We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and comfortable”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbour Lights Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Nortumberland England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights as a base originally to go on a trip to Lewis.Made to feel very welcome.The rooms reflected the price.comfortable bed and a lovely view from the room,although noisy when the washing machine started up in the morning. Breakfast exellent and everyone very friendly a shame they do not serve evening meals

Room Tip: Room 10 next to washing machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    50
    29
    15
    5
See reviews for
24
60
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at Harbour Lights for two nights, Ishbel very kindly took us in at gone ten oclock at night, even rearranginging rooms to make sure we had a spectacular view of the loch, and providing us with sandwiches.
The hotel was wonderfully welcoming and so relaxed, it suited us completely. They were also happy to have our two dogs, all this at a moments notice late at night.
We had everything we could possibly have wanted, it was warm, comfortable and inviting. We loved it and will be making a return visit next month.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night for the beginning of our mini moon (short break before our honey moon). The room was basic but comfortable. We were welcomed with a bottle of champagne too. It was lovely. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squeezah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

We visited the Harbour Lights hotel in June with our friends and found it extremely delightful place to stay. Sisters Ishbel & Sandra Florence who ran the hotel were more than helpful especially as we were about to get married at Ullapool registrar office while on our holiday there. They even surprised us with a bottle of champagne and strawberries when we arrived back to our room the evening before our wedding which was so kind and thoughtful. The hotel is just in the most perfect place and the views are fantastic, the rooms are a little bit basic but extremely clean and just the ideal base for so many different places & attractions plus great value for money. In the evening it was only a quick walk into town for a choice of various pubs and restaurants providing great food an a welcoming atmosphere. Each morning we had a delicious breakfast, plenty of choice which set us up for our daily excursions, we would not hesitate to come back next year to celebrate our 1st anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

The Harbour lights is a bit dated, but the rooms are clean and comfortable - some have fine views across Loch Broom. The welcome is friendly and helpful and the cost is very reasonable when compared with other places in Ullapool. Although more on the edge of thew town, it is still withing easy walking distance of all the facilities in Ullapool. Breakfast in the hotel is more than sufficient to keep you going for a day's walking.

Room Tip: Go for a "Loch View".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We've been coming here for the last 8 years and wouldn't think about staying anywhere else in Ullapool. The rooms are basic but you are only paying half the rate of other places and they are always spotless and the beds comfy. The hotel has no bar but allows guests to bring their own which is great and makes the stay even cheaper and they will leave glasses and ice out for you. The lounge is a large split level room with a big fireplace in the middle and stunning views across Loch Broom to the hills beyond. Patio doors open out onto the large lawn and there is a short path down to the shore. The owners and staff are always very welcoming and the breakfast is excellent.

If you want something more from a holiday than just staying in your room to watch TV, this place is great value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the loch have stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spearchucker_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Myself and my friends (usually about nine of us) have returned every year for the past eight years to stay at the Harbour Lights .most of us live and work in Inverness .From the first time we stayed at the premises run by Ishbel and Sandra we have never felt the need to look elswhere .The position of the hotel has a lovely over look of the bay and harbour and is a short walk to the Ullapool main street with restraunts /pubs and harbour front .The rooms we have stayed in are clean and tidy with comfortable beds .The lounge is very spacious and comfortable with the great view again as has the dining room where the excellent full scottish breakfast is served .The service is very quick and the food piping hot .All staff very friendly and polite This is Highland hospitaly at its best as far as we are concerned hence our annual return . John R

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#23 of 51 in Ullapool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Lights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Lights Hotel

Property: Harbour Lights Hotel
Address: Garve Road, Ullapool IV26 2SX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Lights Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Hotel Harbour Lights
Harbour Lights Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing