We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best afternoon tea in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Visited again and as an aficionado of afternoon tea I can confirm this is the best in Edinburgh. This occasion was my birthday and my mothers had been earlier in the week. Savouries were great - smoked salmon and avocado on wasabi bread; roast ham and celariac and egg on curry bread. Cakes were to die for as usual ( the raspberry delice a favourite) and the most delicious scones. Our lovely waiter also brought a little happy birthday cake which was lovely and shows the attention to detail Greywalls is known for. The gardens are a bonus as stands on its food offering alone . Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Afternoon Teas are a real treat and Chef is very happy that enjoyed his offering. Glad we could help you enjoy your special day with your Mum.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 536 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed two nights in one of the cottages attached to the main house. Apparently our garden cottage was, at one time, the private 'loo' for King Edward VII. Completely refurbished since those days of course! The bedroom was simply furnished in calm relaxing style, and the bathroom was huge with bath and walk in shower. Our outlook was of course the garden, which is absolutely beautiful. The dining room, where breakfast and dinner was served, overlooks Muirfield golf course, and we noted that many golfers had chosen to stay at Greywalls. It was also apparent that the other guests included several different nationalities.
The food, as expected, was to a high standard and the service was attentive and unobtrusive. As we were staying in one of the cottages, we were able to have our two little dogs with us. This was a delightful place to stay and only about 5 miles from North Berwick.

Room Tip: Dog lovers can bring their dogs with them to the cottages. Dogs not allowed in main hotel. Our cot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Delighted to see your enjoyed your stay in the Kings Loo. One of our most popular rooms with great views of the garden. Should you like golf, Ernie Els stayed in here when he won the Open in 2002 and Padraig Harrington stayed last year during the Open.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed two nights at Greywall in June, 2014. Rooms ok, breakfast excellent, service good,
Wi-fi very poor, like a third world country in that respect. We played Muirfield and this hotel is situated right next to Muirfield.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCrisci264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Guest

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Wi-Fi signal is something we have upgraded in last two weeks. We have put in additional cabling and two new routers, hopefully you will notice the difference on your next visit.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

As it is under the same management as Inverlochy Castle, we were expecting more.
On booking, we were given inaccurate information re disabled parking, apparently it's central booking - well, they should be better informed.
On arrival, Callum was great and looked after us very well whenever he was around. Also on the plus side, food was good, room fine with much appreciated view of the golf course and we enjoyed walking in the garden.
On the down side, we were not impressed with marquee in the walled garden which dominated the view from the corridor to our room. Presumably, there had been a wedding on the Saturday and it could not be dismantled until Monday morning. Understandable, but why leave it looking such a mess, debris in clear view, and I feel the room rate should have been adjusted to take account of the monstrosity.
Sunday evening we sat in a lounge area for 15 minutes without anyone coming anywhere near us. When my husband went to ask if we could order some food from the bar menu, he was snapped at and told they were very busy and we would have to wait. 5 minutes later, still nothing, so we just retreated to our room and had room service - not what we wanted really.
Another quibble: the hairdrier is attached to the wall in such a way that you have to stand over the toilet to use it - ugh!
All in all, a huge disappointment and we will stick to Inverlochy where we are always treated brilliantly well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank halcyon_times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review and I apologise that your experience fell short on this occasion. As you say we did have a wedding the day prior to your visit but the marquee should have been in a clean a tidy state. While the Marquee is in secluded walled garden and does not obstruct views from your room I can appreciate this did not set a good impression. Your wait in the evening was unacceptable and I am sorry that this happened. We have a small dedicated team at Greywalls and I am sorry that the person came across in a discourteous manner, this was not his intention. I will look at the positioning of the hair dryers and thank you for this feedback. Your custom and comments are appreciated and should you wish to book again please contact me direct at gm@greywalls.co.uk.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

It's like going to a rather posh friend's house - for lunch in our case on Saturday. Warm, comfortable, friendly, outstanding food served in beautiful surroundings - and the rain cleared afterwards to allow a walk through the stunning gardens.
They even deduced we were celebrating my daughter's birthday and an appropriately decorated plate of petit fours appeared at the end of lunch with the coffees.
A minor slip up in the kitchen led to one of the party asking, not complaining in the slightest, about an item on his plate. The chef came out in person to explain and apologise. Afterwards we discovered a charge had been taken off the bill.....such was our enjoyment we insisted it went back on - that is the measure of a satisfied customer.
This was our third or fourth visit in recent months - each time the same high standards were on display. A great place showing off the best of this lovely part of Scotland.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Boatman100754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Guest

I am so glad that you enjoy Greywalls on such a regular basis. Your custom is appreciated and thank you for supporting us. No doubt we will see you again soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Friends told me that I must eat at Greywalls so I eventually booked for lunch last month.
Their aim of a country house ambiance is achieved with ease and the staff are very attentive. We had an acceptable house champagne whilst we perused the menu.
I had chicken liver parfait followed by lamb I think, that is the key of my view the food is not memorable at all. That is not to say it's poor it's not. It tastes like cooking on auto pilot albeit at a reasonable level. The wine by the glass is of good quality if a little pricey.
Coffee in the sitting room afterwards was very pleasant.
I went with high expectations to Greywalls but for me there was little if anything to distinguish it for many others of its type.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank united33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Guest

I am sorry that you experience of Greywalls fell short of your expectations. We are all conscious of the standards we need to achieve on a daily basis and do work hard to achieve this. I believe you ate off the daily menu which is good honest French country cooking, nothing too flashy but well priced and we hope delicious. The a la carte perhaps showcases the Chefs talents more and offers more luxurious and unusual ingredients. I do hope you return to Greywalls, perhaps in the summer months for al fresco dining and enjoy the gardens.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Greywalls hosted our daughters wedding a few weeks ago and we cannot praise them enough. From the first day of planning the attention to detail was first class. The wedding day itself was a fine dining experience with service to match, the staff were amazing, the food fantastic. All the wedding guests have commented on how much they enjoyed their day. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JarrarPeeblesshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Dear Guest

I am delighted we could assist in making your Daughters day so special. We all work hard and understand how important a day this is for people. I will ensure your kind comments are passed on to all involved. See you soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gullane
3.3 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,438 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
331 reviews
6.4 mi away
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Maitlandfield House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Haddington
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,548 reviews
11.7 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
2.8 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux

Address: Muirfield, Gullane, Gullane EH31 2EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Price Range: $113 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greywalls Hotel is uniquely situated on the edge of Muirfield championship golf course with stunning views over East Lothian and the Firth of Forth. Overlooking the world famous greens of the 9th & 18th holes, it has earned itself a reputation as ‘a golfers’ paradise’! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greywalls Hotel And Chez Roux
Greywalls Hotel Muirfield
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux Gullane, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing