We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little B&B with sea views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ullapool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 46 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We only managed to get into this B&B due to another couple's cancellation - and are feeling very lucky for it! Really lovely, genuine welcome from Colleen & Richard with tea and scrummy carrot cake, great advice on places to eat and wildlife spotting tips. Gorgeous, immaculate room with sea views from the bed (which has a fab memory foam mattress), free wifi, hairdryer and powershower. Lovely continental breakfast - with a beautiful view from the little breakfast table in the room. Highly, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireSnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
There are newer reviews for West House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 300 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2011

This was just a one night stop over chosen because of the location and the in room continental breakfast.On arrival we were welcomed by Colleen who showed us to our room and offered us a glass of wine or pot of coffee,she was very enthusiastic and friendly without being intrusive and when asked,she recommended a couple of places we might like to have a drink.Our room was spotless and felt homely with a view looking down towards the sea.For supper we had home made banana and walnut loaf which was delicious.The bed was very comfortable and the shower powerful.There was a flat screen tv with all the sky channels and a fridge stocked with home made fruit salad, yoghurts, juice,fresh milk and cheeses.There was a toaster ,bread ,oatcakes and a wide choice of cereals and fruit.We sat at the table in front of the window for breakfast and felt as if we had a feast .Although we were only there overnight ,we feel we have made new friends with Colleen and Richard and will recommend West House to all our friends and family. Jeff and Helen Wood

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j17wud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

On june 07, 2011 we stayed for one night at the west house.
The room was very nice and comfortable with ensuite shower and breakfast.
Colleen and Richard have been very friendly and helpful, Colleen
even baked a very nice cake for us.
We would definitely like to come back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catztravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We arrived quite late after a long drive but were welcomed with warm smiles by the owners, Richard and Colleen. They are truly one of the nicest pair of hosts we've ever met.

The rest of our stay lived up to this excellent start.The room was nicely decorated, the bed very warm and comfortable and the selection of food for breakfast was great. There was a wide selection of breads, oatcakes, cheeses, jams, yogurts, fruit etc and it was a great way to start off the day.

The real highlight though was the little personal touches. Richard provided some excellent advice regarding places to stop off on our travels and some of them turned out to be the highlights of our trip. Similarly, as we were checking out, we mentioned to Colleen how much we had enjoyed her home baking. Unprompted she then disappeared off to the kitchen and returned with a large wrapped-up "wedge" of delicious cake for us to take away with us.

As with nearly all of the previous reviewers I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BalW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here. Classy modern rooms with a lott of privacy. You have your own, very complete, continental breakfast. Although our bathroom was across the hall, all was neat and fresh. The owners were very kind but not too intrusive. They gave us good advice on where to eat. Nice looking garden too. Hilma & Piet.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilma67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We had a 2 night stay at West House B&B during a 4 week holiday in Scotland. Both Richard and Colleen who own and run the establishment were so helpful and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble. Our room was large, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. When you are travelling for a period of time, you really appreciate a good bed, and we were not disappointed. The bed here was amazingly comfortable and we had one of the best nights sleep whilst we were in Scotland. The breakfast at West House is self catered. All your breakfast requirements are to be found in your mini fridge. Fresh fruit salad, youghurt, cereals, cheeses, condiments, bread (and toaster). It was great to be able to get up of a morning and not have to worry about some pre-arranged breakfast time, we could just do our own thing in our own time.
Colleen was nice enough to bake special treats on both the days we were there, so this was an unexpected surprise for our afternoon tea.
West House B&B is in a great position, walking distance to the harbour, shops, cafes and restaurants and if you want a great pub even closer to home, there is one about 50mtrs across the road.

Room Tip: We stayed in the super king room
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jools020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Spent a couple of nights with Richard and Colleen in June and absolutely loved it. Beautiful room and surroundings. Our hosts couldn't be more helpful. Beautiful freshly baked cakes every day. Great advice on what to see and do. You should seriously consider a stay here. :-)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerthemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.1 mi away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 7 in Ullapool
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ullapool
255 reviews
17.8 mi away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Creagan Guest House Ullapool
0.0 mi away
The Arch Inn
The Arch Inn
#7 of 46 in Ullapool
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West House Bed and Breakfast

Address: West Argyle Street, Ullapool IV26 2TY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price Range: $47 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at West House accommodation from proprietors Colleen and Richard Lindsay in the scenic West Highland fishing village of Ullapool. West House is a traditional stone built former Manse, with 3 double en suite rooms with stunning views of Loch Broom and the surrounding mountains, 2 rooms have a uk size double bed and 1 room has a super king bed. Room facilities include free WiFi, TV, hairdryer, fridge, kettle. West House is open May to September, minimum booking is 2 nights. We have reduced our prices and we now provide accommodation on a room only basis. We feel that as we are so close to the Ceilidh Place and the Zest cafe this provides our clients with a greater choice as to what the would like to have for their breakfast. We are also now pet friendly. We also have Crofton House self catering cottage situated in the centre of Ullapool. Please contact us for details. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West House Hotel Ullapool
West House Bed And Breakfast Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing