We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy pub and good food”
Review of The Ceilidh Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ceilidh Place
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Lovely inside, great food, variety of beers, whiskys etc....and thistly cross cider. Relaxed and no coach trippers, with interesting scottish bookstore within it! Friendly staff. Hot hot hot stove! Would like to have stayed there

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank linux x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 326 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a lovely meal here .The ambience is very good, busy without overdoing it.Staff were lovely too, attentive and friendly. Great variety of meals, some traditional (burger and chips) some unusual (sausage and bean casserole was fantastic)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank shonaf186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great eatery that has just got it right we thought...(didn't stay here as we had rented a barn conversion in the town - See Western House B&B across the road (Coleen and Richard Lindsay)for details of that, recommended!!)
Lunch menu : not huge portions, priced just right and tasty. Salmon cakes recommended. Staff excellent and well trained.Good choice of wines and beers, local brews etc. Atmosphere great, esp in the evenings when there's a bit of buzz. We had a marvellous bit of hake on properly seasoned spinachy mash and a super cream sauce, very very yummy. Does the usual seafood. Plates of prawns wafted past, bowls of mussels too. Deceptively roomy inside. Simple wooden floors and tables, cosy woodburner. Has a nice bookshop where you can sit and browse possible purchases. We ate there three times, all great!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BeanandBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I was travelling the highlands of Scotland with my boyfriend last week and I had read somewhere that this was a quirky hotel with nice touches in the room. I was excited to check it out so we arrived one evening after a long day's driving and went into the reception area.
After keeping us waiting for a while before acknowledging we were there I asked if she had any double rooms available. She said there was one BUT (her emphasis was on the word "but") it was 100 pound a night. Without waiting for my response she said "Yes I know I'd say that is out of your budget". She then proceeded to recommend 3 other B&Bs in the area that she said "would be more within our budget".
What a dangerous assumption to make about 2 people looking to check in to your hotel.
I was so stunned by her insults that I did not make any further comment, thanked her, and checked into a B&B across the road.
For her to look at us for no more than a few seconds and somehow come to the conclusion that our budget for the night was not 50 pound each was insulting, incorrect, prejudice (to what, I don't know - my hair, clothes height??) and, very untypical of what I had expected from anyone - especially working in hospitality!!!
So the room (that was apparently too expensive for us) was not occupied that night and, for me, was the only dissapointing feature of an 8 day trip to beautiful Scotland and its beautiful people.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
9  Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I recently stayed at this Hotel for a friend's birthday with a large group of friends. It is a gem of a Hotel. The room was very comfortable and the bed great but my ensuite only had a bath which I believe some others also do ,so you may want to ask on booking if you prefer a shower. For me coming back after a long day of walking and having a bath was very relaxing. They have nice touches, in the rooms they have a variety of books. and although there is no tea and coffee in the rooms there is a lovely lounge with a small kitchen with free teas, coffees and a small fridge if you want to store some of your own drinks. The food was delicious, we especially loved the locally smoked salmon and oat cakes. The service was friendly and very good. The dinner, bed and breakfast rate was tremendous value for money. I have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel and will return with my husband at a future date.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I recently spent a wonderful weekend at the Ceilidh Place in Ullapool with a big group of friends and it’s not easy to decide what aspect of it I enjoyed the most. The service was wonderful throughout the weekend – and we enjoyed great local produce (like seafood and venison) for breakfast, dinner and the hotel even made delicious packed lunches for us to enjoy during a long coastal walk on the Saturday. The atmosphere in the hotel was so warm and relaxing. We enjoyed music in the bar downstairs, and a snug guest lounge upstairs with a beautiful selection of books and paintings to browse – or simply gazed out the window to the stunning landscape surrounding the hotel and the little town of Ullapool. It was all beautiful, and I really didn’t want to leave!

Room Tip: I enjoyed my twin room with en suite bathroom - the bed was super comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carnavalley_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stopped over here for a night in mid-December and couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. It's a wonderful spot, the kind of place you don't want to leave: roaring log fire in the restaurant / coffee shop, with hot drinks, soup, home baking etc available all day; bookshop on hand for browsing; and if you're staying in the hotel, really delightful rooms with crisp, white sheets and a large guest lounge full of comfy sofas, interesting reading material and original character. The evening meal was very good, and there was loads of choice at breakfast the next morning too. Five stars. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a wonderful view down Loch Broom and the road outside is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
257 reviews
17.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ceilidh Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ceilidh Place

Address: 18 West Argyle Street, Ullapool IV26 2TY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range: $105 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ceilidh Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ceilidh Place Hotel Ullapool
Ceilidh Place Ullapool
Ceilidh Place Hotel Ullapool
The Ceilidh Place Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing