We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for our workshop”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Comfortable hotel with good food and hospitality. The brilliant thing was when we arrived back after a hard day in the hills to discover a power cut, the staff pulled out all stops and our meal was ready on time, piping hot and with all options available. What great service.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 410 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for only one night. We boarded the ferry to Stornoway the next morning. It was low season, so , besides us, there were a few ferry crew members staying. We had a room facing Loch Broom- the view was spectacular! The staff was so friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome. The food in the bar was good and reasonable. The breakfast selection included homemade porridge- it was lovely. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ullapool or coming a day early for the ferry to the Outer Hebrides.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the loch- second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in a twin room ahead of the Ullapool Sportive cycling event. The hotel itself is a little dated but fits in nicely in the little town of Ullapool. The staff were helpful and friendly. Food is not served late in the hotel, and the town's chippy closes early too so be warned if you want some food on late arrival.

The rooms are spacious and equipped well

The cooked breakfast was very tasty and generous.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night following the cancellation of the ferry to Stornoway.

Being a family with young children, it was important to us to be in one room... The Royal Hotel was able to provide us with a massive family room, with plenty of wardrobe space and a balcony which, if the weather had been better, we would have used.

With it being offseason, it was completely understandable that the restaurant was closed, and we were offered dinner in the bar. I'm delighted we took this offer up - really good antipasto starter, authentic pasta dishes and (according to the kids) one of the best pizzas ever, followed with sticky toffee pudding and tiramisu, all for under £60.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant and was a very well cooked Full Scottish (there were other options too), along with the expected continental.

Special praise has to be given to Russell, the manager, who could not have been more helpful, offering some leeway with checkout time as we had 2 kids to get ready, providing a place to leave our bags while waiting the 8hours before the ferry sailing and allowing us to loiter in the lovely lounge with cups of tea, big screen tv for background noise and just generally being the perfect host.

Already planning a visit when we're back across in summer to see this hotel in full swing.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMacpherson08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two night while touring Scotland.
The hotel was clean but dated. We got to the hotel quite late, so we put our bags in the room and went straight into the bar for something to eat.
We were surprised to find a menu dominated by Italian food, which would be fine if you were a fan of Italian food. There were other meals available, but these were very limited, so we decided to go for one of the many pasta dishes available. This was very disappointing and put us off using the bar the following evening.
The breakfasts were very nice with a good choice and the hotel was in a good location for a leisurely walk along the seafront, and has good views of the loch from the front facing rooms.
Ullapool is a quaint, quiet little town, ideal for what we were doing and the Royal hotel is a nice place to stay, and I would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the loch are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spock11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent one night at the Royal Hotel and it was wonderful. The rooms are spacious, bathrooms excellent with lots of hot water and fabulous views across the harbour. It's conveniently located five minutes walk down into the main street. Our dinner in the waterfront bar was yummy and servings were generous. The service was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included in the room tariff and was a wonderful spread. We were extremely happy with our stay and will recommend to all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Not sure where to start -- it is kind of off putting to check in and be told the restaurant is closed for a coach load of visitors. But as luck would have it the Bar/Pub does amazing Pizza's so all wasn't for naught.

The rooms are big, but very dated and a number of items in our room were broken or bodge job'd together like the lamp between beds that had a broken cover, the bathroom pull string for the lamp/fan that came off in our hands, and the blinds that didn't blind.

The wifi is marginal at best -- go stand in the hall was their suggestion which is really unacceptable in this day / age, add another repeater to solve it!

The rooms are quiet, but very tired in their 1980's decor and in desperate need of updated furnishings (both soft & hard) to a more modern age.

The location is very good, but the property for what it costs is a let down.

Room Tip: It is hard to decide what to say -- find a local B&B or kick up a fuss when you're let down?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S6blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.3 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
257 reviews
17.7 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
201 reviews
23.1 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Garve Road, Ullapool IV26 2SY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range: $80 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premier luxury hotels in the Scottish Highlands, the Royal will delight the most discerning of guests and offers 55 en-suite rooms, many with breathtaking views over Loch Broom and the others over rugged mountain landscapes. The privately owned Royal Hotel is a matchless and precious jewel of the Highlands, uniquely situated to offer the perfect combination of comfort and a stunning seaside loch location with a minute walk to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing