We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bespoke Can't Mean what I Think It Does”
Review of Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had real trouble finding somewhere in Ullapool for a night, so were glad to get a twin room in the Caledonian. It's a very tired hotel, with friendly staff. I couldn't get enough water in the shower to rinse the shampoo out of my hair, and there wasn't enough room for us both to stand up at the same time in the room. Everything was jaded.

Breakfast was interesting - haggis very acceptable, but it was all pre-cooked, and everything looked a bit dried up. It was very busy, so I hope the owners can spend some revenue on bringing everything up to standard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for your review, the hotel has spent over 200k in the last three years replacing beds, TVs, showers, shower screens, putting in telephones and we know we still have some way to go. This year we are in the process of painting bathrooms and bedrooms however this does take time. I will speak with our chef to ensure that breakfast is presented better

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (649)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 649 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here for one night in February. The reception and bar were very nice and the staff were all friendly. We booked on a DBB basis but reception forgot about the dinner. All cleared up very quickly though. However the dinner left a lot to be desired, we both ordered fish and chips from a very limited bar style menu, we took one bite of the fish and left it, the chips weren't any better. We went round the corner to the Fish & Chip shop and bought food there. On that basis we didn't expect a lot from breakfast, but it turned out to be fine.

Out of the public areas the hotel is very dated and in need of extensive refurbishment. However the room and bathroom were very clean and comfortable and it's central location was very good. However we booked it on a deal and paid £50 for the night, so pretty good value for money.

Would possibly stay here again but without the dinner option.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tesco-bag-tourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you for your comments, the menu we now have in place has been extended and we apologise for any inconvenience caused

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed in the hotel on 18th and 23rd may and it was the worst 2 nights stay as im a coach driver the hotel needs a full refurbishment and the restaurant is a total mess and the rooms were small room 43 and 40 is just a box room small shower and I wont ever stay in it again I feel sorry for my boss who is paying for it and the meal was cold last night and to many dogs in hotel and to many foreign staff that don't understand Scottish people and no wifi in rooms only in reception

Room Tip: wouldn't advise anyone to stay in it room walls to thin u can hear evrything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you taking the time to post your review; we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, as you are a coach driver you above most others would know that if you raised your issues on the night (s) that you stayed we could have done some thing about especially your cold meal.
We have free wifi available in the lounge and bar areas for all our guests to use.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night. The staff in reception,bar and restaurant very good and friendly. The room was in need of a makeover, it had a sash window which had to be propped open as the cord was broken. Also the window had frosted glass so I could not see out of it.The breakfast was good and the hotel has a good sized car park.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you for your comments put here on trip advisor, the room has got frosted glass due to a very poor outlook and our guests complained about so we changed to a frosted window and you are the first person to say anything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Good location as only a short walking distance from the Stornoway ferry. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially the Hungarian girl on reception. Room comfortable and clean but decoration a bit tired looking, but plenty of room for our dog and her cage. No lift. Plenty of parking.
Excellent buffet breakfast. Enjoyed the entertainment on the Friday evening.
Surprised to be charged £5 for our dog especially as they didn't even provide a bowl for her water let alone a dog biscuit or sausage!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front over look the Loch, would imagine all rooms are quiet as Ullapool not particularl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you for posting your kind comments on trip advisor about the hotel and employees, to make it clear the extra £5.00 is so the employees can spend extra time on the room due to dogs casting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Small single room was very standard though coffee and biscuit. No lifts to 2nd floor room so if staits are difficult ask for a ground floor room. Buffet breakfast was good and plentiful. Staff pleasant.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you need a lift as there isn't one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Very dated hotel, a good location with a short walk to the main town, rooms were adequate cannot comment on the food as we had bed only, evening meal was take across the road at a very nice bar/restaurant and breakfast was not taken. Staff were friendly and helpful and the cost was reasonable but still disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back or the side are the least noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pegaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you taking the time to post your review; we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
257 reviews
17.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
397 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Creagan Guest House Ullapool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: Quay Street, Ullapool IV26 2UG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range: $51 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caledonian Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caledonian Hotel have well presented, comfortable accommodation comprising of 17 double rooms, 44 twin rooms, 19 single rooms and 3 triple rooms which are all en-suite. We are located in the center of Ullapool and a short 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal to Stornoway. We offer complementary WIFI in the lounge and bar areas. The Caledonian is Ideally situated for walkers whether a gentle afternoon stroll by Loch Broom or a little more challenging on some of the best mountains in the UK. Built in the early 1900s, the Caledonian Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in the area. It still boasts a quiet, friendly and welcoming atmosphere and pleasant gardens. The Hotel overlooks Ullapool's working harbour and the colorful fishing boats on Loch Broom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing