We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Castle Douglas with style”
other travelers have booked this property
Bespoke oak kitchen with open plan dining area. Integrated steam oven, coffee machine & dish washer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bespoke oak kitchen with open plan dining area. Integrated steam oven, coffee machine & dish washer
Sitting room with 3D TV, twin sofas and arm chair overlooking walled garden. Dining area with seating for 6. Large walnut and oak island also seats guests.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Bespoke oak kitchen with open plan dining area. Integrated steam oven, coffee machine & dish washer
Sitting room with 3D TV, twin sofas and arm chair overlooking walled garden.
Dining area with seating for 6. Large walnut and oak island also seats guests.
Four poster bed in charming room furnished with Art Deco furniture
Small double room with art deco fireplace and wardrobe
Very large room with superking sized bed. Cot/cotbed available.
Family bathroom with bath and shower.
Downstairs shower room with power shower and WC
Rear view of house and private walled garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fearless3...
1 review
“Castle Douglas with style”
Reviewed December 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had the pleasure of staying in the beautiful townhouse for the weekend whilst we toured the surrounding area. This truly is an amazing home - luxurious, spacious, bright, warm, spotless and stunningly decorated throughout. The living room is beautifully decorated and great for relaxing after a long day walking. The dinning kitchen had everything that we could need. All 3 bedrooms are beautiful. This house would not look out of place in Grand Designs. Castle Douglas itself is a lovely town with great shops for browsing. We took advantage of our location and went to see the "dark skies" in the nearby Galloway Forest - something you should not miss if the skies are clear. All in all we had a great weekend. Five gold stars for this beautiful townhouse - you will not be disappointed staying here. We would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning house - beautifully decorated and very tastefully dressed.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 12, 2016
Thanks very much for your wonderful review. We really do try to make our guest's stay as comfortable as possible.

You and your family are welcome back any time, we are blessed to stay in such a beautiful corner of Scotland.

Kind Regards
Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KasiaL_Mc
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful and relaxing stay”
Reviewed December 8, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We spent a weekend in Castle Douglas and it was perfect. The house is beautiful and it was very comfortable, well presented and equipped and only a short walk to shops and restaurants. The kitchen is very modern and stunning with everything that you need. There are a lot of walk paths in the area. The stay was very enjoyable and relaxing. I would highly recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 9, 2016
Thanks very much for your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy the beautiful surroundings. I hope you come back to see us again next year. Kind Regards Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeeTravel...
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

So good we had to go back! Such an amazing house, so well decorated. Great location! Lovely weekend away!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2016
Thanks very much for your kind comments. We are very proud of the house and strive to ensure our guests have a pleasant stay. Galloway is a hidden gem and we are delighted that you too love the area and our house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve B
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful house”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The house itself is beautiful, recently renovated to an extremely high standard. The location is as central as you can get for Castle Douglas and is perfect as a home from home to enjoy the area.
I do not hesitate for a moment in recommending this house for a holiday and I will be doing so again myself in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury the house provided
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2016
Thank you very much for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanna200...
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Stay with my family”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We had a brilliant stay in Castle Douglas. The house is located right on the main street, I stayed with my husband and 2 kids, 3 year old and 1 year old. The house is beautiful and immaculate inside and decorated to a high standard. Castle Douglas is a lovely town with lovely eating places. We also visited the chocolate factory which the kids loved, this is only a short car journey away. We walked to most places as the house is very central. The park with the loch is lovely and the kids had a great time. I was a bit apprehensive about staying right on the main street with the kids but this was not a problem as the house is very secure. The people in Castle Douglas are very warm and friendly. Looking forward to my next stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2016
I am so glad you enjoyed the house and your stay in Castle Douglas. I hope we welcome you and your family again sometime in the near future. Thanks for your lovely review. Kind Regards Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeeTravel...
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Simply gorgeous!!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Such a great location, right on the high street of Castle Douglas. Cafes and shops therefore at your doorstep. The house is very large and beautifully decorated. Beds were very comfy.
I would definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2016
Thanks very much for your review, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we see you again soon. Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirstyd51...
2 reviews
“Cocoon yourself in Castle Douglas”
Reviewed January 20, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This house is simply sublime.
It's set on castle douglas' main street - but it's a world away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Gill and her family have lovingly restored and renovated this house to a standard that would put many an abode seen on Grand Designs to shame. We have had two wonderful, relaxing family breaks in this tardis-like property, with its super spacious rooms (you could get lost in the master bed), AMAZING kitchen and luxury furnishings. It comes complete with a spectrum antique fittings and an expansive back garden - all adding to the magic of this wonderful home-from-home.
Cocoon yourself in Castle Douglas. We couldn't recommend this property enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 21, 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I'm over the moon that you and your children loved the house, the town and the surrounding area as much as I have over the years.

I look forward to welcoming you all back in 2016, not forgetting Gallus too.

Kind Regards
Gill & family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing