We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, and I really didn’t want to leave!”
Review of The Ceilidh Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ceilidh Place
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I recently spent a wonderful weekend at the Ceilidh Place in Ullapool with a big group of friends and it’s not easy to decide what aspect of it I enjoyed the most. The service was wonderful throughout the weekend – and we enjoyed great local produce (like seafood and venison) for breakfast, dinner and the hotel even made delicious packed lunches for us to enjoy during a long coastal walk on the Saturday. The atmosphere in the hotel was so warm and relaxing. We enjoyed music in the bar downstairs, and a snug guest lounge upstairs with a beautiful selection of books and paintings to browse – or simply gazed out the window to the stunning landscape surrounding the hotel and the little town of Ullapool. It was all beautiful, and I really didn’t want to leave!

Room Tip: I enjoyed my twin room with en suite bathroom - the bed was super comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carnavalley_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 329 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stopped over here for a night in mid-December and couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. It's a wonderful spot, the kind of place you don't want to leave: roaring log fire in the restaurant / coffee shop, with hot drinks, soup, home baking etc available all day; bookshop on hand for browsing; and if you're staying in the hotel, really delightful rooms with crisp, white sheets and a large guest lounge full of comfy sofas, interesting reading material and original character. The evening meal was very good, and there was loads of choice at breakfast the next morning too. Five stars. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a wonderful view down Loch Broom and the road outside is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

we stayed here in september for one night before catching the ferry.
we were in the bunk house and it was fab. the rooms were warm, clean and comfortable.
the staff were very friendly and helpful.
we plan to stay here again next year. :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngieB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here last week with friends for lunch and liked the look of the menu. There was a wood burning stove lit and it was very cosy. It was not that busy as it was mid afternoon, but the service was quite slow. The food however was very nice either a good variety on the menu, and breakfast was available most of the day.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank goodtobehomenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Nice bar and restaurant. Felt like a home away from home. Hearty breakfast to start the day too! Decent choice of coffee/tea and other refreshments in the guest lounge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatthewS184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed at this hotel last weekend, it's worth the travel to experience the wonderful atmosphere, delightful scenery and marvellous food.
The bedroom was ideal, lots of room, really comfy bed and a great range of books to browse.Chilling out in the residents lounge, fully equipped with refreshments, an honours bar, lots of reading material, was no great hardship.
The restaurant, bar and facilities are of a high standard.

Room Tip: Just ask for options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhanich-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have been stopping off at Ullapool en route from North Yorkshire to our holiday cottage near Achiltibuie since 1992, and several years ago decided that we would treat ourselves to breakfast on arrival at Ullapool, rather than taking sandwiches and eating them at our usual pitstop at Kinross.

We have always gone to the Ceilidh Place and enjoyed a good Scottish breakfast but a couple of years back we were most disappointed to find that a full breakfast was no longer available to non-residents.

We could have every individual element of a breakfast served in a breadbun but not the whole lot on a plate - which seemed a bit daft, as while we sat there waiting for our butties the waiting staff were backwards and forwards to the restaurant with plates of breakfast for the residents!

What do we do this year? Order an egg butty, sausage butty, bacon butty etc and ask for them to be put on a plate without the buns - hoping they get the drift? Or shall we give the Seaforth a go instead?

We like the Ceilidh Place but we don't really want another breadbun-fest. Come on, folks, please let us have a proper breakfast on a plate again!
Liz and Dave Manning

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank elizabeth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour House
Harbour House
#3 of 7 in Ullapool
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
185 reviews
16 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
282 reviews
22.7 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ceilidh Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ceilidh Place

Address: 18 West Argyle Street, Ullapool IV26 2TY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range: $111 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ceilidh Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ceilidh Place Hotel Ullapool
Ceilidh Place Ullapool
Ceilidh Place Hotel Ullapool
The Ceilidh Place Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing