We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL WITH A GREAT POSITION NEEDING A GREAT INVESTMENT”
Review of Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is very handy for the ferry to Stornoway but it needs a lot of attention. We had a downstairs room that was clean but rather dark and every time anybody else moved around in a nearby room or corridor it sounded as though they were in our room,thats how much the floorboards creak The menu was good reading but when our food came it was rather disappointing.There were six of us and we picked a selection but we had a lot of leftovers due to lack of taste and in some cases lack of heat.Breakfast looked good and was for the most part but it would of been even better if there was a friendly face behind the servery to restock and make sure the food was still warm.The haggis was terrific.To sum up, very handy for a one nighter.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lairduig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments they are very much appreciated, i will investigate along with our chef into the failings that you had during your stay.
Once again thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 660 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our greeting at reception was good and meal times and location of the room explained to us. We were on the 2nd floor so took the stairs as there was no lift. The room was adequate, beds comfy but the ceiling was in need of redecoration as it showed signs of one or two bits of mould. The hotel itself is old but has character.
The breakfast is fine, its a buffet style. Staff pleasant enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spidey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments, the room in question has now be fixed and re-decorated in the last few days. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team - once again thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent one night at the Caledonian Hotel in July 2013. We walked in off the street and got the last available room, our greeting at the reception was good, the young lady was friendly and advised us about restaurant times etc. We had a large room in the top of a corner turret and were thrilled with the outlook from the room - over the harbour and across the loch. We went down to the restaurant at 8.00pm for dinner, the restaurant was closing at 8.30pm. We were given a very cool reception asked to wait outside the restaurant even though there was only two other couples in dining, eventually after a considerable wait to be served a very average meal. The bed was reasonably comfortable but at 2.15am all hell seemed to let loose with heavy trucks travelling up and down the main street and machinery working at the harbour - a very noisy room and little sleep, we can only surmise a ferry came in in the early hours of the morning. Breakfast the next morning was ok and the restaurant service was much improved.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are probably much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhippetWhippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on trip advisor, First of all i apologise for the cool reception that you recieved from the Restaurant, we have spoken with the people concerned
Ullapool it self is a fishing port with boats arriving 24 hours a day and up to 4 ferries a day in the summer months therefore there will be some noise at some point from traffic.
Once again thank you for your comments they are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a very old hotel with 10 rooms in the main building and the rest in an annex, with no lift. Our room was very small, with only a couple of feet at each side of the bed and no room at the bottom if the wardrobe doors were open. However, the bed was comfortable and the room and bathroom were clean. The curtains were very thin and therefore we were woken early by the sun, Breakfast was good quality, other than very weak coffee. The bar was a 'local' and very friendly, with very cheap drinks. However, the competing Juke Box, TV and snooker table sometimes made talking difficult. This sounds worse than it actually was - we had a pleasant stay and staff were friendly and helpful. Ullapool itself had lots going on, considering how small it is.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your comments they are very welcome, our curtains will be replaced in the next couple of weeks which should stop the sun coming through so much.
Once again thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ullapool and environs was very busy due to school holidays, so the Caledonian Hotel was the only place
we tried that could accommodate us.

Expansive property that clearly has seen better days. Reception staff indifferent to one's needs. Room was clean but furnishings were tired. The cost of breakfast was included, but we tried it once only. Again wait staff indifferent,
Hot breakfast offerings were contained on hot plates and all showing signs of drying out. Ghastly looking haggis, dried out baked beans and sausages oozing with fat. You could not even get fresh toast, this was also contained on a hot plate. Had our breakfast elsewhere the following morning. One of the more expensive places in the Highlands and clearly not worth it. Very hard to recommend it to anybody.

John MacDonald
Brisbane
Australia

Room Tip: Do not stay at the Caledonian Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMac272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on tripadvisor , we have taken on board each of your comments and discussed it with each head of department and we will ensure that we do better in the furture. From all of the team we apologise taht we were not up to your standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on 2nd June 2013, went to Lewis, then came back and spent one night on the 8th June. We had previously been in this hotel a good number of years ago, and sad to say it has deteriorated quite a bit. It is very tired looking and in need of renovation. The first room we stayed in was clean enough but it was very inconvenient having the washhand basin at the foot of my bed! The bathroom was an eyesore with a yellow toilet and bath. Plain glass window in there, so the sagging curtains (such as they were) had to be closed all the time.
Breakfast was okay but I feel that having toast on the buffet is a bad idea, it ends up like bits of shrivelled cardboard. We did ask for untoasted bread and got it without problem. The staff are friendly and helpful which is something. The dancing chef was a nice diversion!
Second room for the one night stay was a bit better with basin in the bathroom, where it should be and it was clean also. It was okay for one night and was quite cheap.
Small car park at front of hotel is usually full but there is a larger one round the back and a rear entrance to the hotel.
It could be so much better if some money was spent on renovation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a washbasin actually IN the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzythistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your comment and for posting it on trip advisor. The hotel is currently being refurbished and the yellow bath and toilet is part of this proccess as well as the curtains.
Once again thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This has to be the worst, grubbiest hotel we have ever stayed in. The photo on the website bears no resemblance to the grubby room we had. The corridor walls and carpets are filthy; the treads on the staircase are broken and dangerous; the curtains in the bathroom were mouldy; the bathrooms lino was unclean. The wash hand basin was in the bedroom and there was mould around the taps. The floor boards creak and you can hear every noise including the toilet next door/above being flushed and people speaking. We heard they are to re-carpet some of the rooms which might help with the creaking floor boards....ha ha I think not!. The bedrooms are small you could hardly open the door as the bed was immediately behind it. OK it's not expensive to stay but you do expect cleanliness but not here. Definitely will NOT return and NOT recommend. We left early, before breakfast and the manager gave us a discount....that I think tells you something. Owners - you need to take a serious look at this hotel and I'm not sure how the tourist board can even recommend it, which they apparently do.

Room Tip: Staying here is not recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrewmac123, General Manager at Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for posting your comment on trip advisor it is very welcome - yes we failed you and we apologise for that. We are replacing carpets through out the hotel and where possible we will be repairing/replacing floor boards to try and and stop the squeaky floor boards. Once again thank you for your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harbour House
Harbour House
#3 of 7 in Ullapool
162 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
377 reviews
24 mi away
The Drumbeg Hotel
The Drumbeg Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumbeg
89 reviews
23.9 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonian Hotel

Address: Quay Street, Ullapool IV26 2UG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range: $35 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caledonian Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caledonian Hotel have well presented, comfortable accommodation comprising of 17 double rooms, 44 twin rooms, 19 single rooms and 3 triple rooms which are all en-suite. We are located in the center of Ullapool and a short 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal to Stornoway. We offer complementary WIFI in the lounge and bar areas. The Caledonian is Ideally situated for walkers whether a gentle afternoon stroll by Loch Broom or a little more challenging on some of the best mountains in the UK. Built in the early 1900s, the Caledonian Hotel is one of the oldest hotels in the area. It still boasts a quiet, friendly and welcoming atmosphere and pleasant gardens. The Hotel overlooks Ullapool's working harbour and the colorful fishing boats on Loch Broom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing