We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opportunities for improvement”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Arrived at the hotel and checked on. No breakfast included in the price and although breakfast was on offer the member of staff could not provide details of the cost.

Great location and our room had great views across the loch. Although the room was comfortable the cleanliness could do with improving. Cobwebs on the wall/ceiling were black with dust and had obviously been there for some time. The bathroom decor was awful toilet seat was broken and the grouting between the tiles was black and full of grime.

Didn't eat at the hotel but the pub/lounge area was very nice and comfortable for a few drinks. We missed the music and quiz night and arrived on poker night. Thought poker night was a bit of a strange activity for a hotel. No very inclusive to all staying on that particular night.

We travelled Scotland for the week and this was the only estabilshment not to offer breakfast and part of the cost (£45 PPPN) made this one of the most expensive hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Argyll Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 255 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were blessed with fabulous weather (June 2013) making the views from the room even more special. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Argyll hotel maybe lacks the trappings of modernity but more than makes up with homely atmosphere. Food was outstanding and the bar has a well stocked whisky collection and great ambiance.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ejpsmith_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

When we arrived we had to wait almost 30 minutes until someone of stuff showed up on reception and checked us in, so first experience was not good. The rest of the stay was ok, rooms were clean providing enought comfort and good complimentary snack and drink. Showers were right across the hall - empty most of the time and clean and spacious. Hotel is in city center with view on lake.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liquidus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We visited the hotel for three nights in May. Staff were all friendly and efficient and Nigel, the proprietor, was very accommodating regarding times for breakfast. We ate in the restaurant each night and found the food good value and comparable to the other places we’ve eaten at in Ullapool in previous years.

The bar was very popular in the evenings, with a regular series of well-attended events – in the three days of our stay we saw a quiz night, a curry night and an evening of traditional music (and also discovered an interesting range of single malts behind the bar, complete with tempting tasting notes…)

While the rooms didn’t quite live up to the picture on the web the views from the second floor were very impressive and the bed was extremely comfortable, so as far as I’m concerned I had all I needed.

All in all a very pleasant stay and a hotel I’d be happy to return to.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms give better views of the harbour.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arderyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here last week.Ullapool in the snow and rain can be a bit depressing!!but Nigel the owner has a very dry sense of humour. Did find having a bathroom across the hall a bit disconcerting -having to remeber the key can become trying.Don't be put off by the old fashioned interior,Unpack your bags, go down to the bar for a great pint of local beer then treat yourself to a marvellous meal either in the bar or restaurant,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Could not fault the staff or proprietors, but after changing rooms because of bathroom issues were given a nice room with superb views only to find poor standard of cleaning again in the bathroom. Nigel was most apologetic but really needs to get on top of cleaning issues. Did offer full refund. Bar and restaurant looked really nice and very homely . Very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NancyM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This hotel would be getting a really good review, the rooms are actually quite nice, the bathrooms could mayby do with a wee upgrade and are a bit dated, and the staff are really helpful, showing you to your room etc.

There is a cracking wee pub in it, which does food and good beers, plus there seems to be a local band or muscian playing most nights, the food in the resteraunt was lovely, with good daily specials, again breakfast was lovely, cooked to order.

Now the problem, Walls!!!!! or lack of them! I have actually convinced myself that there actually wasn't a wall and it was just a sheet of wallpaper, you could hear everything, I could actually hear the person unzipping his bag! The quitest of conversation was like they were sitting next to me, god help any couple going away for a romantic weekend. I really do hope it was just my room and the rest are ok as the hotel is good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dougstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
631 reviews
17.7 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
391 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#1 of 4 in Garve
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 18 Argyle Street, Ullapool IV26 2UB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range: $92 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly independent hotel with impressive views over Loch Broom, lounge bar and quality restaurant, live music and entertainment, fresh locally sourced Scottish menu, seafood and steaks, range of vegetarian options, good beer, real ales, large free car park. 'Wester Ross Pub of the Year 2011' as voted by CAMRA. In Good Beer Guide 2011. Well behaved pets welcome. Free Wi-Fi. Husband and wife Nigel & Franner and the team look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing