We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Fashioned BUT Great Staff”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Old Fashioned BUT Great Staff”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The further north you travel in Scotland, the more dated the hotels/B&Bs become due to logistics etc. The Royal Hotel is an old fashioned hotel that could benefit from a refurbishment but it is clean, the staff are incredibly friendly and the breakfast is good. The location is a good mid-way point if you are travelling further afield and it is located just on the edge of the town centre with access to Ullapool's bars and restaurants just a two minute walk away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAClark82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    151
    76
    23
    6
See reviews for
46
171
36
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nortumberland England
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Called into this hotel, looking to eat there,while staying in Ullapool.No incentive to book as it was lunchtime and no one about except reception .all the chairs in the bar were upturned.did not feel they wanted the business.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This review is for the hotel (not the restaurant where we had a truly dreadful meal). We were really pleased with the room (room 3), which had a balcony with seating area and great views. The staff were first class, extremely efficient and always friendly. Breakfast had a great choice and was well cooked. We did eat in the main restaurant on our first night and although the starters were delicious, our main courses were probably the worst food I have come across - duck dry and grossly overcooked in a glutinous sauce and trout with almonds similarly dry and overcooked. With the benefit of hindsight, I wish we had gone to the bar and had my starter (langoustines) as a main. Anyway, no shortage of alternative eateries all within a short walk of the hotel, so it wasn't a major problem.
The facilities in the hotel are great, by the way. Reasonable TV reception and free wifi, although it was down for the last day and a half of our stay. We would definitely return to the hotel because the room was perfect and the staff so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank algal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and although we couldn't fault the staff who were REALLY friendly and welcoming the rooms and hotel were just ok. There was nothing in the accommodation to warrant the price we paid for the room which had a double and 2 single beds in it - for 1 couple seemed a bit of over-kill - perhaps a smaller room at a cheaper price would have given us better value for money? We ate in the hotel restaurant on one night and again the food was just ok, it serves Italian food but not as good as a proper Italian restaurant. We ate at the Ferryboat Inn the other night we stayed and the food was much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over Loch Broom, you pay extra but it's beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingScotThommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas IOM
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel.We stayed for one night as stopover to break our journey before travelling up to Architibuie.It is very convenient for the shops pubs and restaurants in Ullapool all within a short walking distance.The hotel has its own private car park and had ample parking spaces.There is a petrol station next door which is handy

Our Room - we requested Room 8 a Executive/Honeymoon room suite with a four poster bed .It was situated on the first floor and overlooked Loch Broom.Outside our room was a large curved balcony with chairs .Had the weather been good it would have been a lovely suntrap.The room itself was very large clean and comfortable and had tea and coffee making facilities.You could get internet access if you wished for a charge.The bed was very comfortable and had a good nights sleep with no noise from any passing traffic .

Food and Drink- Breakfast was wonderful and is included in the price.It was served in a small restaurant on the right side of the entrance to the hotel on split levels.it was freshly cooked to order not buffet style and had a good selection of cold foods such as fruit cheese,yogurts, cereals and juices.If you like porridge you could add a wee dram if you wished!!This room is also used in the evening and has an Italian theme although we didn't eat in the hotel in the evening.
There is a bar to the left of the entrance which was nice and quiet when we went there and reasonably priced which also does bar snacks.
It would have benn nice to have had room service but the hotel does not offer this facility.

Negative - the only negatives for me is that I thought check out by 11am is too early and would have preferred a 12noon check out.

Certainly would stay here again.Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Opt for a room on the front for a good view of Loch Broom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monketteDouglasIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Royal Hotel is a large tourist hotel located on the harbor at the edge of the town centre. There is plenty of parking and a petrol station next door. The ground floor has a restaurant that provides the included breakfast and is open for dinners from 6 until 9 (mostly Italian and rather pricey). There is an additional dining area that serves food for large tour groups. There are guest rooms on two floors but be aware there is no elevator which proved a challenge for some of the older folk on our tour as the staff did not offer to help with luggage. There is a small room with two guest computers that were free to use near the check-in desk.

I had room 52 located on the ground floor at the back of the building with a view of the back drive and a hill. The room was quiet but had that “old smoke” smell. Fortunately, there were several windows and a breeze so I was able to air it out a bit. My room had two firm twin beds, a desk, wardrobe, and two chairs. The large bathroom had a separate tub and quite small shower. There was very little water pressure and the water was just barely hot.

I thought that breakfast was the highlight of my stay here. The restaurant had nice views of the harbor. The buffet had an array of cold cereals with assorted toppings as well as hot porridge with a bottle of whiskey for perking that up! You could also order a cooked breakfast from the small menu on the table. I fell in love with the potato scones.

Room Tip: If carrying luggage upstairs on you own is a problem, request a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Well located hotel for stopover on route to the Outer Hebrides. Bedroom satisfactory and equipped ok. The restaurant was satisfactory in the evening although the breakfast was very good. Staff were very pleasant and the place was clean.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DBFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.3 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
245 reviews
17.7 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#2 of 4 in Garve
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Garve Road, Ullapool IV26 2SY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premier luxury hotels in the Scottish Highlands, the Royal will delight the most discerning of guests and offers 55 en-suite rooms, many with breathtaking views over Loch Broom and the others over rugged mountain landscapes. The privately owned Royal Hotel is a matchless and precious jewel of the Highlands, uniquely situated to offer the perfect combination of comfort and a stunning seaside loch location with a minute walk to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing