We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Son's Graduation meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Son's Graduation meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We booked Greywalls Hotel to celebrate my son's graduation. There were eleven family members and we had the pleasure of having our meal in the Whisky Room, which was a private room within the hotel. This in turn led to a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The waiting staff were particularly attentive without being intrusive. The food was delicious and of extremely high quality. Nothing was too much trouble and we were also offered ample opportunity to explore the grounds and also Muirfield golf course, which the men in our party were delighted to have their photos taken before the Open begins. I would just like to thank the staff at Greywalls for helping to make my son's graduation day memorable for all who attended and we will definitely be returning, hopefully in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rgr147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review and I glad we could help in making such a special day memorable. We hope to see you all again soon.


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    84
    21
    16
    5
See reviews for
79
251
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were very lucky to be invited to dinner at Greywalls! It was a fabulous experience! The dinner menu was different but delicious! And the prices weren't outrageous either! The service was excellent without being in your face! The atmosphere was perfect!
To cap our trip we decided to book in overnight! The rooms are lovely! A few reviews I read said the rooms were a bit tired. I disagree! The rooms were homely. While in the hotel you didn't feel you were in a hotel. It felt more like being in a home! Infact there isn't even a reception as such!
Breakfast was excellent too! All in all this is an experience you should try! The hotel is booked out for the Open Golf 2013, with many top competitors staying there! I'd just love to know who is in our room! Enjoy!!!

Room Tip: Number 5 or 6 are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review following you recent stay. Indeed it is only 5 days now till the Open starts and hopefully we have the winner staying with us again. We have a good record of winners staying here so you never know? I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing to stay at Greywalls.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We had my sons naming day - together with family and friends at Greywalls today and outstanding doesnt cover it! From the event planning (from Hayley) to the 'day' the service was first class!

We held the ceremony in the garden room which is stunning, and enjoyed prosecco afterwards whilst taking in the gardens (also where we had photos). We had canapés too and these were just delicious!

Next was lunch in a private room and once again the food (and wine) was SUBLIME! We all had the lunch menu (excellent value at £26.50/head) with coffee and exquisite petit fours afterwards.

To round the day off we all played croquet on the lawn in the sun which was a lovely end to the day.

I have enjoyed many a meal/afternoon tea @Greywalls and have never been disappointed. This was a special day as we marked our sons naming in a humanist ceremony and the staff @Greywalls made it even more special with the first class service.

Now I need to find another excuse to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotbokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest

I am delighted that your special day was a success and that the weather was good enough to enjoy the garden, which I agree are fabulous. I have passed on your kind comments to Hayley and the rest of the team that looked after you. We look forward to your next excuse to come and visit us. See you soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Greywalls is a lovely hotel in a country home where you can relax in comfort. We were welcomed at the door by the manager and given a short tour of the house. Our room was comfortable with a very comfy bed. It had French doors out onto a terrace and we could sit there and enjoy the view over Muirfield Golf Club. The gardens at the back of the house were beautiful. There was a tennis court and also a crocquet lawn. We had the most delicious dinner in Chez Roux, the hotel's restaurant. We didn't know food could taste so good. Coffee was served in the library where we were entertained by a pianist playing the grand piano. Breakfast was also extremely delicious. The staff were very friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. Everyone was made to feel like a special guest. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. We will definitely return. isadave, Glasgow 28th June 2013

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your review with us and I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at Greywalls Hotel. Your custom and comments are appreciated and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Where do you go for your 40th wedding anniversary its got to be here. As usual the whole experience of dinning out at Greywalls is first class from being met at the door to the exemplary service from all the staff. A lovely evening with superb food and wine. Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilliprWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your continued custom and support of Greywalls. Your comments are much appreciated and now doubt we will see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

While staying in North Berwick Scotland, we happened upon Greywalls after checking in elsewhere. Greywalls is the ultimate Scottish Country experience - spectacular gardens, amazingly accommodating staff and simply wonderful food. We went two nights for dinner, each a memorable and outstanding evening!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penrhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest

I am glad that you found us and we able to enjoy our hospitality. Hopefully you can stay next time as well?

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I booked a table for 6 for a celebration event. It was fantastic. I have dined here before however this time was even better than last time. The food was cleaner and more balanced. I was able to mix the from the two menus with our a problem. Favourite dish on the day was the wild garlic panacota starter

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eastcoldale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest

We are continuously trying to improve and be consistent in the levels of service we offer and it is very rewarding for the team to receive comments like this. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gullane
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
Nether Abbey Hotel
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux

Property: Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Address: Muirfield, Gullane, Gullane EH31 2EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greywalls Hotel is uniquely situated on the edge of Muirfield championship golf course with stunning views over East Lothian and the Firth of Forth. Overlooking the world famous greens of the 9th & 18th holes, it has earned itself a reputation as ‘a golfers’ paradise’! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greywalls Hotel And Chez Roux
Greywalls Hotel Muirfield
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux Gullane, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing