We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mallard Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gullane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mallard Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I stay at the hotel every February for a Riding for the Disabled Dinner. Our stays are always warm, welcoming and comfortable. The food is excellent and the staff so helpful. Lovely to wake up to a view over the links.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lindyloo45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments about the hotel. We are glad that you found the staff friendly and the food good. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends to the Mallard again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    21
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I enjoyed a special family meal at this lovely hotel (I wasn't staying overnight so can't comment on the hotel facilities, just the restaurant) in January 2014. We were a fairly large party and I felt we were well catered for in terms of menu choice (including for gluten/ dairy free options as requested), the friendly & efficient service, lovely presentation of the food and a delicious meal. Overall, it was an excellent choice for a mixed age group party, especially for those who enjoy traditional British meals excellently done.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleRedLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments about your family birthday function. We are very glad that the menu, including the gluten-free items, were to your liking. As a family hotel we are happy to make these sorts of occasions special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a night and found it to be a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel has a nice lobby leading through to a bar at one side and a dinning room at the other. Our room was on the first floor and had stunning views out over the golf course and to the hills beyond. The room was a very good size with a comfortable bed, good storage, a hairdryer, desk and tv.The rooms have a slightly vintage feel but this was not an unwelcomed factor (for us) as it is a change from the uniformity of chain hotels. Our bathroom was very nice which had a big bath and shower. The room was warm and bright and very clean. Fluffy towels were left with complimentary soap and shampoo. We ate our evening meal at the hotel and it was delicious. We were lucky enough to be given a seat right by the real coal fire; wonderfully toasty. Food was fab. I recommend the haggis parcels! Prices on the menu were fair and the rosé wine was lovely. We slept very well and in the morning enjoyed a tasty fry up and pancakes. This hotel is ideally situated for those wanting to play golf nearby or stop off on the way along the coast. If you don't stay over, pop in for a glass of wine and a meal!

Room Tip: We had room number 1 which over looked the golf course- a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We are delighted with the recent review you posted on Tripadvisor.

We hope that visitors to the Mallard will appreciate the hotel's character and charm. As you mentioned in your review the Mallard is an antidote to slick modern hotels.

Our quiet location overlooking Gullane's famous golf courses, rolling into the distance, is much appreciated by visitors.

We are glad too that you enjoyed the food served in the bar beside the roaring log fire and the breakfast with homemade bread and pancakes to start the day.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. We look forward to welcoming. you to the Mallard on your next visit to Gullane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greifswald, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

After their recent trip to Southeast Asia, the owners of the Mallard Hotel advertised a "New years lunch" with an asian specialty.
Therefore, we took the chance to have an extraordinary buffet at the golf hotel in Gulane. The place was full, so you might want to reserve in advance if you like to get a table for the special dinners.
The food was, just like during the last stay, very good and the staff was just as professional as it is supposed to be. The Southeast Asian speciality was extraordinary, something you wont get in any other places around the area.

We will be back asap, thank you Mallard!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review of the Mallard Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your New Years Day lunch and your comments about our speciality dishes are very encouraging.

We do try to keep menus fresh and experiment with ideas we pick up out and about. South East Asia is an amazing source of inspiration for even the most jaded palate.

We hope during you next visit we can deliver equally good food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had our wedding reception at the Mallard Hotel on the 25th of October this year. It truly was perfect.
The Staff were very helpful in the run up to the big day and helped a lot with all our plans. They were very flexable with our requests and the menu and drink ideas we had. They were also very helpful when it came to decorations and setting things up the way we wanted. The flowers provided were beautiful.
The food was fantastic, our guests loved the all choices and are still mentioning how good the foor was now. We had a Ceilidh in the evening and it was great fun. We had a supper of Stovies and Macaroni Cheese and both were delicious.
Some of our Family also stayed over night and mentioned that the accommodation was great.
We are so happy we chose to have our reception here and delighted with the way our day went. We would highly recommend the Mallard to anyone geting married or for any other event. They day couldn't have gone any smoother, it was amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusieLW1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

We are delighted that we were able to help make your special day special!

We feel that each couple is individual and so we take the time to get to know them and how they would like their day to be organised. Gone are the days when weddings were run to a rigid pattern so we try our best to work with the bride and groom to make a day as individual as they are.

All the staff at the Mallard get great satisfaction from being part of a happy day. Thank you for choosing us.

We wish you a long and happy married life together and hope to see you for a complimentary meal on your first anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

What a lovely little get away we had food was lovely, staff were very friendly and accommodating always asking how our day was or do we have any plans etc, very clean throughout rooms just the right size and cosy and warm, can't wait to come back thank you for a lovely stay sorry we never got to say goodbye.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mallard.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Such positive feedback means a lot to our team - comments on the staff in particular are very welcome and great motivation for us all!

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Provided everything needed at a budget price relevant to standards required . Don't expect the Ritz experience, but if you want cleanliness , very comfy bed and value for money then cant go wrong..... I would always prefer a family run environment to a corporate box and this provided what was required.

It is a bit tired .... but as far as providing a clean safe comfy stay it is perfectly fit for purpose

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_D186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusanLaw, Owner at Mallard Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Mallard.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the family-run atmosphere came through.

We do hope in the months to come to carry out some refurbishment, refreshing the decor in certain areas, whilst retaining the character of the building.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. Thanks again for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gullane
0.7 mi away
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
12.0 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
4.7 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mallard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mallard Hotel

Property: Mallard Hotel
Address: East Links Road, Gullane EH31 2AF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only pitch and a putt from the first tee, the Mallard offers a warm relaxing atmosphere to golfer and non-golfer alike! Whether you want to stay in our comfortable rooms, hold a party or wedding reception or just pop in for a meal you can be sure of a warm welcome from Cameron, Susan Law or a member of their friendly staff. Of course our main clientele come to enjoy the huge choice of golf courses in the area but there is so much more to Gullane, East Lothian and of course Edinburgh is a short train ride away. In such great walking countryside The Mallard welcomes dogs free of charge except in the rooms where food is served. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mallard Hotel Gullane, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing