We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same high standard as usual”
Review of Broombank

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Broombank
Ranked #16 of 46 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Same high standard as usual”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

As always when we come to visit Ullapool (almost every year), we stayed at Broombank. It is an excellent B&B, very comfortable and a delicious breakfast!!! Shirley and her husband are very friendly people and they give you a warm welcome. Shirley's grandson Gregor is playing the pipes at the Ullapool & District Junior Pipe Band. In August we visit a performance of the band at
the harbour in Ullapool. As we play the pipes bij ourselves, we can say it was an excellent performance. Well done!! Shirley and her husband can be very proud of their grandson and his band.!!! Ap en Dina, Netherlands

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ApDina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    32
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
187
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
italy
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

B & B lovely warm welcome. rooms clean, comfortable and furnished in every detail.
good location close to the center.
breakfast with lake view and very good.
It is recommended that if you pass here.
Elisa and Alessandro, Italy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at Broombank for two nights and we were most comfortable in top quality accommodation. Shirley is a hard-working friendly host who is very proud of her home. She was full of useful information about the best places to eat and things to do in the area. Our room had loads of space and comfy twin beds and was beautifully decorated and appointed, with a nice garden view. It had a large modern ensuite shower room. There is a TV, kettle and loads of tea, coffee and biscuits in the room. There was plenty of hanging and shelf space. Shirley's breakfast was large and splendid with plenty of choices. Parking is on the street but there was no problem finding a space directly outside the house. The property is just 10 minutes stroll from the centre of Ullapool. A very comfortable stay and a reminder about the great value of a good B&B compared to the average hotel. Well done and thanks Shirley!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikedee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turriff, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Just back from four very pleasant days in Ullapool made all the more so by the top quality accomodation and friendly service we found at Broombank . Shirley made us feel very welcome and relaxed .
A wide selection of Breakfast choices ranging from full fry, fresh fruit ,yoghurt through to porridge were all sampled and thoroughly enjoyed !
The room and facilities were modern and of excellent quality .
Downsides? None apart from the fact that Mrs F now wants to upgrade our shower unit to Broombank standards!
Definitely on our list of stay agains when over on the West coast .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very pleasant B & B in a lovely location. Very comfortable, very clean and very friendly. Our hostess was most welcoming and in the morning provided an excellent breakfast. The location is superb, just a quick hop across the road for wonderful views over the bay and surrounding hills. The only downside was the on-road parking but that was a small price to pay for such a comfortable stop-over.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve and Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our stay in Broombank was very comfortable. We were greeted by Shirley's husband who was very welcoming and helped us with some local information. Later Shirley came to introduce herself and made us feel very welcome. We had a spacious bedroom that was beautifully decorated, very modern and had lovely views. the bed was huge and very comfortable. The ensuite was also decorated to a very high standard. Breakfast was great (also with lovely views) and the fresh fruit salad was a very nice addition. Street parking on this very quiet road was easy. I think that this was a great part of Ullapool to stay in. It is very picturesque and only a short walk from the main shops/restaurant area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The bedroom at the front of the house has great views across the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Broombank B&B is very clean and cosy. Beautiful bed- and bathrooms! Shirley makes you feel welcome and provides you with an excellent English breakfast. If you want to sleep in a quiet environment, this is the place to be. If we ever come back in the neighbourhood of Ullapool, we'll certainly check if Shirley has a room free for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.3 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
250 reviews
17.5 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
188 reviews
22.8 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
309 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broombank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broombank

Property: Broombank
Address: 4 Castle Terrace | Broombank, Ullapool IV26 2XD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Broombank 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Broombank Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing