We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent evening, looking for wild animals.

We enjoyed our tour immensely. Our guides were knowledgeable and friendly. We plan to go again... read more

Reviewed March 16, 2017
emmadougherty
,
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
via mobile
An amazing experience.

Last Thursday my wife and myself had the most wonderful experience with Nocturnal Wildlife Tours... read more

Reviewed October 23, 2016
colliedog4
,
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Read all 16 reviews
  
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
16
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
0
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 16 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2017 via mobile

We enjoyed our tour immensely. Our guides were knowledgeable and friendly. We plan to go again later in the year to see the bats.

1  Thank emmadougherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NWTWildlifeTours, Tour Guide Ranger at Nocturnal Wildlife Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2017

Thank you Emma, we look forward to seeing you again on a NWT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2016

Last Thursday my wife and myself had the most wonderful experience with Nocturnal Wildlife Tours. From start to finish it was one of the best night`s to remember. Cowan and Keith had the most amazing knowledge of Dumfries&Galloway, all the best places to see the marvellous wildelife and did we see lots. On our trip we saw , loads of deer and the mighty stag as it took control of the herd.We also say Hedgehog`s,Hares, Foxes and many species of wild birds including Owls, not forgetting the Bats as well. Nearly forgot we also saw field Mice . The time passed so quickly with all the different things to see, but was a trip that my wife and myself will not forget. Once again thanks to Cowan and Keith from Nocturnal Wildelife Tours for a unforgettable experience.

2  Thank colliedog4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

What a great experience with our knowledgeable guides Cowan and Keith. The children really enjoyed using the equipment to spot the wildlife, of which we saw plenty. The children's and my best bit by far was getting up close to the hedgehog.
Would highly recommend a night out with Nocturnal Wildlife Tours we'll definitely be back for more.

2  Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2016

I must talk the technology first, starting with the vehicle. A roof mounted "see in the dark" thermal camera connected to drop down LCD screens in side a very appropriate Land Rover 110 made a very strong combination. Combine this with each person is given a personal thermal monocular for the event and you have a fantastic set of equipment provided for your enjoyment. However what really makes this superb was the care, empathy and especially the time that Keith and Cowan took to ensure the participants were firstly safe, then comfortable using the thermal viewers regardless of experience. The NWT tour will share with town folk theb wonders of the darkness hours normally not seen. I saw and enjoyed all of the amazing wildlife from tiny mice, bat's, roosting birds, barn owl's, hedge hogs, rabbits, hares, fox, badger's , roe/fallow deer . Climaxing with the amazing stag's and their hareem of fifty plus does seen on the rutting field totally unaware that we were so close watching in pitch darkness.
The Galloway night sky also supported with a magnificent back canvas of stars and views of the Milky Way.
This was truly an amazing tour, professionally run by very knowledgable leaders which everyone should experience .

3  Thank Salmonfisher100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

A fantastic and unique experience. Both guides were very knowledgeable and friendly. Wide variety of wildlife seen, especially impressed by the stags and got very close to some hedgehogs! Infrared equipment was fantastic! Highly recommend!

2  Thank Hamish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2016

We had a most Interesting evening enjoying viewing our local wildlife. It was amazing to see so many healthy hedgehogs,deer and mice plus much more. A truly memorable outing. Keith and Cowan were very friendly and helpful identifiying all the sightings of wildlife and were most informative about the area. Just wonderful.

2  Thank suemaria24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

We recently experienced the absolutely superb Nocturnal Wildlife Tour as a family around Castle Douglas in beautiful Dumfries and Galloway. The whole evening was fantastic and the enthusiasm of our two great guides Cowan and Keith enhanced an already fantastic evening. They were so keen to show us the wildlife and explain about it too. We had lots of great sightings including deer, fox, hares and even hedgehogs.
I am really looking forwards to booking another tour on a future holiday to the region.

The Henley Family, Darlington, UK . August 2016

2  Thank jonhenley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2016

Unique experience. Incredible value for money considering the one to one attention we received. Will definitely repeat when back in Dumfries and Galloway.

2  Thank FoodiesAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

Had a wonderful evening on Friday 22nd July. Cowan & Keith were so helpful & friendly. It was an awesome experience seeing the wildlife in their own light. Truly magical. I would highly recommend the tour to anyone.

Denise Thompson East Yorkshire

2  Thank linedancegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2016

Excellent evening! Keith and Cowan were extremely friendly from the outset and and we had some great luck throughout the evening. The equipment is easy to use and the tour is led very well indeed. Massively recommended to anyone with even a hint of interest in wildlife.

2  Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews