We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FAB VIEW, LOVELY ROOM, GREAT FOOD, LIVELY BAR, VERY WELCOMING !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Arch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Arch Inn
Ranked #10 of 51 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
LINLITHGOW
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“FAB VIEW, LOVELY ROOM, GREAT FOOD, LIVELY BAR, VERY WELCOMING !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Having read the latest review I have to say that I think it is very harsh and a little personal.Each to their own, and we are all entiltled to our own opinion and mine is as follows. Stayed for 2 nights, had requested a room with a view and Room 3 on the first floor did not dissapoint. Clean and spacious with a flat screen TV on the wall at the foot of the bed, great for viewing. Really powerful shower with loads of hot water. Ate in the hotel and found the food to be reasonably priced, well presented, and very tasty. Can recommend the Cullen Skink, and the Fish and Chips.
Room service is available if you wish to eat in your room a real plus. The bar has a lively atmosphere and the locals will make you more than welcome and are willing to share a story or two over a dram. I had no problem getting served as one reviewer commented on and found the owner to be very accommodating. Yes there are a few characters who frequent the Arch Inn but to me they add to the overall experience of visiting and staying in a Highland Hotel. Let us not forget that the local cliental are the bread and butter for these small Highland Hotels when the tourists depart for the season and the winter sets in. There are plenty of other quieter places in Ullapool to spend the evening if the bar is not to your liking. Personally I enjoy a bit of crack and banter so sadly missing missing in bars these days as you have to watch your P's and Q's a bit too much these day's. It was nice to see and hear people letting their hair down without being chastised all the time.The staff were very attentive and happy in their work. I will admit that it did get a bit noisy come closing time but it didnt last for too long as everyone made their way home. Breakfast was very good, with quality incredients, well cooked and presented. I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel if you plan to overnight in Ullapool. Like I said at the start each to their own !.

Room Tip: Room 3, spacious, great view of Loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VMATHESONMACIVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    89
    35
    10
    11
See reviews for
24
144
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seasider in Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed here, despite the recent poor reviews. I disagree with them. I like this place. My wife & I stayed here as part of a motorcycle tour in August 2012. It is situated right on the loch front. It has a lively bar & the food is great value for money. We had a great time again here & I would have no hesitation in booking here again next time we are this far north!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the front rooms overlooking the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangerinebiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel rooms were comfortable, pleasant and modern. The bar was fun and the breakfast was good. Service was efficient and helpful. I would stay there again. We were on the first floor, so passersby could look in our window, but the hotel is at the far end of town so it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candice94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We visited with friends on a Wednesday night and the restaurant was very busy. The meal we had was excellent, lots of choice and large portions. The service was friendly and we were made to feel very welcome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisecd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This pub/hotel is in a fantastic position, right on Loch Broome and we had a nice, quiet room on the 2nd floor. Just as well as the pub was very busy and noisy on Saturday night and it took an hour for us to be served with a meal. However, we were warned when we went into the restaurant though I felt we could have been offered a table reservation when we checked in earlier. Staff could have been more attentive, some looked bored! Food was very good - when it finally arrived. Room had been refurbished but bathroom was a bit jaded!

Room Tip: 2nd floor - far away from the lively bar area! Ask for loch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katherine153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
697 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

On a trip through the Scottish Highlands, we stayed at the Arch Inn for two days. One day we took the ferry to the Isle of Lewis.
We have nothing but praise for the hotel and its staff. First, the room, though small, looked out on the loch which is just across the street (we requested such a room) was quiet and had everything we needed.
Second, the food was some of the most varied and delicious we had on the entire trip. The breakfasts were excellent. Black pudding was not a favorite of ours, until we tried the Stornoway black pudding which it serves. It was like warm foie gras, that delicious.
Third, the hotel has a lively bar, which allows you to take beers, wine and food outside to the hotel's picnic tables which sit loch-side. Nothing like relaxing after a day of touring with a glass
in one's hand and breathing in the ambience of the loch under a setting sun or under a night sky. Lastly, the staff was warm, friendly and helpful. An example was the young man who served us breakfast on our last day. In conversation we had mentioned we were continuing along the coast to Thurso/John O'Groats. As we were packing the car outside to depart and after we had settled the bill, he came rushing out to tell us about a Highland Games being held that day in a town along our route. (We didn't make those Games but appreciated the thought.) An added plus is that parking is right outside the hotel and the hotel is all of a block and a half from the ferry to Stornoway and the Isle of Lewis.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the loch are probably the quietest, even though they front the street. After 6 p.m., th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RodMcLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

On arrival at the pub we were welcomed by a very pleasant barmaid. We decided to eat outside and she explained the ritual. There were two menus available, a lunch one and a sandwich one. The lunch menuwas varied with plenty of choice and slightly more adventrous than the usual pub grub. WE enjoyed our mussels and Ullapool bakery bread. We had a side dish of chips which although frozen were nicely cooked and non greasy. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FeeNairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
18.6 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Creagan Guest House Ullapool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arch Inn

Property: The Arch Inn
Address: 10-11 West Shore Street, Ullapool IV26 2UR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Arch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10 room Inn, with bar and private dining room. Also serving meals 7 days a week in lounge bar - lunches and dinner. Rooms have been recently refurbished, most with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Arch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arch Hotel Ullapool
The Arch Inn Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing