We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Lovely Time in Scotland”
Review of Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a Lovely Time in Scotland”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was my second year staying at the Crown Hotel in Castle Douglas (Scotland) and I must admit Colin, Alexa and Sarah made me feel very welcome again, nothing was to much trouble for them.

The food and service was both excellent. I came back weighing more than when I went.

The locals made me very welcome, some even remembered me from last year. This made the holiday for me as I was made to feel "one of the crowd".

Good weather, good accommodation, good food, good company, good surroundings - what more could you ask for in a holiday. Everything you needed was there.

I will most certainly be back again next year and look forward to seeing you all then.

Keep up the good work and don't think about leaving.

Francis.

Room Tip: If you a light sleeper who enjoys having the window open in the nice weather ask for a room at the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    31
    2
    9
    8
See reviews for
19
32
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

An average and pleasant hotel with very friendly owners, just a real shame about the saturday evening bar scene. This is definitely not a place to stay with a young family or for older/retired people. The place is packed with booze fuelled locals who are hostile to visitors and the atmosphere volatile. That's why the police are waiting in the streets adjacent to the hotel - we asked them!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinburghtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We arrived on the Saturday afternoon as soon as we arrived the staff couldn't do enough for us which was a good start. Once we were settled in we went for a walk then came back for an evening meal the choice was very good and varied not only was that meal very tasty the portion was a real portion mmmm. When we went for breakfast the portion was also very large and tasty I never ate again until night time, once again the meal and service from all the staff was superb and we will definitely be going back. Nearly forgot our room was very big and the bed was very comfy.all in all we had a very good stay the whole weekend was very relaxed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed at the Crown Hotel with a group of colleagues from work while on a motorbike holiday in Scotland. The staff at the Hotel were great and couldn't have done any more to accomodate us. Food was absolutely fantastic with immense portions and fantastically priced. The rooms were clean and we enjoyed a very comfortable stay. Some hotels would feel intimidated by having 8 bikers descend on them but the Crown took it all in their stride and it would have been difficult to feel more welcome. Definately going to use the Crown on our biking trips again in the future. Many thanks

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Visited the Crown Inn during a journey from Melrose to Stranraer as a convenient stop for a lunch break. It had a good selection of drinks including draught, bottled And soft drinks. There was a bar menu which was comprehensive and interesting. I had a haggis and cheese toastie and my companions had sandwiches, all were very well presented with the usual trimmings pleasantly served. The dining room menu had a good selection and all were reasonably priced.
The staff were very welcoming, and the premises clean and cared for. All in all a very good traditional community small country town inn




Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaughan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our first stay at the Crown Hotel and we will definitely be back. All the staff went out of their way to look after us and made us and our little dog Hamish so welcome. Our room was huge and beautifully decorated and spotless. The food was fantastic and huge portions for both breakfast and dinner. We felt so sad to leave. A big thank you to Colin Alexa , Sarah and everyone else for making our stay so good. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Room 7 was huge and a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margarethscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumnock
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Called in on a day out and was a bit wary to begin with but the meal was fab I had a huge piece of salmon and husband had battered fish which was lovely only let down was kids meal which looked like a frozen store bought pizza. Some areas of restaurant could do with a touch up chipped painted etc but the meal more than made up for it. Will return next time we r in the area

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lauren81Cumnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castle Douglas
88 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#5 of 5 in Castle Douglas
482 reviews
6.9 mi away
Clonyard House Hotel
Clonyard House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dalbeattie
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,058 reviews
15.6 mi away
Best Western Station Hotel
11.0 mi away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
Bank of Fleet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 25 King Street, Castle Douglas DG7 1AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing