We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good enough for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not good enough for the price”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

One of the most expensive hotels in the UK, and not nearly good enough for the price. Tiny bedroom with the worst shower I have ever experienced, and a broken TV. Information in the room about the gym turned out to be nothing to do with the hotel but an external place. I would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank preacherirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give feed back on your stay with us.
We do aim to provide a high level of standard through out the hotel and we are disappointed not to have met your expectations.
We have taken your comments on board, and hope that should you visit us again we will ensure that you have an enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    85
    21
    16
    5
See reviews for
83
253
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nagano Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
225 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I stayed here for a couple of nights with a group of business colleagues, flown in from all over the world. We're a pretty demanding bunch and have over the years held the same regular meeting in some stunning locations.

Check in was... non-existent! The manager welcomed me and took me to my room, which was ready at 9:30am. That was it! The only paperwork was to check off what I wanted for dinner.

The room (in fact the whole hotel) was decorated like a private country house, albeit one run by a wealthy host. The decor is a mix of family treasures, antiques, tasteful bric-a-brac, endless well-stocked bookshelves - if you've ever stayed with friends in the country you'll know what I mean. The standard of the renovation is very high. For example, the hot water runs almost immediately you turn on the tap, there's good pressure from the shower, and the bath drains quickly - that takes investment in an old house! The bed was as comfortable as those of the deluxe chains, and there were fluffy towels and good toiletries. There was no kettle in the room until I requested one - but it came promptly, with a full china tea service.

The internet could have been better (wifi's always difficult in old buildings with thick walls), but more or less worked. There was a shortage of power points - in fact there were no spare power points and I had to unplug some lamps to be able to use my laptop, phone charger, kettle, etc. And finally, being uber-picky... bath salts would have been nice (there was bath foam but it's not the same!).

The gardens are worth a mention. We were there in early June so they were in peak condition, but they are stunning, from the formal flower beds to the chicken run. You could charge people for entrance!

The restaurant is a Michel Roux franchise. Apart from an odd logo on all the tableware (a line drawing of a surgeon peering mysteriously into... who knows?), this means a very high standard of cuisine. I'm not a wine drinker but my oenophile friends were very happy, as were the whisky drinkers. But I am a beer snob and hurrah! they have some interesting beers in stock. Again, searching for minor niggles, I'd say the food is very, very good, but just misses the "angels dancing on your tongue" emotion of a really stunning restaurant (perhaps that's the difference between a franchise and an original?). And - sin of sins - they couldn't find any marmite at breakfast (which was, incidentally, excellent - some great cooked classics but all light and carefully prepared).

Service was very good. It's a small team, commensurate with the size of the hotel, and they're all young and quite informal, but everything that needed to happen, happened without fuss. Organising taxis and hire cars, arranging business documents to be printed and couriered, nothing was any trouble or appeared to take any effort.

If you're a golfer this is right next to Muirfield, btw; even if you're not, the view across the ecologically disastrous green deserts of the links is still stunning, with, on a nice evening, God's own light show of a sunset.

So this is a classic. I'd recommend it to anyone as one of the most authentic British (ok, Scottish, if you must - but they don't overdo the och-ayness) country house hotels I've stayed in. It's comfortable, you'll be well looked after, and of course well fed and watered. Bring your maiden aunt with the green fingers to drool over the garden.

But don't forget to bring your own marmite!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind feed back from your recent stay with us.
We aim to provide guests with a warm and relaxing atmosphere in our beautiful location, and glad that you have enjoyed this with us.
We are indeed a small team, and so guests taking the time to write such nice comments, is very much appreciated.
We do hope that we can welcome you back one day in the not too distant future.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ggg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

My Wife and I stayed at Greywalls and would like to say how much we enjoyed our entire stay. On our arrival we were welcomed to the hotel and given a mini induction about the hotel. We had a lovely spacious bedroom overlooking the walled garden which was just perfrct..
The ambience and style of ther interior design was quality to a tee!!! excuse the pun ha. We had tea and scones which were made to order and delicious.
We later dined at Chex Roux and we were not disappointed. The food, service and the Klein Constantia were outstanding. Could not fault anything and the breakfast the folowing day was delicious.
All in all a great time was had by all. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to get away from it all to relax.
Many thanks to the Greywalls Team, we will see you again very soon!!!!!

Simon & Anetta Forrest

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jollyscot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feed back from your stay at Greywalls and Chez Roux.

We are delighted that you had a relaxing and enjoyable time with us.

We are very fortunate of our location being surrounded by Muirfield golf course and the famous Gertrude Jekyll’s garden, and we are glad that you were able to enjoy this.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay with us.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I organised a Special Birthday Lunch for my Husbands 60th.
The House and Gardens are very beautiful...as you arrive the staff were very attentive..and immediatly we were put at ease...they were most welcoming.
The Food is utterly divine....the double cooked cheese souffle so light & yummy as was the venison...cooked to perfection, as expected.. we were all spoilt for choice.
I had asked them to make a Special Birthday Cake for my Husband ..this was chocolate and berry mousse covered in chocolate ganache with spun sugar & gold flakes.. Followed by Coffee & petti fours; served in the sitting room.
All in all a pefect day...Thank you

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WORDYWOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, General Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
Thank you for your very kind comments, we are delighted you choose to celebrate your husbands 60th with us, and hope that we can welcome you back to Greywalls again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

I visited Chez Roux at Greywalls for my grandmother's 80th birthday. While I can't comment on the hotel itself, the service and food truly were excellent.

From the moment we arrived, staff were helpful, knowledgeable and accommodating. The surroundings are comfortable and luxurious, without being ostentatious, and the general ambiance is classy without being overly exclusive.


It was the food we were here for, and it didn't disappoint. The Souffle Suissesse truly was to die for and similar compliments were to be heard from the rest of our party. Throughout the meal, service was unintrusive, professional and knowledgeable. The touch of the chef coming to meet the "birthday girl" at the end of the meal was a truly wonderful touch and really added a special element to what was already a special meal.

Really lovely restaurant in beautiful surroundings, would definitely recommend!

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
Thank you for your post and your very kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your special occasion with us.
Our staff are consistently working hard, aiming to achieve the standards which you have noted in your comments and I will make sure and share this with them.
I do hope that we can welcome you back to Greywalls again in the not to distant future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dundee,scotland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Really enjoyed our memorable visit to Greywalls. We had an excellent lunch in Chez Rouz, great food,wine and value for money. The hotel and it's setting are wonderful, I enjoyed the beautiful garden (even in late November in heavy rain).

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank inglist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us here at Greywalls Hotel and Chez Rouz.
We are glad you enjoyed your lunch and that you found us to be of good value for money, as we are aiming to provide a good quailty of service at a reasonable price.
We are also delighted that you were able to appreciate the wonderful setting which we are so fortunate to be in.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Entrance to the Hotel alone makes you want to look inside and then you will find a warm and friendly welcome. Hotel has a real edge on many of the Hotels I have experienced over the years with no compromises in the lounge, dining and accommodation areas - credit to the owners. Exceptional Service throughout our stay with excellent food on the evening.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ripleytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmGreywalls, Manager at Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments with regards to you recent stay at Greywalls Hotel and Chez Roux. As a team we try exceptionally hard everyday to ensure that all our guests enjoy their time with us and it is great to hear that this was the case with your stay, even if it was for business! I have passed your comments on to the team and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, Kerry Watson, Operations Manager, ICMI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gullane
3.3 mi away
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Marine Hotel & Spa
#4 of 5 in North Berwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
3.4 mi away
Nether Abbey Hotel
Nether Abbey Hotel
#3 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ducks Inn
Ducks Inn
#1 of 1 in Aberlady
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
No. 12 Quality Street B&B
#2 of 5 in North Berwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
11.7 mi away
Bayswell Park Hotel
Bayswell Park Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunbar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
12.4 mi away
Dunmuir Hotel
Dunmuir Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunbar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux

Property: Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux
Address: Muirfield, Gullane, Gullane EH31 2EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Gullane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gullane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Greywalls Hotel is uniquely situated on the edge of Muirfield championship golf course with stunning views over East Lothian and the Firth of Forth. Overlooking the world famous greens of the 9th & 18th holes, it has earned itself a reputation as ‘a golfers’ paradise’! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greywalls Hotel And Chez Roux
Greywalls Hotel Muirfield
Greywalls Hotel & Chez Roux Gullane, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing