We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most amazing house in the heart of Galloway”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gillian S
2 reviews
“The most amazing house in the heart of Galloway”
Reviewed April 7, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Everything required for a relaxing country break. The Longhouse has everything you need, style, amenities, location, space and is suitable for all ages. The owners were friendly and welcoming, there if you required assistance but very discreet. The welcome pack on our arrival was a very helpful touch as it meant we could chill as soon as we arrived and enjoy a lovely light lunch. Thank you, my mum really appreciated that after travelling. Our party consisted of 3 adults, 2 kids and age range was 13-77. Accommodation was suitable for various abilitilies and was very light and spacey. We have stayed in various holiday lets in the UK and Europe but this let really made an impact. It had all the little things you require on a break. We enjoyed the hot tub and games room, as well as giving Bumblebee the Shetland an odd carrot . Weather wasn't great for Easter but it really didn't matter, as well as enjoying the longhouse, we visited the cocoa bean factory, Kirkcudbright, where we had lunch in a lovely wee cafe facing the harbour and we spent the day at Gretna outlet, finishing off with dinner at the Gretna Inn. Local chippy is also very good as is the Schoolhouse room, just along the road, breakfast was yummy. Lots of other things to do in the surrounding area, especially if weather is better. It was a brilliant experience sitting in a hot tub with the snow on the hills, enjoying the views and most of all, beds were really comfy. So thank you again Tommy for sharing your beautiful house with us, I'm sure we'll return x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2018
That’s great, thank so much. It’s good to know how much you enjoyed your stay. This area is relatively undiscovered but has a lot to offer. Look forward to welcoming you back to The Longhouse.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2018
Thanks very much for that.The hot tub is especially good on those cold nights. The ponies say thanks for the carrots. Look forward to seeing you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
yummymumm...
UK
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful house - everything you could want for a relaxing break”
Reviewed October 28, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed with family including grandparents and teenagers for a short relaxing break. Location was perfect - out in peaceful countryside but close to Castle Douglas for any needs. No need to bring tons of supplies - there’s a decent size Tesco in CD and a lovely welcome pack from the owners including butter, prosecco, milk, juice and flowers! Washing up liquid, salt and pepper, dishwasher tablets, foil, cling film and washing powder for the washing machine all in situ. Very well equipped house including ice in freezer, books and Board games, free view tv and WiFi. Just a tip re WiFi - if it knocks off just reset by switching both power switches off for one minute in the roof space cupboard next to the bed in the upstairs king bedroom and it comes back straight away. Log fire was a great way to warm up after enjoying star gazing in the hot tub and there are ample towels.
Loved feeding carrots to the friendly Shetland ponies at the bottom of the garden and played pool and table tennis in the games room. Loads of nature walks and trails to enjoy nearby. Highly recommend the Longhouse- Tommy was on hand next door and responds quickly to any query. Thank you for a wonderful stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 10, 2017
Its very satisfying to receive a good review and it hopefully inspires us to keep up our high standards !! Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2017
Hi, thank you for that great review. This area is pretty undiscovered, so roads are not busy, the scenery is stunning and lots interesting places to visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
01deedee6...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If heaven was a place on earth The Longhouse at Threave could be it .Attention to detail was second to none , warm welcome, comfortable sumptuous accommodation and inviting hot tub ...what more could you want ? a games room , spectacular views , wildlife in abundance ( the ponys are delightful) its all there. We had a fabulous time and will definitely be returning .Thank you Tommy and Jeannette

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2017
Hi, thanks so much. It is good to know our guests enjoy their stay at The Longhouse.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne R
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best holiday rental we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The owners really have thought of everything in this wonderful holiday let.

All of those things we usually bring to save a visit to the local tescos had already been addressed. An adequate supply of loo roll in each bathroom, enough dishwasher tablets for the week, laundry detergent, foil, cling film, tomato sauce, gravy granules, cleaning wipes, to name but a few, little things I know but it made the kitchen a dream to work in. Everything was in the right place to use easily so I did not feel like a foreigner in my own kitchen when cooking.

The wifi was surprisingly good at 37Mbps, way above what we expected for a rural location and meant that we could all use our devices without complaint, a big plus for a family with two teenagers on board.

The hot tub was fantastic especially after our busy days at Laggan outdoor and Galloway Activity Centre which are both within twenty minutes drive. With adrenaline junkies on board, both of these centres had enough to keep us busy and were less expensive than our usual CenterParcs with just as good instruction. We had a go at the Segways, (a Runciman tradition on every holiday) and I will say it was one of the best segway rides we have had. Would thoroughly recommend it unless you don't like sheep and cows.

Laggan- We did the reverse-steer blindfolded jeep, not for the faint-hearted and the jeep has seen better days. We had a laugh and it was definitely different from anything we have done before. You do have to be on close terms though if there are four of you in the party as there is very little room or comfort. It is also quite a physical challenge to get into the back of the Jeep.

The 820m zipwire is amazing and zorbing in the waterball was fun( don't forget to take towels and a change of clothes as you will get really wet.)Archery and grass sledging were good although a track to take the sledges back up the hill would be appreciated as it is really hard work.

GAC- We did laser tag which was ok. Not the best set up we have seen and the equipment required some tlc. We ended up added in on a school trip group. Then came the real fun, The wobbly waterpark, think Total Wipe-Out, think freezing Scottish Loch. What a buzz, really hard work but so worth it. You really don't notice how cold it is once you get over the initial shock. My advice, jump in and get it over with! A quick heat up break with lovely hot chocolate from the more than adequate and reasonably priced cafe and we were off to the waterslide. A mix up with our booking meant we ended up in a group of only five which made for lots of runs in our hour of fun. The slide is much easier than I first thought it would be although there was only one inflatable ring. I think this is because the rings don't work well, you are better to take the plunge and just take a running jump.

Evenings were spent in the games room playing pool and table tennis then into the hot tub for a nice relaxing soak. (If I was to make any possible improvement to this little bit of paradise it might be to double the size of the games room to make it possible to play both games without getting in each others way and to make the pool shots easier, maybe a bit of air hockey too. I think with the size of the garden this would not detract from the rest of the property) We brought a lot of board games as we do like a family game night but the cottage had a good selection of its own. We loved Spin and Shout but soon realised none of us are any good at accents for Accentuate!!!

We did two of the jigsaws but had to admit to being just a bit gutted when the Sweeties of the Seventies one had 999 rather than 1000 pieces. Sad, I know jigsaws, but we love it anyway.If anyone has a bit of Terrys All Gold with just a wee touch of aTopic bar we would be ever so grateful

The Shetland ponies in the field adjacent were really lovely and enjoyed their carrots. The rural location is really close to Castle Douglas which has everything you really need for the week including a decent Tescos with really friendly staff. All of the locals we encountered were lovely although they do have a wee bit too much confidence tanking it along the narrow road to the property, I know we are adrenaline junkies but sometimes that was a wee bit too scary, as was meeting the cow in the middle of the road at The Cream O Galloway ice cream factory. Maybe it was just the welcoming committee

This is the first holiday I have ever had where I slept right through right from the first night. This is testament to the comfy beds and the relaxing effect of the whole house including soaking in the hot tub.

Quite honestly this was an amazing property with everything we could possibly have needed to have a fantastic holiday. It will be hard to top and we may well just have to come back next year as I find it hard to belive we could do better.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2017
Thank you so much. Yes this area has much to offer and is still relatively undiscovered. Its good to know that The Longhouse has a growing list of fans.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2017
Thank you. Glad you all enjoyed The Longhouse.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing