We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent place to stay, clean modern...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of 1 The Hawthorns

Everything you need for a comfortable stay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Everything you need for a comfortable stay
The sun is shining - time to go 'TO THE BEACH'!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Everything you need for a comfortable stay
The sun is shining - time to go 'TO THE BEACH'!
Stay warm beside 'Little Red'
2 singles or 1 super-king
Outside dining area
A place to relax and enjoy the evening sun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Gullane, East Lothian, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
359Pat
Sutton-in-Craven, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay, clean modern accomodation with walks to the beach easy from the property.”
Reviewed November 1, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Stayed here for a long weekend with our Labrador. The accomodation was clean,modern with all facilities you would expect of a rental property. The proximity of a wonderful beach and longer walks in the area made this a wonderful place to stay for walkers and their 4 legged friends. The weather was brilliant for our stay so the books and games in the property were not required.
The only downside was our£100 deposit does not get returned until 10 days after the stay which I personally think is too long. Why so long?

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
Hi Pat, thanks so much for your positive review and we're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed about the length of time it took to return your damage deposit. If I could do anything about this I would but it's something that's handled by Holiday Lettings and I'm afraid I'm unable to change the way they do it. Hope to see you again. Very best. Adria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesley T
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One not to be missed!”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A perfect little bolthole. Small, although doesn't feel small, light and bright, and extremely well equipped. Perfectly functional. Geoff & Adria are the perfect hosts and eagre to please. The little garden at the back is a great wee suntrap in which to enjoy breakfast or a spot of lunch. Loved the log burner, very cosy. Lovely walk 5 mins to the beautiful Gullane beach. Villagers very friendly, went to the yearly apple festival where the villagers bring the apples from their trees and using the apple press they have purchased, turn this into apple juice which for a donation can be enjoyed along with lovely apple home baking, mmm. Falko Konditormeister not to be missed for freshly baked German bread and cakes. On the whole we and my 14 year old son plus yorkie had a lovely few days there. Thanks Adria you made us feel most welcome.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The light and comfort of the propertu
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcie194...
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“small but perfectly formed”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just back from a wonderful few days in East Lothian which was made extra special by the very comfortable and spotless 1 the Hawthorns. Adria and Geoff made us and our boxer dog very welcome. The flat is small but the bedrooms and bath room are not cramped and the flat is well equipped with breakfast on the patio a pleasure. Walks to the beach provided good exercise depending on path chosen! All was,of course, helped by the fabulous Indian summer.

Date of stay: September 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendrik J
1 review
“Perfect and comfortable for our needs”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We found the lodge, clean and tidy, well equipped with everything we need. The location in Gullane is perfect for golfers, like us, and a train trip to Edinburgh from Drem takes only 20 mins. We were very pleased with the choice we made and the lovely week we had in East Lothian.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and the beds
Liked least: The small dining table
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen D
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“modern comfy flat”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We really enjoyed our stay at the Hawthorns. Very clean and comfy. Very handy for walking down to Gullane beach from door. Plenty to see and do. Ideal for our spaniel. Thanks

Date of stay: September 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myraef
Leighton Buzzard
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay in a beautiful location”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I came to The Hawthorns for a 4 night stay with my daughter as she is soon to start at The University of Edinburgh and we wanted to get to know the area. We initially thought of staying in Edinburgh but we were so glad that we decided to stay in Gullane as we had the best of both worlds. Edinburgh was within easy reach by train but we were also able to spend some time away from the hustle and bustle of the city in this peaceful location. The property was immaculate with a beautiful garden and Adria and Geoff were very welcoming. It was very well equipped with all kinds of interesting books, DVDs and useful leaflets. We thoroughly enjoyed following the Gullane village walk and loved the walk to the amazing beach. We were also lucky enough to have had some lovely weather and we saw some beautiful sunsets. I would definitely recommend a stay in this property and I hope to return in 2016.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location, immaculate property and friendly welcome.
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
graemec79
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing, welcoming, modern, bright & functional rental property in a great spot”
Reviewed August 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My wife and two grown-up children stayed here for a week in August 2015 and it was outstanding. Adria was really welcoming and after that left us to ourselves. Whilst the place is tight, it works brilliantly. Every mod-con is catered for and it is completely functional and mostly brand new. The location of The Hawthorns is brilliant with an easy walk to Gullane's great beach and easy access to the town. The local convenience store (Co-op) has long opening times and stocks pretty much everything you would need for a week. Overall we were delighted with the stay and the value it represented. We'll be back later this year.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything was new and easy to use - space was at a premium but it is entirely functional.
Liked least: Couldn't find a toaster!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2015
Thank you so much for such a positive review which is really helpful. We of course agree that the space is tight for 4 grown adults and have adjusted the listing to describe it as 'cosy'. As you say, the space is carefully planned and we hope that the fact that it is clean, light, new and well located helps to balance things out. My apologies for the lack of a toaster - I will buy one this weekend! Adria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing