We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Certificate of Excellence
Gorebridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just spent the weekend at Greywalls celebrating our friends wedding, what an amazing venue, the food was out of this world, the staff attentive, friendly and polite and extremely helpful. The whole setting is fab, beautiful gardens, and lots of rooms to relax in with log burning fires. The bedroom was large, king size bed extremely comfortable and Molton Brown toiletries, robe and slippers provided too. The breakfast was fabulous and kept us going the whole day! I certainly hope to be back and can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneMorris2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. So glad you enjoyed the wedding. The Bride and Groom are a delightful couple and it was a real pleasure to look after them and their friends.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    87
    25
    17
    5
See reviews for
88
259
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This has to be the best value meal we have ever had. Where else could you get an Albert Roux tasting plate made up of dishes, for £16. Surroundings, service, food, presentation absolutely stunning. Tasting plate had French onion soup, pate, beef and cheese and biscuits.
3 mini cheeseburgers and chips £10.95 & fish, chips and mushy peas £11.75.
Dessert £8 was heavenly. Shortbread with poached pear and salted caramel ice cream-lush!
A must visit place for golf fans-overlooking Muirfield Golf Course.
Going back again for 3 course lunch £28.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancashirelass008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest

I would have to agree that the Roux Xpress does offer exceptional value for money and is well received by all our diners that choose it. I am happy to read you feel the same way and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Booked a last minute get away for my wife and I.
Come across the Greywalls hotel on trip advisor and booked through Booking .com
A lot said about the hotel and had no bad reviews. So booked it.
Arrived around mid day and as soon as you enter the drive you know this is a special place.
As you enter the main building there is a very homely feeling about the place. No big fancy reception area. Just some professional staff to meet and greet you.
I had booked into one of the cottage rooms which are placed at the front of the main drive a bit like a coach house either side of the main gates
No7. We were shown to our room bd on entry we were not disappointed.
This was a large bedroom with king bed small sofa and fireplace. Very cosy.
There is an on suite which consists of large double shower , bath and sink with large mirror .
You get complimentary Molton Brown
Bath, shower ,conditioner and body lotion.
The bed and pillows are so comfy we had a great nights sleep.
When I booked, I had arranged to take our small dog. When we arrived at the room. There was a dog mat with bowl of water ready for him.
Nice wee touch.
We booked in at night for dinner around 20:00 but we're asked to come in a bit earlier for pre dinner drinks in the drawing room which we did really nice sitting next to the large fireplace.
We went for dinner and had the daily menu. We could have had a la carte but opted for this daily menu as this was ample for us.
The meal was set at £29 per person and was good value for the money
Overall this was a good experience and will definitely be going back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bobw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest

So glad you found us and that you weren't disappointed. Guests with Dogs are welcome in our cottage rooms and we like to make our canine guests welcome with their own bowls on arrival. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Everything about Greywalls is perfect. We had a long leisurely lunch with friends at a table overlooking Muirfield and enjoyed delicious food and excellent service. Coffee in the library was unhurried and again served in delightful surroundings.

A stay at Greywalls is now top of my bucket list.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotfrannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Glad you enjoyed your recent lunch with us and the views and comfortable surroundings. It is now the time of year when we have all the fires lit and the lounges are all the more cosier. Hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel met all my expectations, a nice quiet friendly hotel, treated like royalty, breakfast was 1st class, only sorry that I had not booked dinner or had more time to stay. Good location especially if you are a golfer. I hope to go back in the near future.

Room Tip: Visit North Berwick
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and delighted to see we met your expectations. We all work hard to ensure our guests are looked after and it is always rewarding to receive such comments.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon, United States
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was an outstanding hotel for our golf trip that included rounds at North Berwick and Muirfield. The rooms were great for two guys/room and the bar and restaurant were exceptional. We'd highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest

So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return again soon.

Kind regards

Duncan Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Cannot overstate how wonderful this property is; from the attentive staff to the historic nature of the hotel - do not miss this opportunity. Pricey, but worth it. The fact that it is next to Muirfield cannot be missed wither.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much. Our historical connection with Muirfield is evident everywhere and I am glad you appreciated this aspect. Your custom is appreciated and thank you for taking the time to review us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gullane
3.3 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,279 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
313 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
206 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
24 reviews
11.7 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunbar
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux

Property: Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Address: Muirfield, Gullane, Gullane EH31 2EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greywalls Hotel is uniquely situated on the edge of Muirfield championship golf course with stunning views over East Lothian and the Firth of Forth. Overlooking the world famous greens of the 9th & 18th holes, it has earned itself a reputation as ‘a golfers’ paradise’! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greywalls Hotel And Chez Roux
Greywalls Hotel Muirfield
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux Gullane, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing