We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic venue”
Review of The Ceilidh Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ceilidh Place
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic venue”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Recently stayed here for a wedding held in the hotel. The place is simply fantastic. You have to be very clear what to expect though. This is a place to be with friends, go walking, paint, read books etc. In general to relax. There are no TVs. No computers. No spa. No pool. The bar and restaurant are simple. Rooms are very pleasant but several (including the one we stayed in) are not en-suite.

We found the food for the evening reception outclassed that served at weddings we had been to in far more expensive hotels. The breakfast was also tasty and ample. The staff are relaxed and informal and yet very pleasant and helpful. The residents day-lounge knocks the socks off any other similar room in far more lavish hotels. It is not a cheap place to stay, however it is a delightful place to spend a few days and forget the rest of the world.

PS As we were at a wedding, there was a large number of our friends who stayed in other assorted hotels in the town. Every single one of them who had stayed elsewhere regretted their decision.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danjos24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    93
    41
    33
    29
See reviews for
55
143
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I decided to book a special night away for my wife and me, so I asked for the best room they had; I was offered a premium room, with a view of Loch Broom, and was quoted £154 for 2, for one night B&B!! That's nippy, so must be really good, I thought......... but it wasn't.

Our room was fairly small, with a windowless, unvented bathroom with no bath, and the Loch Broom view was marginal, sideways looking through some trees! The back yard was the principal vista. I asked for confirmation as we were shown to the room, and was promised that this was the room they always gave to the bride and groom. I guess they don't expect newlyweds to be spending much time looking at the view..........! And the radio in the next room woke us early, so I'm not sure the acoustics are good enough for newlyweds' privacy.

Right enough, the residents' daylounge is fantastic, but no good if you're only spending one night in the place, and it's no real compensation for the poor value of the room. Having been in other hotels in the same town, it seems that Ullapool has a high opinion of itself - it's all over-priced.

In the evening, the dinner food was under-par for the price - didn't fulfil the scrumptious descriptions and portions were small: we left a bit hungry.

To be fair, there is a lot going on, generally, and there's usually a lively buzz about the place. There's a few nice nooks to occupy and enjoy coffee, etc. But I reckon I could have found 2 nights elsewhere for my £210 bill.

Room Tip: Ask for a detailed description of the room on offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We went to the Ceilidh Place first for an afternoon coffee and later for an evening meal. The afternoon visit was to a place full of life and culture, people relaxing and enjoying a wet Sunday afternoon with coffee and wine.

The evening visit was to a place with untrained staff and average food. We waited 10 minutes to get the wine list, bread was an afterthought offered as the starters were being cleared away. The menu promised much but, based upon what we had, was barely average.

We would certainly go back to enjoy coffee and culture on a wet afternoon but not for the evening - they need to get a decent chef and some training for their staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tellingd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Ceilidh place is def different. A book shop and bar restaurant are bar of the hotel which also offers free wifi. The coverage is a bit hit and miss right enough. There is a large guest lounge with an honesty bar which is a nice touch.
Rooms have a selection of books chosen by locals which is a good idea but not sure how many would stay long enough to take advantage. Good for generating ideas though and you can always buy a copy in the book shop to take away.
Our room had bath only when we would have preferred a shower but it's a minor gripe... Just something to look out for.

Nice place. Hope to be back.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tartan_penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

The rooms are comfortable and clean, ours (2) was very small. Would have liked a kettle in the room as well as a tv or at least a digital radio, but the guest lounge was a great place to sit in the evening. Loved the honesty bar, a great idea. We wanted drinks later than 11pm one night but the whole place was closed up and in darkness by 1130!
I felt the rooms were extremely expensive for what you got, although the hotel really is lovely I don't think it is worth it. The staff were mostly helpful and very friendly. Would strongly suggest the management re-evaluate the room cost.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisab80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This is a lovely place. The lounge and honesty bar is unique and is a really lovely space. Get a grip, you moaning minnies who complained about washing their cups!
And who cares that there is no TV! We had an absolutely lovely night here and will definitely be back. Only improvement that could be made would be our shower, which was needing a refurb

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elspeth_stewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

My wife and family and I (two adults, and three kids aged 12, 10 and 8) stayed here in July for three nights on vacation, and really enjoyed it. Although - as some reviewers have pointed out - the decor in the rooms may, depending on your taste, be a bit dated the beds are wonderful; we slept like kings. Three young kids and no TV etc ? Not a worry. The very spacious upstairs lounge has games and our kids had a three day marathon monopoly game and were really, much to our amazement, happy to swithch off from DVDs, Play Stations, TV's etc - so feel happy to come with your family. Finally, we didn't eat much at the Ceilidh Place as we were out visiting most of the time - but breakfast is very nice, and I did try the chowder (haddock??) and it was excellent. Thanks Jean et al !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
245 reviews
17.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
4.3 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
174 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#1 of 4 in Garve
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ceilidh Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ceilidh Place

Property: The Ceilidh Place
Address: 18 West Argyle Street, Ullapool IV26 2TY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ceilidh Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ceilidh Place Hotel Ullapool
Ceilidh Place Ullapool
Ceilidh Place Hotel Ullapool
The Ceilidh Place Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing