We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, modern hotel in Ullapool”
Review of The Arch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Arch Inn
Ranked #10 of 45 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice, modern hotel in Ullapool”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel rooms were comfortable, pleasant and modern. The bar was fun and the breakfast was good. Service was efficient and helpful. I would stay there again. We were on the first floor, so passersby could look in our window, but the hotel is at the far end of town so it wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candice94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    94
    37
    10
    12
See reviews for
27
154
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We visited with friends on a Wednesday night and the restaurant was very busy. The meal we had was excellent, lots of choice and large portions. The service was friendly and we were made to feel very welcome!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisecd_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This pub/hotel is in a fantastic position, right on Loch Broome and we had a nice, quiet room on the 2nd floor. Just as well as the pub was very busy and noisy on Saturday night and it took an hour for us to be served with a meal. However, we were warned when we went into the restaurant though I felt we could have been offered a table reservation when we checked in earlier. Staff could have been more attentive, some looked bored! Food was very good - when it finally arrived. Room had been refurbished but bathroom was a bit jaded!

Room Tip: 2nd floor - far away from the lively bar area! Ask for loch view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katherine153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
697 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

On a trip through the Scottish Highlands, we stayed at the Arch Inn for two days. One day we took the ferry to the Isle of Lewis.
We have nothing but praise for the hotel and its staff. First, the room, though small, looked out on the loch which is just across the street (we requested such a room) was quiet and had everything we needed.
Second, the food was some of the most varied and delicious we had on the entire trip. The breakfasts were excellent. Black pudding was not a favorite of ours, until we tried the Stornoway black pudding which it serves. It was like warm foie gras, that delicious.
Third, the hotel has a lively bar, which allows you to take beers, wine and food outside to the hotel's picnic tables which sit loch-side. Nothing like relaxing after a day of touring with a glass
in one's hand and breathing in the ambience of the loch under a setting sun or under a night sky. Lastly, the staff was warm, friendly and helpful. An example was the young man who served us breakfast on our last day. In conversation we had mentioned we were continuing along the coast to Thurso/John O'Groats. As we were packing the car outside to depart and after we had settled the bill, he came rushing out to tell us about a Highland Games being held that day in a town along our route. (We didn't make those Games but appreciated the thought.) An added plus is that parking is right outside the hotel and the hotel is all of a block and a half from the ferry to Stornoway and the Isle of Lewis.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the loch are probably the quietest, even though they front the street. After 6 p.m., th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodMcLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

On arrival at the pub we were welcomed by a very pleasant barmaid. We decided to eat outside and she explained the ritual. There were two menus available, a lunch one and a sandwich one. The lunch menuwas varied with plenty of choice and slightly more adventrous than the usual pub grub. WE enjoyed our mussels and Ullapool bakery bread. We had a side dish of chips which although frozen were nicely cooked and non greasy. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeeNairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We did not stay here but have tried to get a drink here on three occasions. Totally ignored while staff served locals. The pub was dirty and had tables which had not been cleared also it was so obvious we were not welcome. So why run an establishment in a tourist hot spot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ches65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Thus place is a drinking den for locals who treat visitors like trespassers and the Manager, who brown noses his local chums and serves tourists after he has tended to his chums has an attitude as big as the belly. No table booking to eat so it's chance only that dictates this. I asked if I could eat at 8.30 and the staff said no problem as its quiter then but hey go when I went to eat they said a large party had booked and nothing was available. Appalling and the Nanager simply tried to be smart in front of his mates when I complained. Never go there. It's s scruffy, unfriendly and service is not on their menu. Go to the Ferry Inn along the road they treat you like a King in a trendy clean environment with great food.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BorisWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
17.9 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#2 of 4 in Garve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arch Inn

Property: The Arch Inn
Address: 10-11 West Shore Street, Ullapool IV26 2UR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Arch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10 room Inn, with bar and private dining room. Also serving meals 7 days a week in lounge bar - lunches and dinner. Rooms have been recently refurbished, most with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Arch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arch Hotel Ullapool
The Arch Inn Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing