We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic, no frills establishment, but worked perfectly”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Maho
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Maho
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Basic, no frills establishment, but worked perfectly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed 5 days from May 6 - May 11th
We exchanged some Hilton timeshare points to RCI to stay here. We booked a studio and were upgraded to a one bedroom which was a nice surprise when we got to our room.

Upon entry, it is a no frills lobby. The front desk lady was extremely warm and security was helpful and nice. The nice thing about this timeshare is that it is quiet and we felt safe. When you check in, they give you 2 towels (which we changed daily) and a lock for the safe. Both required a $70 deposit upfront which you got back when you checked out. Internet service is $16 a day or $50 for the week. We didn't get it since we went to a bakery every morning and everyone (most restaurants too) had free wifi.

The accommodations are dated, but clean. The bedroom and living area had a tv and we were grateful that there were good programming of US channels (incl Bravo, Food network, ESPN) since we like to watch tv as we wind down for the evening. Kitchen had a microwave, dishwasher, dishtowels, paper towels and soap. It was also great having a refrigerator. The hotel itself is probably a 3 star - on par with a holiday inn, but the location is awesome and staff bumped it up to 4 for us. Maid service was great - our cleaning lady came on Wednesday and spend quite a bit of time cleaning. She sprayed the bathroom with clorox and while that sit, she swept and mopped. Very thorough.

They do have a hertz rental service in the hotel and if you need it, you can rent a crib for the week. Parking is an additional $6 a day.

Additional Info:

This location is about a 5 minute drive from the airport. We rented a car from a place call (Rent a Wreck - yes, odd name for a car rental) when we got off the plane. Cab would be roughly $7, but car rentals are so cheap it is worth it for 20 bucks a day.

This is in between 2 casinos and the 'strip' is really short - only about 8 places to eat including the piano bar, bamboo bernies (see my separate reviews), Paris restaurant, and a few more on the back street (italian and chinese). Also, 4-5 shops and a really good ice cream shop at the end of the block. Very conveniently, there is a grocery store next store that has everything you need - incl. liquor, water, good variety of food (hot and packaged), sunblock...etc.

The beach is fine, but there are so many great beaches that mullet bay is just an 'okay'. The cool part is that the planes land really close and to my surprise, I didn't hear them at all from our room.

Drive to Simpson Bay is about 10 minutes, Phillipsburg is another 10. Everything is super close so I strongly recommend a car. Great place to explore.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank weehawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    45
    20
    13
    7
See reviews for
23
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, WY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We rented a car immediately after getting off of the plane and thankfully the hotel had a parking garage directly below it. What we didn't know until we got there is that everything has an extra fee. The parking garage is intended for guests, but instead of that being tied into the overall costs of the room, it's an extra fee of $6/day. There was a $1/day island upkeep program, convenience charge of $10/day for cleaning service (which we were told was complimentary and only occurs on Wednesday, however you still are charged he fee everyday), and a massive tourist tax (which to be fair is everywhere on the island). At the end of the trip amounted to over $200 and we were there for a week.
We also had a few things break on us while we were staying there: remote to tv, de-humidifier, toaster oven, and fire alarm (the most annoying of all), however after telling them they were very quick and nice about fixing it. So can't really blame them there, stuff happens.
Otherwise they were very nice. Not sure if we would go back there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pyrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed out time at La Terrassee. They are doing some rennovations so it will be even better when they are finished but it was still great as it was. Lovely pool both at La Terrasse and its sister La Plage (guests can use either), restaurants a short walk away, grocery store, close to beach, etc. All in all a lovely week and we will definitey be going back. Everybody at the resort was super helpful and the La Plage activities desk was very knowledgeable and definitely advised us on he best things to do (Pirate Tour a must). My only "wish" would be better pillows and a larger shower and/or bath (tiny shower in huge bathroom so plenty of room) but these are small complaints overall and may be addressed during their upgrade. One of the most exciting things about the Maho area (which is where both La Terasse and La Plage are) is the proximity to the airport with planes landing and taking off right over next to you. Sounds awful but actually is super fun and not annoying in any way.

Room Tip: We were on the 1st floor and it was still great. Higher up would have been nicer but even 1st floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank RosalynA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

We have been here for a week- have not had the use of. The grounds or the pool- it is empty . We have to go across the street to Sonesta .There has been construction going on in the hallway - across from our suite- all week they replaced windows. We are on the 3rd floor and the view would be good except for the scaffolding that has been in front of the balcony since we arrived. There is no definite date for completion as far as we can tell. Shortly after we arrived the deck furniture was removed from the deck into the suite.We are not even able to enjoy sitting on the deck in the evening. All around just a mess here.It is our first time staying here- we were not advised that the place was under construction prior to our arrival. I would not recommend coming here in the near future- no telling when this work will be finished. Not happy with our stay at la terrace probably won't be back.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank holidayfans2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We just got back from a weeks vacation at la Terrasse. Love how close it is to the airport, right around the corner. We rented a car from Thrifty and at the airport at guy from the Thrifty company took everyone who rented a vehicle in a shuttle to the Thrifty car rental building. Very efficiant and nice. Car was nice. Drove to La Terrasse(VERY easy to find!). Front desk lady wasen't too friendly but whatever.... Got our parking pass for $30 for the week and had secured, underground parking at the hotel. We had a 1 bedroom apartment. Apartment was ok. Bed in bedroom was very comfy as were the pillows. Pull-out couch on the other hand, was horrible!!!!! Definatly needs an update. Speaking of needing an update, the kitchen needs updating. Didn't have an oven just a stove top. Microwave was good but no toaster just toaser oven. If you plan on cooking be aware that the frying pans ARE NOT NON-STICK!!!!!!! Brutal to cook eggs on. Go outside to the grocery store and buy some cooking spray for sure. Grounds were very nice and kept very clean. Pool was nice but the liner needs replacing. Pool bar was not open very often but we go during low season so I suspect that is the reason why, not too many at the hotel. The airport runway, just across the street wasen't a bother. It was actually really cool seeing all the planes land and take off soooo close!! Not too much was open again, since it was low season. We drove into Philipsburg to shop. Same stuff as any other place. Booze is very cheap though. We also did a snorkeling adventure with Captain Alan!!! Unfortunatly the weather was very windy cause of Hurrican Ophelia so we couldn't do 1 of the stops because it was too dangerous but we had a great time non the less!!!!!! Groceries were a bit more expensive then here but not too bad. Probably wouldn't go back but glad we went.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank conzo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

We were delighted that we were able to exchange our timeshare week to this Gold Crown resort. We were also a bit guarded considering its proximity to the airport. This was a much facility and better experience compared to another timeshare on the Dutch side. The resort is not 5 star. It's not brand new but not dilapidated either. It's very conveniently located to the airport, several beaches, restaurants, and shops. The airport noise is not a problem. Planes do not land very late so it does not interfere with sleep. The window treatments also allow for a very dark room. The A/C kept us nice and cool during the day and night. You have to pay for WiFi which is device specific. This means if you want to access WiFi with laptop and smart phone you must pay twice. It's annoying but not the purpose of our vacation. I seriously entertained purchasing another timeshare week specifically at this location, but did not for various reasons. We are scheduled to return in December and look forward to our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DoctahJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Traveled to St Maarten on July 30th through August 6, 2011!

We stayed in a 2 bedroom at La Tarrasse which was clean but old and in need of an update. The staff was friendly and helpful when asked. The room was quiet once you close the sliding doors and you would not know you where 150 feet from the runway, noise was not an issue. The bedrooms have widows which overlook the hallways but the curtains kept the light out and noise from other quests walking the hallway was nonexistent. The Hotel is not located on the beach, the sister resort of Royal Islander, La Plage is located on the beach. The La Plage is more modern, at least the lobby and pool areas are and the grounds are very clean. There is security inside each resort and there was never an issue with safety while in Maho Bay and/or Simpson Bay. The grounds were clean, the pool water was blue, the hot tub was warm and clean. The hotel is minutes away from Simpson Bay which has pretty much everything you will need...including the Bada Bing Club...go figure. The A/C was great, it was actually cold, and everything inside the suite was operable. The area of Maho Bay is old with a majority of the stores closed and/or for rent. The Dutch side, where Maho Bay is located, is much friendlier than the French side. The water in Maho Bay is a little on the rough side but there are many beaches nearby that offer calm blue water for swimming. The sand is clean and there is plenty of places to relax and enjoy the people of St. Maarten. The French side uses the Euro which on any given day costs between 1.40 or more. Some of the bets beaches we found were Orient Beach....stay away from the nude side...most of the people in the nude area should not be nude. The beaches on the French side are all Tops optional with many woman choosing not to wear their tops...hurray gotta love the European way! A MUST visit is Pinel Island which is locate off Orient Beach. We found it on Friday and were leaving on Saturday, I wish we could have gone back for a 2nd visit..it was that good. It is a short ferry ride ($7.00 round trip) with the ride being about 3 minutes, there were actually people swimming from St Maarten to Pinel Island. Once you arrive on Pinel Island go to Karibuni Restaurant and make a reservation for lunch, it fills up fast. Pinel Island is small and Karibuni is located to the left of the ramp where the ferry lets you off. Please take this recommendation to heart...it is a must for anyone going to St. Maarten. As for day trips, we went to St. Barths and found some nice beaches. It is most French and it is an expensive Island that we would not recommend visiting, try Anguilla! Places to eat...Toppers on the Bay, there is a Toppers on the main strip, it's the other Toppers (on the Bay) you want to go to for dinner and/or breakfast. If you are looking for a down night and fun place to eat try Lee's in Simpson Bay...great chicken and ribs and live music, all around good time. Mario's on the Bay is very nice, the food is very good, expensive but good, the only drawback is that it is located in the middle of "Hell." You can park in front of the restaurant so you are safe once you get there. The French restaurants are located in Grand Case which is again not the most desirable neighborhood. The restaurants are located on the side of the street and cars drive by blasting good (not really) old American Rap Music, there are motorcycles, scooters and quads all over the place and apparently legal as no one was stopping the craziness. Go to Grand Case to eat on 1 night and find other places like Leyla's on the French side. Great atmosphere, large portions and friendly service. Writing this is making me sad knowing I cannot walk outside and take a swim in the beautiful blue water of St. Maarten! Enjoy your vacation....it's a nice place to visit!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank luv2travel1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maho
1.1 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
0.3 mi away
Alegria Boutique Hotel
Alegria Boutique Hotel
#5 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Towers at Mullet Bay
The Towers at Mullet Bay
#1 of 1 in Mullet Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Resort

Property: Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Resort
Address: Rhine Road #1 | Maho Bay, Maho, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Maho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Maho
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Maho
#4 Casino Hotel in Maho
#4 Spa Hotel in Maho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 159
Also Known As:
Royal Islander Club La Terrasse Hotel St. Maarten/St. Martin
Royal Islander Hotel La Terrasse
St Maarten Royal Islander
Royal Islander Resort La Terrasse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing