We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Easter Weekend”
Review of Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Easter Weekend”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a package with Just Go Holidays and really enjoyed the whole weekend. The hotel is tired in parts and could do with a lick of paint in places, however our bedroom was clean and comfortable, we had a TV, tea and coffee making facilities and fresh white towels. The food in the restaurant was a set menu with choice of two starters, three main courses(Meat, Fish or Vegetarian choice) and 2 deserts followed by tea or coffee. The food was very good and we enjoyed the meals very much. The staff in the restaurant were very nice, polite and helpful. The hotel is not 4 or 5 star so please do not expect the standard of the 4/5 star hotel it is a budget hotel which I would be happy to go to again. I thought the price we paid for our long weekend break was very good value for the money. I believe if you were an independent traveller there was a different menu choice. Ullapool is a lovely place well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetpea8me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    142
    182
    111
    101
See reviews for
67
286
49
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stayed here last week with a coach tour. Ok it's not a five star but we weren't expecting that. Room was clean, bathroom was clean, bed was comfy and plenty of hot water. What else do you need especially when you are out all day. Shower wasn't the best in the world but you can put up with that for four nights surely. Food was hot, good menu and plenty of it. Staff were really helpful and seemed to enjoy their job, unlike some hotel staff I have experienced. Even with a 3 hour power cut they dealt with it professionally. What is there to complain about. Would I stay again...definitely. Gave four stars on account of the shower and the angle of the wall, had to watch you don't bump your head on it to get under the shower as the shower head is not moveable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Whilst the hotel is in need of some tlc, it was clean and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was immaculate and comfortable. Plenty of choice at breakfast which was served till after nine. For a two star hotel it was great and I would go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeachyRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is old and desperately in need of a refurb to bring its facilities up to modern standards of budget hotels. If took the minutes to get the shower up to barely luke warm. Staff were friendly though.

Room Tip: Be careful about a sea view room on the first floor. You will be above the bar and it gets pretty no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kestua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we have had our maitenance team look into the issue with hot water and this has been recifiyed once again thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

First I would like to say I am rating this hotel for what it is - not for what it's not!! It's not a 5 star hotel and it's not trying to be a 5 star hotel.

Yes the whole hotel could do with a refurb but that is the only negative in my opinion. The ladies at reception were nice and friendly and sorted out a slight hic-up on our arrival promptly. All staff at the hotel were very nice and friendly, great job done by the restaurant manager keeping everyone going and making sure we were happy with everything. The evening meal choices were quite limited but very nice tasting. The breakfast was basic but hot and plentiful, enough to give 4 biker guys a full belly before setting off!!!

The twin bedroom was small but clean, tidy and warm (just what we needed after a cold day on the bikes). The shower wasn't powerful but hot water was plentiful (ditto above) and complimentary liquid soap in the shower / bath and at the sink. Standard kettle, tea and coffee was also welcome.Towels were nice, white and soft same for the bed sheets.

There was a nice big, quiet lounge without a TV (good point) but a nice fire was going; a good place to get all our gear on before going out to the rain and wind!!

Good place for a one night stop (would easily use it as a base for a few more days) and will stay again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordieloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Room was a bit small and the bathroom needs updating. Breakfast finished at 9am, but about 830 there was not much left and we had to ask for hot food to be replenished. There was very limited options and hardly any cereal choices. The room and hallway smelt damp, although bathroom was clean.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen2464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments - we apologise to you for the let down in the cleanliness in the rooms and we are working on rectifying this, we offer 5 choices of cereals plus fruits and we offer up to 7 items on our Breakfast buffet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ullapool hotels

Dingwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We arrived in ullapool last minute for a one night break, we paid £45 for a compact double room. No breakfast.
The staff were pleasant and good craic. However the hotel rooms were very compact, dingy, dirty and there was mould on the walls, the windows you couldn't see out of for dirt and again mould was evident, ceilings were cracked and patched. The bed linen and towels were clean so that was a bonus. We Would pop in here for a drink as the staff are what makes it.
I'm afraid it's a thumbs down for this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid unless you are popping in for a drink!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a9v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your comments - we apologise to you for the let down in the cleanliness in the rooms and we are working on rectifying this - thank you for your kind comments regarding the employees
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
245 reviews
17.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
363 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
22.8 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#1 of 4 in Garve
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Property: Caledonian Hotel
Address: Quay Street, Ullapool IV26 2UG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caledonian Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caledonian Hotel have well presented, comfortable accommodation comprising of 17 double rooms, 44 twin rooms, 19 single rooms and 3 triple rooms which are all en-suite. We are located in the center of Ullapool and a short 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal to Stornoway. We offer complementary WIFI in the lounge and bar areas. The Caledonian is Ideally situated for walkers whether a gentle afternoon stroll by Loch Broom or a little more challenging on some of the best mountains in the UK. Built in the early 1900s, the Caledonian Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in the area. It still boasts a quiet, friendly and welcoming atmosphere and pleasant gardens. The Hotel overlooks Ullapool's working harbour and the colorful fishing boats on Loch Broom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing