We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely menu, great atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ceilidh Place

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ceilidh Place
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely menu, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Here for lunch and brunch a few times during our stay, so can't comment on the hotel aspect or the dinner/ bar.
A lovely place, great menu, fresh home cooking and baking, friendly staff. Quite relaxed atmosphere for little ones, including a hamper of toys and a wee bit of floorspace they enjoyed playing on.
Attached bookshop is a little treasure trove, worth a browse too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Catreeeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    87
    38
    31
    29
See reviews for
52
131
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were staying in Ullapool & booked dinner for 5, as the Ceilidh Place was recommended. we were not disappointed, had a wonderful 3 course dinner, with wine & whisky, Very good selection of wines & of course whiskies. Staff were very pleasant, polite & attentive. Our family are from California & they thought it was just wonderful. To round off an excellent meal &. drinks & atmosphere..... The Ceilidh Band was playing..... wonderful!!! boy can these three boys play their musical instruments. They had us spellbound, & it was free! Thank you so much for a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

On our recent trip to Ullapool we visited The Ceilidh Place - one of my favourite destinations when in Scotland. We had an uncomplicated lunch which was ok and returned in the evening just for a quick dinner. We asked to be seated in the bar in order not to make any fuss as we did not want a three-course meal. Yet, this was not possible. Thus we took a table and simply ordered two starters and some drinks adding up to a sum of GBP 22.00. There were only three further tables occupied yet the service let us feel less than welcome. Having finished our meal, the head waitress (at least she seemed to be) asked whether we would opt for a dessert. As we denied, she simply placed the bill on our table. I have never experienced such impoliteness especially in Scotland before and will never return to the Ceilidh Place again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank noname_iceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ullapool hotels

Westlake Village, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed in room 4 and it was not very nice. The hotel does not have water bottles in the room or tea, coffee etc. There was black mold in the bathroom and only a half shared shampoo bottle. The furniture was very old and falling apart. The room needed updating very badly.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarajanes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Really lovely room in laid back homely hotel.Excellent quality of food both for dinner & breakfast.
Staff very friendly & helpful. Didn't miss having a TV... Shall be back at some time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We very much enjoyed our three nights here. The staff were all cheery and helpful. Breakfast was especially nice: kippers, haddock, French toast with maple syrup in addition to the usual eggs selection.

It is situated not on the main harbour side street, but one street back. This makes it quiet and easier for roadside parking.

Our favourite thing was the large residents' lounge upstairs. It is bright and looks out over Loch Broom. There are numerous sitting areas with comfy chairs and sofas. A desk encourages you to write postcards or whatever. Let's face it. This is Scotland, and the chances of having rain are high. Sitting in a hotel room can be grim. This lounge, however, can make up for it.

Room Tip: Room 5 has twin beds and a bath with shower attachment. It is at the back of the hotel with no good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed here for just one night on our way over to the Outer Hebrides and enjoyed everything about it.

A good range of Scottish ales and a pleasant outdoor terrace. An excellent dinner, one of our best meals this year, with equally good service and choice of wines. A pleasant while up in the residents' lounge, with use of the honesty bar, and then a good night's sleep and a fine breakfast to set us up for the ferry crossing. But one night isn't long enough here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
17.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.2 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ceilidh Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ceilidh Place

Property: The Ceilidh Place
Address: 18 West Argyle Street, Ullapool IV26 2TY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
The Ceilidh Place Hotel Ullapool
Ceilidh Place Ullapool
Ceilidh Place Hotel Ullapool
The Ceilidh Place Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing