We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok hotel”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and although we couldn't fault the staff who were REALLY friendly and welcoming the rooms and hotel were just ok. There was nothing in the accommodation to warrant the price we paid for the room which had a double and 2 single beds in it - for 1 couple seemed a bit of over-kill - perhaps a smaller room at a cheaper price would have given us better value for money? We ate in the hotel restaurant on one night and again the food was just ok, it serves Italian food but not as good as a proper Italian restaurant. We ate at the Ferryboat Inn the other night we stayed and the food was much better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over Loch Broom, you pay extra but it's beautiful
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingScotThommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 397 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel.We stayed for one night as stopover to break our journey before travelling up to Architibuie.It is very convenient for the shops pubs and restaurants in Ullapool all within a short walking distance.The hotel has its own private car park and had ample parking spaces.There is a petrol station next door which is handy

Our Room - we requested Room 8 a Executive/Honeymoon room suite with a four poster bed .It was situated on the first floor and overlooked Loch Broom.Outside our room was a large curved balcony with chairs .Had the weather been good it would have been a lovely suntrap.The room itself was very large clean and comfortable and had tea and coffee making facilities.You could get internet access if you wished for a charge.The bed was very comfortable and had a good nights sleep with no noise from any passing traffic .

Food and Drink- Breakfast was wonderful and is included in the price.It was served in a small restaurant on the right side of the entrance to the hotel on split levels.it was freshly cooked to order not buffet style and had a good selection of cold foods such as fruit cheese,yogurts, cereals and juices.If you like porridge you could add a wee dram if you wished!!This room is also used in the evening and has an Italian theme although we didn't eat in the hotel in the evening.
There is a bar to the left of the entrance which was nice and quiet when we went there and reasonably priced which also does bar snacks.
It would have benn nice to have had room service but the hotel does not offer this facility.

Negative - the only negatives for me is that I thought check out by 11am is too early and would have preferred a 12noon check out.

Certainly would stay here again.Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Opt for a room on the front for a good view of Loch Broom
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monketteDouglasIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Royal Hotel is a large tourist hotel located on the harbor at the edge of the town centre. There is plenty of parking and a petrol station next door. The ground floor has a restaurant that provides the included breakfast and is open for dinners from 6 until 9 (mostly Italian and rather pricey). There is an additional dining area that serves food for large tour groups. There are guest rooms on two floors but be aware there is no elevator which proved a challenge for some of the older folk on our tour as the staff did not offer to help with luggage. There is a small room with two guest computers that were free to use near the check-in desk.

I had room 52 located on the ground floor at the back of the building with a view of the back drive and a hill. The room was quiet but had that “old smoke” smell. Fortunately, there were several windows and a breeze so I was able to air it out a bit. My room had two firm twin beds, a desk, wardrobe, and two chairs. The large bathroom had a separate tub and quite small shower. There was very little water pressure and the water was just barely hot.

I thought that breakfast was the highlight of my stay here. The restaurant had nice views of the harbor. The buffet had an array of cold cereals with assorted toppings as well as hot porridge with a bottle of whiskey for perking that up! You could also order a cooked breakfast from the small menu on the table. I fell in love with the potato scones.

Room Tip: If carrying luggage upstairs on you own is a problem, request a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Well located hotel for stopover on route to the Outer Hebrides. Bedroom satisfactory and equipped ok. The restaurant was satisfactory in the evening although the breakfast was very good. Staff were very pleasant and the place was clean.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DBFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Visited Ullapool on an escorted bus tour of the Highlands. Found the hotel suprisingly comfortable and modern, as Highland hotels are not always up to par with modern facilities. Room seemed clean, modern bathroom with large shower, good TV reception and tea/coffee making facilities. Dinner was great, though the staff were occasionally a bit absent (forgot the coffee/tea at meal's send) and a bit of communication gap - as in many parts of Scotland, service staff was from Eastern Europe. Reception staff quick to act when I reported the broken luggage rack in my room. Immediately removed and replaced it. I doubt they even knew someone had broken the leg and tried to make it look whole!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank algieph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here on our tour of Scotland. It was a good basic old coaching in which is still ideal for cach parties. Unfortunately we were touring on motorcycles. The staff were rather dour and straight and not particularly welcoming. The room was clean and had all you needed. The evening meal was good but rather rushed, as was breakfast. A good Place to lay your head and unwind.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RIDINGAROUND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed over night as we travelled along the West Coast.
The room was of a good standard and the hotel was clean and tidy. The view over the loch was great.
All the staff were attentive, but the hotel lacked a little atmosphere and appears better set up for coach parties.

Room Tip: Go for the balcony rooms, with a view of the loch
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCP-Worcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.3 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
255 reviews
17.7 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
198 reviews
23.1 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Garve Road, Ullapool IV26 2SY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ullapool
Price Range: $81 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the premier luxury hotels in the Scottish Highlands, the Royal will delight the most discerning of guests and offers 55 en-suite rooms, many with breathtaking views over Loch Broom and the others over rugged mountain landscapes. The privately owned Royal Hotel is a matchless and precious jewel of the Highlands, uniquely situated to offer the perfect combination of comfort and a stunning seaside loch location with a minute walk to the town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing