We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“All facilities as expected.”
other travelers have booked this property
Fishing village of Ullapool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fishing village of Ullapool
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
9 reviews
Fishing village of Ullapool
Lounge
Lounge
Hall
Kitchen
Dining Room
Bathroom
Shower Room
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Double Bedroom
House and Street
View from Pulteney Street
Pulteney Street
Views of Ullapool
View towards Shore Street
Caledonian Hotel Ullapool
Ullapool Pier
Views of Ullapool
Seaforth Street from Pier
Ullapool Shore Street
View towards the Summer Isles
View towards loch Broom from Ullapool
Ardmair Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Ullapool, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
jack2863
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent location- poor accomodation”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Ullapool is a lovely town with good amenities for those exploring the NW corner of Scotland.
Sadly the Blacksmiths Cottage was not lovely.
It is in need of TLC and a good clean and clear out before I would consider visiting again.
The kitchen was well equipped, but difficult to find anything as the cupboards were chaotic at best. They were full of oddments of old food, left by previous visitors. Tins of paint and even a blowtorch were found in kitchen cupboards. Drawers in bedrooms contained clothing belonging to previous visitors. Most of this is copable with, but the house was dirty. The fridge was filthy, none of the sinks in the bedrooms or shower drained properly
We washed a few of the plates and cups etc before using and kept the same ones throughout.
On a positive note, heating and hot water were effective, and good functional washing machine and dryer. The location is excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: lack of cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2016
I'm truly sorry your stay was not upto your expectations but I feel compelled to respond to some of your comments. We have been trading for many years and our feedback to date speaks for itself. I personally ensure the property is left spotless so to say the fridge is filthy is by any stretch of the imagination or benchmark rediculous ! I cannot allow our hard work and customer focus to be blemished by such an extreme and disproportionate view. With regards to the cub boards being cluttered, I accept that perhaps we should discard some of "oddments" but usually this saves guests from buying salt, pepper, oil ,spices and so on.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elrumax
Motherwell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“All facilities as expected.”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

No problems with booking beforehand. Information provided by owner meant that there was no delay in accessing the cottage and no problems using any of the facilities. We stayed at the same property 4 years ago so we knew what to expect.
My only reason for not rating the cottage as 5 stars is that it's in need of a little bit of TLC - blinds are all dusty and one is broken, carpet in my room was stained, grubby strings on the bathroom lights, kitchen kettle needs replacing. Having said that, we had a wonderful week there and appreciated the facilities - good shower, plenty of hot water, heating when required, good cooking facilities, spacious dining room, comfortable dining room, quiet location but close to shops, wifi available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of property, spaciousness of bedrooms.
Liked least: Bit dusty.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom C
Bath
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent base for getting into the mountains”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This proved an ideal site for a winter mountaineering visit for six people. Easy access to food supplies (Tescos) and the necessary post adventuring liquid supplies (pubs).

We were able to cook food for six each night with the kitchen equipment provided and best of all the cottage was always nice and warm, which was really appreciated after many hours out in the snow.

Ideal.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurablai...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Wee Cottage”
Reviewed August 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

On reading the reviews I was not sure what to expect staying here for 7 weeks while doing a uni project. However I personally feel the previous reviews are not an accurate representation of this cottage. The rooms are extremely spacious, a sink in each room which is very handy. There is a lot of storage space in my room- which is handy due to the amount of equipment i have with me.The kitchen has its own breakfast bar meaning the dining room table was used for all our work- very handy. There are two bathrooms- one with a shower and one with a very modern bath which is ideal after a day in the field. The living room is the smallest room, however it looks much smaller in all the pictures and they definitely do not do the cottage any justice. It is in a great location and all in all the cottage has been a great place to stay- there is six of us staying here are and we are on to our 6th week staying here out of 7 weeks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piseag602
1 review
“Lovely cottage in ideal location”
Reviewed October 1, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We hired the cottage during the Loopallu festival and found it to be clean, well equipped and very central. There were extra chairs in the bedrooms which we used when required. The lounge is small but otherwise we had no problem accommodating 10 people. Would definitely book again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian P
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“10 beds, 6 plates, 4 seats, 1 shower”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is ideal for six, while there are enough beds for 10 there are only 6 seats for dinner, the kitchen is small and the lounge only seats 4. the finish is also very poor, the cottage had not been cleaned, there was rubbish in the bin and previous occupants receipts and books next to the bed.

There are better and cheaper places to stay in Ullapool.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, inclusive heating and electric
Liked least: Finish, size, equipment and cleanliness
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghcafe201...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what it is . We were very disappointed.”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The living accommodation is far too small to cater for more than 6 people comfortably. There were not enough chairs for us all to sit together for meals or socialising. The bathroom facilities were inadequate for the number of people. The house was cluttered with the owners belongings and there was not enough consideration given to the needs of the guests.
We paid £950 to stay there and we feel that it was grossly overpriced for what it offered.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in Ullapool
Liked least: The experience of staying in the cottage as a large party.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing