We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much as it always has been, which is good.”
Review of The Ceilidh Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ceilidh Place
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Much as it always has been, which is good.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Ceilidh Place is perhaps too relaxed for some of the reviewers on this site who perhaps prefer officious precision to a more casual, friendly, approach which nonetheless provides a good service - every time in my case on numerous stays over twenty five years.

I see one critical reviewer has said the hotel has no car park and so resents being asked for car registration details. This is a shock to me. Maybe I have been parking my car in somebody else's car park over those years (right between the main hotel and the club house too - who'd have thought it didn't belong to the Ceilidh Place?). Maybe the rest of that reviewer's comments should be consdiered in the light of this detail.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deryck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    92
    41
    33
    29
See reviews for
55
142
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights on our way to the Hebrides, having not visited for about 15 years. The hotel has had some updating but still has much of the 1970's stained pine. The atmosphere is totally relaxed and the staff are friendly and helpful.
The restaurant is good, probably the best place to eat in Ullapool and not too dear.
Our room (7) was on the first floor at the end of the building overlooking the garden and was comfortable with a good double bed.
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who likes an informal atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kildwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just back from a short break to Ullapool and stayed in the unique Ceilidh Place and loved it. Loved the relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. Had a fantastic room overlooking the garden and the resident lounge is just lovely - sit back relax, read, think, breathe and forget the busy life you might lead. The staff, especially the really helpful reception staff were fab and the restaurant staff friendly and very helpful - loved out visit and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Don't expect a TV, there isn't onebut you won't need one, just look out the window and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The place was generally very good. Food very good.
The accomodation in the bunk rooms over the road though was poor, even though It cost the same as a b&b. There wer e7 of us in two rooms and all of the lads complained that the bunks were uncomfortable or rather the shelves above them too low so that knees were whacked off them when turning in the night.
Also the hot water ran out after 4 showers so I'd hate to be there when the place is fuller.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the bunk rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Enjoyed both lunch and supper with a friend; good produce; good value; served by young friendly staff, albeit slightly flustered when busy.
There is no table service outside, which can be a nuisance for customers with dogs, especially if you have to leave them outside to go and place your order.
Service could be more attentive; we had to seek waiting staff's attention and had to ask a couple of times for the bill.
Great place however, in a fantastic village; will continue to frequent when in Ullapool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBoopPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Once the only place to stay or even eat at in the NW Highlands, with a unique touch of culture - fresh local food served in cafe and restaurant by friendly and enthusiastic young staff, well-stocked bar (range of beers and whiskies), new art on the walls AND a decent bookshop, plus cultural events. Mostly still true, but the rooms are looking tacky, the menu could do with an uplift, and given the general improvement in accommodation and service around the Highlands and Islands, The Ceilidh needs to up its game.

Room Tip: rooms at front have best views, and road outside is generally quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biblioswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochinver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The only place in Ullapool where I felt I was of less importance than the staff. Which is such a pity because it's a beautiful place with a great bookshop. Just got the impression that it lacked good management. Sat waiting for too long for our order to be taken with 7 members of staff in view available. The bar also was a shambles with advertised cask beer not on.

Also interesting to note that no-one from this establishment ever replies to the comments on this site. Get the impression that they don't give a toss. That's the feeling that I left with.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kampos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ullapool hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
571 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
244 reviews
17.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#1 of 4 in Garve
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ceilidh Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ceilidh Place

Property: The Ceilidh Place
Address: 18 West Argyle Street, Ullapool IV26 2TY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ceilidh Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ceilidh Place Hotel Ullapool
Ceilidh Place Ullapool
Ceilidh Place Hotel Ullapool
The Ceilidh Place Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing