We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbour Lights Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

not a bad little hotel with average rooms and cost, standard of room was average but was showing sign of ware the bathroom fan clattered away nicely. Close to the town which is very nice to walk around. breakfast was good with good view over the harbour

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRAHAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    52
    30
    15
    5
See reviews for
24
65
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel is a family run business and all guests are greeted with a genuine smile and made to feel comfortable as the proprieters care and that really makes a big difference. A walk in the garden gives a great view of the harbour. Very friendly and exceptionally helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Ice bucket was provided to chill white wine and nibbles were prepared for my birthday celebration. easy to walk into town and lots of carparking. large lounge areas are very comfortable. I will return

Room Tip: book a room facing the Loch. No licence to sell alcohol, so bring your own drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swampmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Harbour lights, although visually dated, has been a great place to stay on two of our three visits to Ullapool this year. The rooms are clean and comfortable - some have fine views across the Loch. Obviousy it a question to ask when booking the prices reflect the rooms. The welcome is friendly and helpful and the cost is very reasonable when compared with other places in Ullapool. Although more on the edge of the town, it is still an easy walk into Ullapool. Breakfast excellent, want more toast , coffee etc just ask. Next time we visit no doubt we'll stay here again .

Room Tip: There are different standards of rooms you just have to ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on a recent trip to Scotland.

We found the guest house to be slightly old fashioned and were left slightly disappointed with the outcome. My friends room bathroom sink was cracked and although she was offered an alternative room decided to stay. The disappointment happened when she asked if she could get a discount (not pay the single supplement) and was told no!

This sadly left a bad taste.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaxjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Fabulous location with stunning views ..... very friendly owner who gives a great service to guests. Residents Lounge very comfortable. Location to nearby restaurants/pubs within easy walking distance. Great breakfast - good value for money. En suite is quite small within the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We needed a place to stay in Ullapool and as the title says - it was 'ok'. The rooms could do with a complete 'makeover' as they were quite dated. The view over the loch was superb though! It's a shame that there wasn't a bar and restaurant as after a long drive we had to go out to find somewhere to eat. The staff were friendly and helpful. I don't think we would stay here again though

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corrianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a lovely homely hotel. Ishbel and Sandra's attention to detail make the stay very enjoyable. The loch views are breathtaking and the rooms warm and comfy. It's nice to have the option to take your own drinks into the lounge where glasses and ice sit on the table for you to help yourself. A pleasant change from an overpriced, noisy bar. The lounge is huge and so relaxing to read, knit or just enjoy the scenery. I can't wait to visit in the winter when the lovely fire is blazing. The breakfast is hearty and always cooked freshly to order with a great range of cereal and juices too. Looking forward to our next visit already.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs loch view room -the scenery is breathtaking. For eating out try the Seaforth In...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiegray2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.4 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
244 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
173 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#1 of 4 in Garve
159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 6 in Ullapool
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Lights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Lights Hotel

Property: Harbour Lights Hotel
Address: Garve Road, Ullapool IV26 2SX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Lights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Hotel Harbour Lights
Harbour Lights Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing