We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfasts are to die for,10 out of 10.”
Review of Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in mid August, Well situated Hotel,ideal for my needs (Climbing) Staff do acknowledge you,they are friendly and curteous also vey busy with the constant flow of coach tourists,but seem to cope admirably. i like the look of this Hotel it has character, preferable to a new -build.(personal opinion)
My single room was situated on the ground floor and looked onto a wall/car park, room was tidy and i slept easy.Bathroom has a problem with damp on the walls/ceiling, hot water takes an eternity to heat up,also had a problem with shower tap which eventually seized up on me denying me a shower on my last day.in saying that this establishment has more good points than bad,breakfasts are to die for 10 ot of 10, self service all that you need. I will return. JOHN .COVE BAY.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view,it does make difference to your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Billy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 654 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Well, stayed here on 6th Sept for one night. Booked this hotel because we were coming off late ferry from Stornaway! Wish we hadn't,reception looked ok and guests sitting room looked lovely and cosy with fire lit.After having waited 10mins at the desk before anyone came was given a key to room 19. Beds were clean and fresh,room was shabby, bathroom was shabby, bath was disgusting all rust marked and dirty looking (although it was cleanish), walls were paper thin could hear next doors conversation as if they were in our room. Breakfast was 7.30/9.00 we were there at 7.30 as we were leaving early you would have thought hot food would be fresh, Not. Eggs were rubber,bacon was tough, toast which was in a dish was cold and soggy. Had 4 night in various locations in the islands and glad to say they were far superior to Caledonian. Would not recommend .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nellie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good location but that's about it. This place is very tired, run down and needs a big facelift. It looks good from the outside and parking is free. Internet is only available in the lobby area. Reception is not welcoming and the whole place smells kind of funny. Our room was quite large but very dated. Old wallpaper with stains on it, a retiled bathroom but an old tub and sink and a shelf made of particle board. The hallways are painted cinderblock and not recently painted either! Our hallway also had uncovered fluorescent lights. Looks like they are attempting to update things ie. new carpet and new curtains here and there. The buffet breakfast was satisfactory. Overall, I wouldn't recommend. There are lots of lovely looking B&B's in town which would likely be a much better choice.

Room Tip: Not sure there are good rooms...sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdsjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

First impressions weren’t that good (the entrance as you go in is a bit shabby, and there was damage on the door to our room), but the room was comfortable, and the food was OK, so we were happy.
The main thing going for this hotel is its location - perfect for catching the ferry!.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NUTMEG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A little dated, however, I would highly recommend this hotel for all round superb value.The staff were always eager to please. ideal location and we will definately visit again.Good location for accessing Lewis/Harris and Durness etc.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BRIAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Smelly, dirty, rundown. No toiletries or hair dryer provided. Hotel is very dirty, very shabby. No lift so have to climb 4 sets of stairs, receptionist looked aghast when I asked for a porter to carry my case up! No glass in bathroom. Wallpaper peeling off walls, minute wardrobe that would not hold a weeks clothes, two tiny drawers but a Bible is provided, can't dry hair with that!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebesttaxilady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

like previous guests,we were also impressed on arrival. the lounge and reception area looked lovely as did the dining area but that was it!as soon as we started to climb the stairs to the 3rd floor the shabiness and smell of damp took over and when we opened our room door the smell was even worse. this has also got to be the smallest twin room ever! there was absolutely no space to move around and although there was a luggage rack behind the bed,i have no idea where they expect you to use it. there were also two chairs crammed into a small space and again impossible to move/use. the bathroom left a lot to be desired . the toilet hadn't been flushed before our arrival,there was no hot water and the bed linen obviously had not been changed as we found used tissues under the pillows. we spoke to the housekeeper who arranged for the linen to be changed straight away and they were, but only to be replaced by a duvet cover which had mould spots and a tear in it! breakfast on our 1st morning was poor,most of the tables were reserved for coach parties but we eventually got a table only to find there was very little choice. there was no fruit juice,only rice crispies and corn flakes, my husband did have fried eggs and sausage but if you're vegetarian you'll have to make do with toast made from the thinnest sliced bread i have ever seen. we had go to a member of staff to ask for a pot of tea as none was forthcoming. however on our second morning there was a great improvement with plenty of choice and table service. the staff were all very friendly and pleasant but this hotel is in need of a major overhall. it wasn't cheap to stay here and we certainly didn't get value for our money. on the plus side,ullapool is a lovely place with plenty of walks and stunning scenery and if you like good food and excellent service i can recommend 'the arch'.

Room Tip: find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgee38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
257 reviews
17.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
402 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Creagan Guest House Ullapool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: Quay Street, Ullapool IV26 2UG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range: $51 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caledonian Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caledonian Hotel have well presented, comfortable accommodation comprising of 17 double rooms, 44 twin rooms, 19 single rooms and 3 triple rooms which are all en-suite. We are located in the center of Ullapool and a short 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal to Stornoway. We offer complementary WIFI in the lounge and bar areas. The Caledonian is Ideally situated for walkers whether a gentle afternoon stroll by Loch Broom or a little more challenging on some of the best mountains in the UK. Built in the early 1900s, the Caledonian Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in the area. It still boasts a quiet, friendly and welcoming atmosphere and pleasant gardens. The Hotel overlooks Ullapool's working harbour and the colorful fishing boats on Loch Broom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing