We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional pleasures”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Traditional pleasures”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

It's always a treat to visit the beautiful Lutyens house that is Greywalls. On this occasion we were there for an Easter Sunday lunch with Grandma. As previously, we were ushered into an elegant, book-lined, lounge to fire our tastebuds with a dram of Ardbeg and to listen to the ivories being tinkled by an accomplished pianist (piano was slightly less in tune than our aperitifs it must be said). The meal in the Roux-managed restaurant was a triumph. I can't now remember what others chose, but my leek salad and 'panko' egg was marvellous and the roast beef that followed was equally well judged. Dessert involved sea-salt caramel ice-cream and tarte-tatin. What could have been nicer? The wine list too is a thing of beauty, featuring several bottles of note that do not require mortgage discussion. Service was excellent across the board and a post-prandial wander in the Jekyll-designed garden blew away the cobwebs a treat. We hope to be able to re-visit Greywalls many times again. Each visit is a joy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diptych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest

I am happy to say that we had the Piano tuners in last week so the Piano will be tune with the surroundings and service for your next visit.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    87
    23
    17
    5
See reviews for
85
256
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My partner and myself always try to make a point of staying in a hotel on our anniversary and for our 13th year, with two grandmothers happy to look after our one-year-old, Greywalls was our choice. For two frazzled parents who needed a bit of peace and quiet, but also wanted a bit of luxury and to be looked after, this hotel was first rate.

Our traditional bedroom looked over the gardens which were beautiful, our bathroom was HUGE and stocked with Molton Brown products - we were more than happy. And the restaurant... I don't know where to begin. I had originally opted for Greywalls as I'm a big Roux fan and it didn't disappoint. It was all delicious but I highly recommend the blood orange souffle with verbana icecream. That itself was recommended by the waitress working that night who was knowledgable, beyond friendly and, along with who I think was the mâitre d', sourced and printed train details for us should we have chosen to go into Edinburgh the next day. That was followed by a surprise plate of petis fours to celebrate our anniversary. The excellent service extended everywhere - everyone made a point of making you feel welcome.

There were a few glitches - our bathroom door in room number 3 stuck a few times but we found it more amusing than anything. The Wi-Fi wasn't great but as we were there to relax and enjoy each others company, that barely bothered us. We also ordered room service a few times and on occasion, things were forgotten like salt, pepper, butter, etc. However, the moment I let them know, it was fixed very quickly and to be honest, I could probably do with less salt and butter.

We booked Greywalls as part of a special 50% deal and I very much doubt I'd be able to afford staying there on a normal priced night. However, should another deal pop up, I'll be up to Gullan in no time. In fact, my stay at Greywalls was so good, I might be tempted to save for an extra special occasion. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank journobrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay and it proved to be a tonic to your hectic lives. I hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels over the years, some have great service, great rooms, great food etc.
Greywalls have every box ticked, the managers and their staff treated us superbly well, log fires, wonderful crockery, outstanding dining and a lovely warm room, turned down at night.
The gardens must look superb in the summer, our visit was in the winter so can onlyguess.
As a golfer I wanted to see a little more of Muirfield but gather this is not at all possible as it is a most private club.
Would I go back? Tomorrow!
Will I go back, of course, thank you all for a great couple of days and nights.
Pity your neighbours are not so welcoming.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DEPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of Greywalls and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Greywalls again over Easter - using an online voucher which reduces the room rate considerably so worth watching out for! We'd had to move our booking at fairly short notice but they were very helpful and squeezed us in on Easter Sunday. We were forewarned we'd be in a cottage and initially I was disappointed. It was quite a dark room with a dreary view overlooking the staff car park - last time we had a view over Muirfield. But actually it was just fine - quiet,comfortable and very slightly shabby chic like many of the Greywalls rooms: you know the sort of thing: some lovely antique furniture and extravagent floral soft furnishings but also peeling paintwork. We shared our bathroom with a few ants and wood lice - didn't actually bother us though some might have preferred sole occupancy!
Dinner and breakfast were - as always - very much first rate in terms of quality of food, service etc. There's an extensive winelist with something for pretty much every budget and taste. At breakfast I had a fantastic Omelette Arnold Bennett, which I'd certainly recommend if you fancy a change from a full Scottish meatfest. The public rooms are lovely with great views from the dining room at breakfast - and the library is wonderfully cosy with a very welcoming roaring log fire.
I'm already looking forward to my next visit....

Room Tip: If you're keen on a golf course or Forth view, you may be wise to ask when booking - not all roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinC132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following you very recent stay with us. Easter weekend was very busy and as you say we always try and accommodate room requests when guests book with us but it is not always possible. I am glad you did enjoy the room and note your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Having dined at many top rate restaraunts in the Uk and further abroad, I was expecting great things from greywalls. I was not disappointed. All four of our courses were perfectly cooked with ample portion size. Combine that with a professional yet caring approach from the staff, and one is left with a intimate and thoroughly enjoyable dining experience. Overall outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JL06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Your comments are very generous and kind. I will ensure they are passed on to all those involved and hope you see you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I first came across this place when marching across Muirfield in 1972 with Jacklin & Trevino. A friend who was standing in the hotel sunken garden waved me in for a refreshing glass or ten. I liked what I saw & vowed to return. nd so I did - In March 2012. Travelling with my wife, I had booked 2 night B&B + afternoon tea deal. Our flight into Edinburgh arrived quite early which meant we were in Gullane around 8am & dropped in - to try & leave our bags & check-in later after golf down the road. Leaving the bags was no problem, neither was staying for breakfast.
Our room (18) was very comfortable & probably what our US friends would call quaint. It suited
us though. Afternoon Tea was exceptional. The evening meal was (to be frank) a bit of a let down. It overpromised in terms of quality. The weather being so good for this trip, we just had to make a return, which we did with a friend in March 2013. And were able to enjoy the contrast between 18c & sun (golf in shirtsleeves) in 2012 with 1c (no sun, -4c windchill & sleet ruling out golf). Greywalls treats these extremes with panache. Our room (16) was again comfortable, Breakfasts delicious & the Evening meal superb. If I had to be picky, the method of bill calculation/allocation needs sharpening up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us again at Greywalls and I am glad you enjoyed your trip. The weather has not been kind this March and last years heat of March seems a very distant memory. We have taken your comments on board regards the billing system and have changed this to help with clarity.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Enjoyed a celebratory tea here on a gloomy, cold day. We were sat at a table in a dining room overlooking the beautiful bare-bones winter garden. The friendly, attentive young waiter looked after us very well. My other-half decided to have the French afternoon tea (a hot savoury with a substantial salad garnish followed by lots of cake) whereas I chose the full afternoon tea, it was my birthday after all! Sandwiches, pistachio macaroon, gorgeous scones with jam and cream and more cake than anyone could possibly eat, all washed down with the tea (or coffee) of ones choice from the menu.

I have visited Grey Walls on a number of occasions, attracted mainly by the fabulous Lutyens architecture and the subtle 'country house' ambience. However the dining experience has improved tremendously in recent years - it just keeps getting better and better.

Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stromata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest

I will be sure to pass on you comments to the waiter involved and thank you for taking the time to let us know your very kind comments. See you soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gullane
3.3 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
2,255 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
311 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
205 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Folly
The Folly
#5 of 5 in North Berwick
24 reviews
11.7 mi away
Carberry Tower Mansion House and Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux

Property: Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Address: Muirfield, Gullane, Gullane EH31 2EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greywalls Hotel is uniquely situated on the edge of Muirfield championship golf course with stunning views over East Lothian and the Firth of Forth. Overlooking the world famous greens of the 9th & 18th holes, it has earned itself a reputation as ‘a golfers’ paradise’! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greywalls Hotel And Chez Roux
Greywalls Hotel Muirfield
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux Gullane, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing