We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming house.......however!”

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Creagan Guest House Ullapool
Ranked #13 of 45 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming house.......however!”
Reviewed June 29, 2011

First impression, charming presentation and pleasant greeting from our hostess.

Storage limited to a chest of drawers and no hanging space. The bathroom appeared quite state of the art until you attempt to have a shower in the modern claw foot bath holding a handset hose and wishing that we had been trained in acrobatics!
To our disappointment we found the double bed most uncomfortable to the point of getting little sleep.

The next morning after a good breakfast and complimenting our hostess on her charming guesthouse we advised her about the uncomfortable bed upon which she strongly disagreed in a rather terse manner.

We recorded similar comments in her guest book only to find that she tore the page and returned it to us shredded under our bedroom door minutes before our departure.

Room Tip: Be wary of first impressions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
creaganhouse, Owner at Creagan Guest House Ullapool, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Upon receiving our first negative comment in over 12 years, we have installed a new mattress in 4-poster bedroom, which hopefully will satisfy all our future customers. There is hanging space available in the room. Our bathroom was designed to complement our victorian property, with the claw foot rool-top bath, 4 poster bed, and antique furniture. Unfortunately this may not be to everyone's taste but then these guests were happy with the room when they checked in, if they had let this be known to me at the time I would have happily offered them an alternative room with walk in shower.
As far as guest reviews go, we welcome them all, that is how we hope to improve our service to future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    45
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
94
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Algodonales, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

After a dire experience on Skye at the Stein Inn (see my review)this place restored my faith in Scottish hospitality.
As on Skye,we arrived wet through and frozen on our motorcycle.When we pulled up outside Creagan House the owner heard our bike and greeted us with a smile at the front door before we dismounted. We were given a choice of rooms and settled on a truly gorgeous ground floor front with 4 poster bed,en-suite with spotless bathroom.A lovely guest sitting room with wood burner lit,t.v. books and games.Breakfast was superb too.
I have stayed here several times in the last 8 years and it just gets better and better.If you stay in Ullapool,and you should,it's great,try and book this place.Truly AMAZING value,hospitalit,accommodation,food etc.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter,all rooms are A1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We were given a warm welcome from Kathleen. Our room was to the back of the house, which was very comfortable and clean with an en-suite shower room. The room was tastefully decorated with tea/coffee making facilities available. In the morning breakfast was served in a bright airy room, we were offered fruit juice, an array of breakfast cereals were on offer, followed by a full Scottish breakfast, with the freshest of free range eggs....chicken running in the back garden!! tea/coffee and toast.
A very laid back and relaxing time. I would have no hesitation in recommending Creagan Guest house to anyone who was looking for accommodation in Ullapool.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

... as we did, following our previously planned itinerary. Wonderful room, tasteful and cozy lounge, marvellous breakfast -with possibly the best black pudding we've taste in our trip- , and a kind welcome and treatment. Add to all these pros the excellent price for such a standard of accomodation, and a bright sunny day in magic Ullapool , and you'll understand why we've chosen this title.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We were booked into this B&B by the tour company we were travelling with and it was lovely. The room we had was a double near the front door. It had a gorgeous looking 4 poster bed, wooden floors, and pretty bathroom with huge bath.
Our host was very friendly and checked everything was to our liking.
The breakfast was also very nice and she provided a nice vegetarian option.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Stayed here overnight waiting for the ferry to Lewis. Room was fine - comfortable bed, hot shower and excellent cooked breakfast. Stayed alone in the twin room. Cost £35.

Played the Ullapool Golf Course before the ferry. 9 hole course but 2 sets of tees for each hole. Excellent short links course just north of the town. Honesty box. £20.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.2 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
585 reviews
0.0 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
245 reviews
17.7 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#2 of 4 in Garve
160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Morefield Motel
Morefield Motel
#2 of 6 in Ullapool
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Creagan Guest House Ullapool

Property: Creagan Guest House Ullapool
Address: 18 Pulteney Street, Ullapool IV26 2UP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Creagan Guest House Ullapool 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Creagan Guest House Ullapool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creagan Guest House Ullapool Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing