We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average accommodation”
Review of The Golf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Golf Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Gullane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Expensive for what it is would look around, much better accomodation in Gullane at better prices
Golf is great as always and Northberwick is worth a look at night, but look for a better value hotel.
I thought the bar was the best part of the hotel, but then myself and friends were on a golf holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miklos B, General Manager at The Golf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Many thanks for your frank comments. I agree that there are some areas that are a bit tired, however, as we have new owners and new management (from mid November) you will be pleasantly surprised by some of he improvements that we are making.
We have a plan to upgrade all areas and although we cannot wave a magic wand to make everything perfect be tomorrow, we are confident that guests will see immediate improvements.
Best Regards
Miklos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 160 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Inn used to be a cracking place to go and treat yourself. Lovely atmosphere, great food (you paid the price for it however) and service was generally very good.

After a few bad experiences with the service and being served average, over priced food - we/friends /family have pulled the plug on The Inn unfortunately.

Shame, as it was a fantastic place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lindybomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Despite it's convenience and reasonable prices, I was embarrassed to be Scottish due to the ignorant, arrogant, and rude and behaviour of John the Bar Manager at the Golf Inn in Gullane. My husband and I both walked out as did 2 French gentlemen when he changed the the channel mid rugby game without comment so that someone who had just come in could watch football. When I asked why he said the latecomer was a local!
ASHAMED!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank shabbytoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I read a review from August '11 all but damning the hotel, so went with some trepidation on a golf week with nine golf society friends who had used the venue before. They had no concerns and how right they were. Rooms are clean, comfortable and of a standard for the hotel rating. We had the hazel cottages at the rear and they are ideal for a group. The owners and staff are genuine and friendly and couldn't do more for us. The food is superb with quality local produce and a standard which would command top prices in a big city. The Cullen Skink was the best I had ever tasted, hence we requested it three times during the week Golf heaven is on the doorstep. An opinion is like a head...we all have one but the review I read was so far from the mark. If you want a very reasonably priced venue and do not expect the Dorchester suites for the low price then this hotel is ideal for golfers, couples and Americans- several were at the hotel and no one was rude to them either!!!

Room Tip: groups request the Hazel Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulR527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I cannot recommend this place! Very unfriendly and unhelpful. Clearly not investing their profits in their rooms which are shabby and tired. Carpets in the bathrooms... yuck..... horrid towels...... yuck. Shower - rubbish.
Good food at least but you will need a few drinks to be able to sleep with noise from downstairs and the road.
If you can, pop into North Berwick to find accommodation. Much nicer options there and worth the extra few minutes journey in the morning.
Oh almost forgot - no room service - no internet in all the rooms and mobile phone signal in the area is rubbish too. A last resort!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Divots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

My group of 4 was over celebrating 40th birthdays. WE stayed at the Golf Inn as the first leg of our trip.
Pros:
Good food!
Good pub!
Golf Channel in the rooms!

Cons:
-There was some sort of suite above our room that was EXTREMELY loud until 3 am. No staff on site to complain to after roughly 10 pm - no sleep.
-Shower curtain was stinky and musty!
-Was told by a member of staff at the restaurant that Americans were just a step above the Chinese when it comes to the environment and we were basically horrible people.
-Also told that most American sport was crap and we had no idea as to what true sport was
-They told us that we could not bring our golf clubs to our rooms and the storage space for the clubs was some cleaning room that required us to store and retrieve the clubs each time.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcufred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2006

An ideal hotel for our golf group (8).
Extremely accommodating and friendly staff. Great food, especially breakfast.
Handy residents' lounge.
Parking at rear avoids main road.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G'waan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gullane
2.4 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
3.8 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,384 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Lodge at Craigielaw
The Lodge at Craigielaw
#1 of 2 in Aberlady
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maple Cottage
Maple Cottage
#2 of 5 in Gullane
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golf Inn

Address: Main Street, Gullane EH31 2AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gullane
Price Range: $186 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned small hotel close to beach and excellent golf courses. Family & group friendly with comfortable en-suite bedrooms, garden and a bar & restaurant. Bedrooms and public areas have had an upgrade in early 2013.We serve great freshly prepared food with a relatively wide selection that offers something for most tastes. Our team are great and will do everything possible to ensure that you have a receive a warm welcome and that your stay with us is comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Golf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golf Inn Gullane, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing