We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eccentric”
Review of Tenterden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tenterden
Ranked #25 of 45 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Long Crendon near Oxford
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Eccentric”
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We took a chance on the overgrown garden and slightly eccentric feel of the place. We were rewarded by a comforatble night and an excellent breakfast. The downsides included sharing the bathroom and shower with the guests in the other bedroom, the creaking floorboards letting us hear everything that was going on in the owners apartment above us and the feeling that the place could have done with a good clean - and £70 is the going rate for an en-suite room. However we knew all that when we were shown the room and we were still glad to take it and enter into the hospitable spirit of the house. Probably wouldn't stay again, glad we did so once.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan & Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
24
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Me and my partner stayed here for one night and found that we didn't want to leave. The owners were very pleasant, quirky, thoughtful and laid-back. Ullapool itself is lovely, and to find this B&B in the centre of all the action really made our one night special. Even though we feel that we did everything that we wanted to do in Ullapool, the need to return is heightened by this B&B itself. Breakfast was divine, fresh fruit, followed by a selection of breads, served with home-made jams and honey, then a full fry up with toast and a hot cafetiere of coffee.... All with magnificent views out over the loch. Our stay here taught us a lesson, "there is beauty in everything". Do not miss out on this B&B if you are planning to stay in Ullapool, it really is the best we have visited!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandScarlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

When my friend and I arrived in Ullapool, the farthest north point of our Scottish Easter trip, we did not even know where we should overnight. We were used to looking for B&B and got attracted by their wooden house, so different from the other usual ones, with their white facade. The price was a little bit over the average thought convenient. A nice lady with white hair accompanied by her grandchild opened the door unformally. The price was 30£ a night, breakfast included. We went to look for other alternatives but got back to this unusual B&B eventually. The second time we were welcome by a smiling man in a pinkish kilt. That was fantastic. Meeting someone so attached to his tradition that even wears a kilt at home and not as a matter of folklore. You can choose between a normal British breakfast or can opt for an array of cheese. The latter is what we did and proved to be the best option. At breakfast we enjoyed our meal with the family, their childrne and grandchildren and teh cat Spock. It was the only time we entertained with our hosts and were given personal advice. I dare say this is what I would expect fron a B&B: sharing the house and your views with your hosts.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank sarapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich Bavaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2010

We( three mid 20 on a hiking trip through the western highlands) really do recommend this neat B&B. We enjoyed a very warm welcome, plenty of hot water ( we were even allowed to use the tub), delicious breakfast ( u wont need lunch) and a clean room (it was no problem to get an extra mattress). All this is offered for a very reasonable rate.

Cheers

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rindercappajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We spent 10 days touring the Scottish Highlands, and Tenterden was by far our favourite B&B. A quirky wooden abode set slightly back from the main street opposite the harbour of Ullapool, apprehension soon gave way to that 'warmed cockles' feeling when we were greeted and shown in. Whilst you may describe the decor as unusual, it is full of character; our double room was spacious, clean and inviting, with a rug-covered floor and anitique furnishings. The separate bathroom was what many would call old-fashioned, but anything else would have detracted from the character of the house. Besides, it was fully functionable, spotlessly clean and a delight to look at, with period sanitaryware as well as a shower over the bath. The whole house oozed tasteful, quirky yet classy character. Breakfast was fantastic- fresh fruit, cereals, toast, tea & coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice and a cooked breakfast really set us up for the day. Our hosts were kind and hospitable, and their cute and cuddly cat Spock guarded our door. Rates were incredibly reasonable. It was our most memorable stay and we'd have no hesitation in recommending to others and returning ourselves.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancer410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAgan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2009

I found a house in Ullapool, a very small house it seemed, with a small sign saying B&B..ahh just what I needed. Knocked the door and was welcomed by Simon...a hearty welcome as he showed us to the room...a big surpise as the house was actually ten time as big as it showed from the street. The room was large and incredibly comfortable, beautifully decorated and very clean so was the rest of the house aswell.

The nights sleep was excellent, the house is quiet, as it situated in the back of the garden facing Shore Street, and as an extra plus presenting a wonderful view of the Ullapool harbour and Loch Broom eastwards.

Full Scottish Breakfast was served in the morning well prepared and including Stornoway Blackpudding....knowing that organic is one of the keywords at Tenterden it adds extra value!

Simons house gave me a "homecoming" feeling and I felt like I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Branduir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2009

what a lovely place,one of the most pleasant experieces of our trip to Scotland.Lovely location and such a friendly owner.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.1 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
22.5 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ullapool Youth Hostel
Ullapool Youth Hostel
#2 of 7 in Ullapool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ferry Boat Inn
The Ferry Boat Inn
#41 of 45 in Ullapool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#2 of 4 in Garve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenterden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenterden

Property: Tenterden
Address: 13 Shore Street, Ullapool IV26 2UJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Tenterden Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing