We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel pity about the weather”
Review of Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Arbroath
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel pity about the weather”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I had read a few reviews about this hotel and some were really bad but we always go with an open mind.We found this hotel very good indeed,the breakfasts were excellent loads to choose from and cooked breakfasts were superb,evening meal was always really nice, we had no complaints,the only thing I would say that the bathroom was a tad tired but it was clean as was the room.Staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Davina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments they are very welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    144
    192
    117
    114
See reviews for
72
305
50
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Travelled with friends to Ullapool on a Glenton tour had read the reviews about the hotel before we went and did not expect much, but our room was clean and warm and nicely decorated and had a view of the harbour out of one window and a view of the clock out of the other. The food was better than I thought it would be there was plenty to eat and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank val052_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

It was what you would expect for the price. The corridors smelt a bit of food but the rooms were adequate. The staff were friendly and it was in a great position, close to the sea and there was off road parking. There's not a lot of choice but this did the job. If we were going back we would still stay here. To be fair we were there late in the season, maybe in high season it would have had a better vibe.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ceedubya27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is appreciated good or bad. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We travelled with Just Go Coach Holidays so there was a total of 53 souls arriving on the Monday night. I had read many of the reviews before travelling but I tend not to pre judge the hotel/staff/food etc.
Yes the hotel has a tired look to it but it is a fairly old building but the staff were always very polite and the service at meals times was very slick and the food very good. A buffet breakfast consisting of fruit juices,fruit,cereals,porridge and a fried breakfast set everyone up for the day. Rooms were average but comfortable and the Scottish flavoured entertainment went down very well with the mainly English audience in the evenings. As for .....value for money ?????? I've never had better

Room Tip: First floor rooms are very warm as are the corridors....we had a room on the 3rd floor where it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a justgo holiday as the coach driver had read the reviews before going i found the hotel very nice staff, food and rooms were excellent location was great overlooking harbour. I look forward to going back again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor it is appreciated
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very clean, bit shabby, worth the money we paid, easy breaks.com offer, there were 3 bus trips in first night, we were served our dinner very quick, set menu, good amount of choice, staff plesent, room ceiling was combed so showering was awkward, request room not on top floor

Room Tip: Request room not on top floor as ceiling combed and shower is awkward
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 243shirleyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment they are very helpful
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The room we had was awful, (215), cramped, cold and shabby.Had to move a chair to reach the wardrobe and returrn it to get into bed ! Bathroom tiny, chipped bath and towels never changed in 4 nights and still left in he same place we had discarded them each morning. There were no shelves where my wife and I could place usual toiletries .Food below average and vegetables inedible. I doubt if staff ever looked in the bathroom the 4 days we were there. ( 16- 20th.Sept.) It was probably the worst Hotel we have ever experienced.

Room Tip: Avoid this Hotel if you want comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dennsteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments we apologise for our rooms and food not meeting your expectations, we have discussed the issues with our chef, housekeeping & maitenance departments and hopefuly we should get a lot of the issues ironed out
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ullapool hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
251 reviews
17.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
377 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
22.8 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Property: Caledonian Hotel
Address: Quay Street, Ullapool IV26 2UG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caledonian Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caledonian Hotel have well presented, comfortable accommodation comprising of 17 double rooms, 44 twin rooms, 19 single rooms and 3 triple rooms which are all en-suite. We are located in the center of Ullapool and a short 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal to Stornoway. We offer complementary WIFI in the lounge and bar areas. The Caledonian is Ideally situated for walkers whether a gentle afternoon stroll by Loch Broom or a little more challenging on some of the best mountains in the UK. Built in the early 1900s, the Caledonian Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in the area. It still boasts a quiet, friendly and welcoming atmosphere and pleasant gardens. The Hotel overlooks Ullapool's working harbour and the colorful fishing boats on Loch Broom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing