We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice but small”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 1 The Hawthorns

Everything you need for a comfortable stay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Everything you need for a comfortable stay
The sun is shining - time to go 'TO THE BEACH'!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Everything you need for a comfortable stay
The sun is shining - time to go 'TO THE BEACH'!
Stay warm beside 'Little Red'
2 singles or 1 super-king
Outside dining area
A place to relax and enjoy the evening sun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gullane, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison293...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice but small”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Late booking as home for family funeral.Owner very friendly and kindly left milk and bottle of wine. On the whole just what we needed a quiet place to stay. Annexe of owners house which I must admit wouldn't be my first choice. Lounge area smaller than it looked in the photos. Fine for two but I personally feel 4 adults would be a tight squeeze. Lovely comfy beds, great wifi and coffee machine! Very close to coastal walk to lovely Gullane beach.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 29, 2017
Thanks very much for your review. We're sorry if you feel the photos are in any way misleading - it is challenging to provide photos that show the whole space and it is why we describe it as 'cosy'! We're very glad that on the whole you enjoyed your stay though.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maremareU...
USA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy & Clean accommodations”
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We enjoyed our stay in this cozy little "cottage" It was very clean and modern and when we arrived on a cool day the wood burning fireplace helped warm us up. The bedrooms were a bit small but the beds were very comfortable with nice bedding. Adria was very friendly and helpful. Location was close to Gullane and Muirfield Golf Courses, path to beach, train station, and restaurants. Would definitely return if in the area.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2017
Thank you for your positive review and looking forward to seeing you again if you do decide to return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin L
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Compact residence with easy walk to beach and all amenities with plus of a sun trap small garden”
Reviewed April 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Myself and wife came to Gullane for two weeks for a golfing, eating and relaxing holiday. The apartment was absolutely ideal to fit this purpose, bright airy and with the bonus of a small garden that was an absolute sun trap. We will certainly visit again.
The location is ideal being a short walk past Muirfield and through the dunes to a beautiful beach. There are so many close Golf Courses it is difficult to choose they are all superb.
As for the food from giant burgers at the Grange in North Berwick to fine dining at Greywalls and La Potiniere can't wait to try again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2017
Thanks so much for the glowing review. It was great to meet you and, yes, look forward to seeing you again some time. It's good to know that the flat can comfortably accommodate holiday-makers for as long as two weeks. Very best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camper703...
1 review
“Practically Perfect”
Reviewed March 31, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We absolutely adored our week long stay here during February half-term. Although small in size, the apartment is perfectly formed - consideration has been given to every aspect. It's light, airy and a true 'home from home'.

Plenty of storage in both bedrooms, along with extremely comfortable beds and excellent quality bedding ensured a restful break for three adults and our well behaved miniature schnauzer. The small garden area proved hugely useful for our canine companion to explore and get some fresh air when he wasn't being worn out with walks along the nearby beach.

The kitchen is well stocked with everything needed to prepare meals from scratch and the equipment is good quality and easy to use. Absolutely loved the toaster! The owners offer a laundry service for a nominal fee which we didn't need to use, but would have been happy to.

The lounge/dining area is cozy and well laid out. We loved the log burner stove and used it several times whilst curled up watching Netflix on the TV. The wifi service is good and easily connected.

The bathroom offers a therapeutic shower over a bath with heated towel radiator an added bonus.

All in all, we had a much needed rest and felt very well looked after by the owners who were easily contactable should any issues arise.

We enjoyed our stay so much, we're returning in August with tickets to the Tattoo and hope to return for a third visit for February half-term 2018 (if they'll have us!).

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 4, 2017
Thanks so much for such a positive review. Look forward to seeing you again in August. Very best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super comfortable flatlet by the sea.”
Reviewed March 11, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The Hawthorns is a very pleasant,well equipped and immaculately cared for holiday flatlet on the East Lothian coast.I understand the owner Adria had it purpose built onto the side of their property for holiday letting.It has direct access onto the dunes and down to the beach which was fabulous for walking our golden retriever Ralph.When we were there it was bright and sunny,the buckthorn on the dunes was covered in berries and full of Fieldfares. Gullane itself has a" well to do" feel to it and is surrounded by golf courses.The local pub,The Old Clubhouse,and cafe Falkos,were both dog friendly.North Berwick is an interesting little town and Edinburgh very easy to get to by train.Overall and very comfortable stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 13, 2017
Peter thank you for such a warm and positive review. It was nice to meet you. Adria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2017
What a glowing review, thank you Tom. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lornam154
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas at 1 The Hawthorns - Perfect!”
Reviewed December 30, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This was our second visit to 1 The Hawthorns - we enjoyed our stay so much in March we decided to spend Christmas here - just the two of us.
The accommodation was just as we remembered it - smart, clean and very comfortable with absolutely everything needed for a cosy few days of Christmas indulgence!
We enjoyed our evenings in front of the log burning stove which generated more than sufficient warmth for the whole place and braved Storm Barbara for some energising walks each day.
Gullane as ever is a charming place and we enjoyed experiencing the village atmosphere over the festive period.
Adria continues to be a perfect host with a warm welcome but otherwise leaves you to enjoy your space.
Thank you again - we will most definitely be back in 2017!

Lorna & Mark

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 31, 2016
A lovely review Lorna and Mark, thank you. Good to see you again and hopefully not too long until the next. Adria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing