We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with great staff”
Review of The Golf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Golf Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Gullane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with great staff”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here recently. The hotel is being refurbished and our room was fine. The view from the bedroom was not great but the room was quiet being at the back of the hotel. Barbara who greeted us at reception & I presumed to be the manager looked after us from arrival to departure. She was very helpful.
We ate our meal in the bar which had an open fire & a good atmosphere. The bar menu had plenty of choice & the food was average.Tom who served us in the bar was great. He had only been there a week & couldn't have been more helpful.
Breakfast was very good with lots of choice. North Berwick is a nice sea side town close by & handy for a bit of shopping, a walk along the beach then a nice lunch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miklos B, General Manager at The Golf Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Hi Sylvia, many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us -the team work hard and really appreciate your comments.
We are reaching the end of phase one of our upgrades and training the team but we have great ambitions to continue to improve everything we do.
Hope to see you again
Regards
Miklos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    44
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
36
62
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Galashiels, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Lovely sea side location, really nice staff and the manager couldn't have been more helpful! We will be back for a lunch/dinner with the kids in the summer. If you get out and about whitest staying here the owner have several restaurants in the area! The Goblin in Gifford, lovely food and a nice place to be, Nachos Fiesta in Galashiels and Edinburgh again great selection of food and drink, if you go on the offer days the value is unbeatable!! Top quality food at weather spoon prices

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had lunch here today with my husband.We live near by and pop in regularly for dinner or lunch with or without the kids.The last time we visited I was very put off by the waitress who was hovering about almost willing us to hurry up and couldn't get our plates away quick enough once we had finished eating even though the place was empty and we also didn't find the staff overly child friendly either.So with that in mind we have not been there for a wee while until today.Had heard it was under new management so though we would give it a go.Menu was great plenty of choice and our table clean,nice atmosphere etc.The waiter Aiden couldn't of been nicer and went out his way to help.The girl on the bar was also very friendly and greeted us kindly when we arrived.This time we did not feel rushed and very much enjoyed the food which was cooked well and very tasty.We will be back soon with the kids so hopefully will be equally impressed again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsT2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miklos B, General Manager at The Golf Inn, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments. We are not quite there in terms of the standards that we expect but the team are working hard and we have high hopes for the near future.
Regards
Miklos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
176 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Golf Inn is a nice, convenient hotel with "convenience" as the key element for staying there....The restaurant was quite nice; especially the Dining area while the bar area (separate) was more locals friendly with more bar food options. I enjoyed the bar area more, just to mingle and enjoy the people. The key to this place is the staff, that goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and will do everything possible to make your visit more pleasurable and convenient. They even had a place to store our golf clubs downstairs and our gear which made the room much less crowded. The furnishings are a bit space in the rooms, but functional as is the chairs in the dining areas. Easy walk to the golf course, the local market (for fresh baked breads) and the interesting old cemetary with some old headstones as well as a nice church close by. Nice shopping as well on the main street..Parking can be an issue...

Room Tip: Important to understand the hotel layout as the rooms are spread around on the upper floor. While r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We dropped in for a late lunch around 2pm on Sunday 30 December and were very warmly welcomed to a spotless table but sadly worn low seats. Service was excellent and the room warm. A visit to the clean toilet prompted an apology to the couple sitting near the door as the undamped door closer caused a loud bang.
I chose fish & chips - the fish was truly excellent and value reasonable at £9.95 - the [catering style] chips disappointed. My wife chose a chicken & avocado sandwich & chips at £7, the sandwich was tasty & fresh but poorly filled.
Her glass of pleasant dry Sicilian white was very reasonably priced at £3.60 but the addition of £1.30 for what appeared to be a skoosh of tonic to the brim of a 250ml glass at £1.30 was a but of a liberty - a 'split' would have been more appropriate and the drink served in a tall glass.
Adding this to earlier reviews & noting ownership change and expected renovations, we are sure the owners will build on the strong plusses of visitors' comments and pick up on the wee niggles.
We definitely intend to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muffindog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miklos B, General Manager at The Golf Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello. Many thanks for taking the time to write. I have noted your positive and negative comments and can report back that many (if not all) of the negative bits have been attended to.
Our restaurant is currently closed for refurbishment (due to re-open on February 20th 2013 with new furniture etc.
Just to mention the tonic, unfortunately we don't stock "skoosh" draught tonic, only individual portion bottles to ensure freshness and quality - hence perhaps a bit pricey if used only to top up wine.
Regards
Miklos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel accomodation is average but the hotel has recently changed hands and i heard from the staffs that the rooms will be renovated next year so i hope when i will be back next year i will enjoy here to sleep. The restaurant and the bar give you great experience and the staffs just fabulous. The menu has been changed and now much more 21st century than before i had to choose between to menu in the restaurant and the bar.
I had very good experience here,recommended to visit.....

Room Tip: Stayed in room 1, bath and shower average comfort bed,nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miklos B, General Manager at The Golf Inn, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Many thanks for your comments. I am pleased that your enjoyed our bar & restaurant and our new look menu.
As you have mentioned, we are under new ownership and some improvements are relatively easy and quick - others such as improving the accommodation and decor can take a bit longer and we have plans to make these improvements on a gradual basis over the next year.
As far as our bedrooms are concerned, I believe that they are all clean & warm, beds are comfortable and all rooms are a reasonable size. Bathrooms are also clean and functional but need a bit of work to bring them into the modern age!
Rest assured, we are working hard to improve all standards and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Regards
Miklos & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gullane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We are Gullane residents, and had been looking forward to trying out the Golf Inn since its recent change of ownership, so we went for lunch. We were well received, and the dining room was spotlessly clean, while the service was very good. The fish and chips were excellent, and the spaghetti carbonara was very tasty. The prices are reasonable. But we feel the owners have missed a huge opportunity to provide something different. The menu is huge - the usual pub fare. But what Gullane lacks is something between the usual pub fare (which is well done with greater atmosphere at The Old Clubhouse), and La Potiniere, which is a top class restaurant in the village. The menu is certainly good for families during the day, but for dinner is distinctly lack class and variety- which is a shame, because this is what the village needs. We hope it will be successful, but we also hope the owners may decide to provide a different more restricted dinner menu priced in the middle range. As we live in the village, we have not tried the rooms, but it is a popular destination for golfers.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room facing Goose Green
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericmyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miklos B, General Manager at The Golf Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to let us know your thoughts....I believe that you discussed this with Barbara our Assistant Manager before you left.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food and thought our service was good.
As far as our style and market position s concerned, unfortunately we believe that the marwt for an upmarket restaurant in Gullane is relatively small and is well served by La Potiniere and Greywalls.
It is our belief that in general most people are looking for well cooked, freshly prepared food offering good value alongside efficient and friendly service.
The Old Clubhouse has been offering something similar and has been successful fir many years and we believe that our offer complements the other businesses in the area.
We have plans to make some minor cosmetic alterations over the coming months that will also enhance the overall atmosphere.
Thanks again for your comments.....we hope to see you back again in the future
Regards
Miklos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gullane
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
2.3 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
307 reviews
12.6 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
288 reviews
11.9 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golf Inn

Property: The Golf Inn
Address: Main Street, Gullane EH31 2AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gullane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned small hotel close to beach and excellent golf courses. Family & group friendly with comfortable en-suite bedrooms, garden and a bar & restaurant. Bedrooms and public areas have had an upgrade in early 2013.We serve great freshly prepared food with a relatively wide selection that offers something for most tastes. Our team are great and will do everything possible to ensure that you have a receive a warm welcome and that your stay with us is comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Golf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golf Inn Gullane, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing