll Hotel in Ullapool...wow. The location, the place itself, and most importantly, the host and hostess and their staff-- all made for an ideal combination to visit this almost mystical port village on the very edge, literally, of the Highlands. I know some people are reluctant to give a place 5 out of 5, but in this case, it was worth it....

Ullapool itself makes a seriously lasting impression: a well-kept, yet unfussy & quaint in a very "real" sort of way, village, it sits overlooking water and a variety of hils and mountains (which, in various weather and shades of light, really add to its unique feel as a perfect and relaxing getaway, as well as 'base camp' for venturing into the Highlands).

The hotel is just a street away, and slightly up from, the water and all the shops, so the views from its front windows are jaw-dropping. When we arrived, it was a completely sunny day, so we unpacked, grabbed a beer, and sat in the sun overlooking it all. The hotel above all projects 'clean and comfortable, without being ostentatious.' The rooms are of a good size, the facilities all well-kept, and the bar and dining area are excellent (with a nice array of local food-- I had the newly taken and scrumptious scallops!-- as well as ales, lagers, ciders, stout, and, of course, the top-shelf whisky!). There's a separate, cozy room for breakfast. Also, there's a nice fireplace at the end of the main restaurant/bar area, and the host and hostess ensure that there's always something going on in and around the hotel: live music, theme or quiz nights, you name it.

But a small hotel's soul comes mainly from its people, and hosts Nigel and Franner are wonderful and fun--always there if you need them, but never in your face. They are very accommodating, friendly, and accessible, and we had some nice chats with them about their place, Ullapool, and the surrounding gorgeous lands. You felt they knew you, the way they engaged with people. Their staff and the room care were excellent; the chef makes some superb breakfasts, too....always nice after a day of lots of easily accessible hill-walking followed by a night of lots of, well, stout-imbibing...

In short, for the amazing locale (Ullapool, near the heart of the Highlands, with a lovely hotel smack in the heart of it) and for the facilities and people, I'd surely recommend the Argyll Hotel-- and I *will* be returning, perhaps for another birthday celebration...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WScott-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
17.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
1.3 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#23 of 51 in Ullapool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 18 Argyle Street, Ullapool IV26 2UB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly independent hotel with impressive views over Loch Broom, lounge bar and quality restaurant, live music and entertainment, fresh locally sourced Scottish menu, seafood and steaks, range of vegetarian options, good beer, real ales, large free car park. 'Wester Ross Pub of the Year 2011' as voted by CAMRA. In Good Beer Guide 2011. Well behaved pets welcome. Free Wi-Fi. Husband and wife Nigel & Franner and the team look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing