We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Resort
Nearby Hotels
$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
$95
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azure Hotel & Art Studio(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$141
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond La Samanna(Terres Basses)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
27
47
20
13
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
47
20
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaho beachgreat view of the airportunderground parkingairport runwaygrocery storeclose to the airportpool watershort walkplanes landing and taking offenjoyed watching the planestime shareliving roomexplore the islandfull kitchenocean viewcasinodehumidifier
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 114 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed 5 days from May 6 - May 11th
We exchanged some Hilton timeshare points to RCI to stay here. We booked a studio and were upgraded to a one bedroom which was a nice surprise when we got to our room.

Upon entry, it is a no frills lobby. The front desk lady was extremely warm and security was helpful and nice. The nice thing about this timeshare is that it is quiet and we felt safe. When you check in, they give you 2 towels (which we changed daily) and a lock for the safe. Both required a $70 deposit upfront which you got back when you checked out. Internet service is $16 a day or $50 for the week. We didn't get it since we went to a bakery every morning and everyone (most restaurants too) had free wifi.

The accommodations are dated, but clean. The bedroom and living area had a tv and we were grateful that there were good programming of US channels (incl Bravo, Food network, ESPN) since we like to watch tv as we wind down for the evening. Kitchen had a microwave, dishwasher, dishtowels, paper towels and soap. It was also great having a refrigerator. The hotel itself is probably a 3 star - on par with a holiday inn, but the location is awesome and staff bumped it up to 4 for us. Maid service was great - our cleaning lady came on Wednesday and spend quite a bit of time cleaning. She sprayed the bathroom with clorox and while that sit, she swept and mopped. Very thorough.

They do have a hertz rental service in the hotel and if you need it, you can rent a crib for the week. Parking is an additional $6 a day.

Additional Info:

This location is about a 5 minute drive from the airport. We rented a car from a place call (Rent a Wreck - yes, odd name for a car rental) when we got off the plane. Cab would be roughly $7, but car rentals are so cheap it is worth it for 20 bucks a day.

This is in between 2 casinos and the 'strip' is really short - only about 8 places to eat including the piano bar, bamboo bernies (see my separate reviews), Paris restaurant, and a few more on the back street (italian and chinese). Also, 4-5 shops and a really good ice cream shop at the end of the block. Very conveniently, there is a grocery store next store that has everything you need - incl. liquor, water, good variety of food (hot and packaged), sunblock...etc.

The beach is fine, but there are so many great beaches that mullet bay is just an 'okay'. The cool part is that the planes land really close and to my surprise, I didn't hear them at all from our room.

Drive to Simpson Bay is about 10 minutes, Phillipsburg is another 10. Everything is super close so I strongly recommend a car. Great place to explore.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank weehawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We rented a car immediately after getting off of the plane and thankfully the hotel had a parking garage directly below it. What we didn't know until we got there is that everything has an extra fee. The parking garage is intended for guests, but instead of that being tied into the overall costs of the room, it's an extra fee of $6/day. There was a $1/day island upkeep program, convenience charge of $10/day for cleaning service (which we were told was complimentary and only occurs on Wednesday, however you still are charged he fee everyday), and a massive tourist tax (which to be fair is everywhere on the island). At the end of the trip amounted to over $200 and we were there for a week.
We also had a few things break on us while we were staying there: remote to tv, de-humidifier, toaster oven, and fire alarm (the most annoying of all), however after telling them they were very quick and nice about fixing it. So can't really blame them there, stuff happens.
Otherwise they were very nice. Not sure if we would go back there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Pyrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed out time at La Terrassee. They are doing some rennovations so it will be even better when they are finished but it was still great as it was. Lovely pool both at La Terrasse and its sister La Plage (guests can use either), restaurants a short walk away, grocery store, close to beach, etc. All in all a lovely week and we will definitey be going back. Everybody at the resort was super helpful and the La Plage activities desk was very knowledgeable and definitely advised us on he best things to do (Pirate Tour a must). My only "wish" would be better pillows and a larger shower and/or bath (tiny shower in huge bathroom so plenty of room) but these are small complaints overall and may be addressed during their upgrade. One of the most exciting things about the Maho area (which is where both La Terasse and La Plage are) is the proximity to the airport with planes landing and taking off right over next to you. Sounds awful but actually is super fun and not annoying in any way.

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor and it was still great. Higher up would have been nicer but even 1st floor was fine and was on same level as pool/spa.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank RosalynA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We have been here for a week- have not had the use of. The grounds or the pool- it is empty . We have to go across the street to Sonesta .There has been construction going on in the hallway - across from our suite- all week they replaced windows. We are on the 3rd floor and the view would be good except for the scaffolding that has been in front of the balcony since we arrived. There is no definite date for completion as far as we can tell. Shortly after we arrived the deck furniture was removed from the deck into the suite.We are not even able to enjoy sitting on the deck in the evening. All around just a mess here.It is our first time staying here- we were not advised that the place was under construction prior to our arrival. I would not recommend coming here in the near future- no telling when this work will be finished. Not happy with our stay at la terrace probably won't be back.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
9  Thank holidayfans2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We just got back from a weeks vacation at la Terrasse. Love how close it is to the airport, right around the corner. We rented a car from Thrifty and at the airport at guy from the Thrifty company took everyone who rented a vehicle in a shuttle to the Thrifty car rental building. Very efficiant and nice. Car was nice. Drove to La Terrasse(VERY easy to find!). Front desk lady wasen't too friendly but whatever.... Got our parking pass for $30 for the week and had secured, underground parking at the hotel. We had a 1 bedroom apartment. Apartment was ok. Bed in bedroom was very comfy as were the pillows. Pull-out couch on the other hand, was horrible!!!!! Definatly needs an update. Speaking of needing an update, the kitchen needs updating. Didn't have an oven just a stove top. Microwave was good but no toaster just toaser oven. If you plan on cooking be aware that the frying pans ARE NOT NON-STICK!!!!!!! Brutal to cook eggs on. Go outside to the grocery store and buy some cooking spray for sure. Grounds were very nice and kept very clean. Pool was nice but the liner needs replacing. Pool bar was not open very often but we go during low season so I suspect that is the reason why, not too many at the hotel. The airport runway, just across the street wasen't a bother. It was actually really cool seeing all the planes land and take off soooo close!! Not too much was open again, since it was low season. We drove into Philipsburg to shop. Same stuff as any other place. Booze is very cheap though. We also did a snorkeling adventure with Captain Alan!!! Unfortunatly the weather was very windy cause of Hurrican Ophelia so we couldn't do 1 of the stops because it was too dangerous but we had a great time non the less!!!!!! Groceries were a bit more expensive then here but not too bad. Probably wouldn't go back but glad we went.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank conzo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews