We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First cut is the deepest”

Corrieshalloch Gorge
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.75*
and up
National Trust for Scotland Discover Ticket: Scotland Sightseeing Pass
More Info
$614.31*
and up
5-Day Highland Explorer and Isle of Skye Small Group Tour from Edinburgh
More Info
$666.70*
and up
5-Day Orkney Islands Tour from Edinburgh Including the Scottish Highlands
Ranked #1 of 23 things to do in Ullapool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 200-foot Gorge.
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First cut is the deepest”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a stunning location, and it is accessible straight from the road. When you park up you have a choice of two gates, the route is circular so it doesn't matter which way you choose. Either way the walk is stunning with views over Loch Broom as well as the gorge and falls. We were also treated to very low fly overs from a Tornado and Hercules. Enjoy the drive to the location as well as the destination. One word of caution is that you need a good head for heights for both the bridge and viewing platform, also the paths are quite narrow with steep drops to the side, but all in all this is very much worth the effort.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    133
    22
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joplin, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Must see! Just a few yards from the road so no major walking to see. Good parking lot and a suggested donation . We arrived just when the tour bus left and had it to ourselves! There is a nice bridge and a viewing platform so felt very safe despite the heights.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Lovely photo opportunity. Stunning views and so peaceful. Well worth stopping for a few minutes to take it all in.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank AussiefanScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tranent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Gorge”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Once you arrive you have a choice on which path you want to take (there is a map to help with your choice); the short path or the long path which both lead to a rope bridge streching across the gorge. My family and I chose the long path which I consider is the best of the two if you like a long but not too long walk which circles right across the gorge with many viewpoints to enjoy the stunning scenery. Their is beautiful wildlife (mainly insects) roaming about, at that we spotted a huge dragonfly, the biggest I had ever seen about the size of my middle finger if not longer, it was a beautiful sight. At the end of the end of the walk as promised there was the rope bridge that doesn't sound that stable but in fact it is very stable, even my son who is feared of hieghts didn't have any problems crossing the bridge, which from you can see the beautiful gorge and the waterfall running through it. After the bridge you can go on a viewing platform which also gives you a great view of the gorge. At the entrance you can purchase a guide for £1 if you want more information about the gorge that I have purchased and I would recomend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jimderbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Spectacular Gorge”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This Gorge is just off the main road so not too far to walk with good safe paths and bridge over Gorge. View points have been very well done giving excellent position for taking Photographs.
Very deep when you look down but well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corrieshalloch Gorge also viewed

Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
 
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Corrieshalloch Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing