We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot be beaten” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Castle Douglas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Largs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cannot be beaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My wife and myself had 3 great days at this wonderful hotel.All meals were FIRST CLASS the bar was Oh so friendly. Colin, Alexa and Sarah treated us like long time friends as did all the staff.We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask the staff for what you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 577CharlieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    28
    2
    9
    8
See reviews for
18
32
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Recently had a holiday in Castle Douglas staying at the Crown Hotel. Collin and Alexa are fantastic hosts very friendly and welcoming as were all the staff "Sarah is a treasure" I would certainly like to go back, the rooms were clean and fresh and the food was very good and plenty of it, very good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for room 7 it has a huge bay window at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 704MARGARET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Two girl friends and I booked in at the Crown Hotel last weekend when we were visiting Castle Douglas for a wedding. We stayed in the family room (room 7) which was bright and airy with lovely bathroom including decent shower. The owners and staff could not have been more accommodating - there wasn't a hairdryer in the room and when we enquired about one, a member of staff went home and got her own for us to borrow overnight! After a fabulous wedding we arrived back in the wee small hours and although the bar was closing, they served our group drinks until we were ready for bed. Safe to say it was a rather slow start the next day but we were treated to a tasty, hearty breakfast that had us feeling tip top in no time. What's more, it is INCREDIBLE value for money! I could not fault the Crown Hotel - I hope to find an excuse to return to Castle Douglas again soon so I can enjoy another night in this fabulous place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdomingham, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Recently stopped at Hotel, made more than welcome by everyone. Food excellent, breakfast and evening meal. I would highly recommend anyone to stay at this Hotel as great value for money, lovely atomosphere and a warm welcome.

I will definately be staying again and will recommend the Hotel to friends and family.

Thank you to everyone for making me feel welcome and providing me with a lovely place to stay for my holiday.

Francis
Birmingham

Room Tip: As the rooms are located within a Hotel and in the Centre of Castle Douglas you would expect a certa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Great find in castle Douglas, extremely nice landlord and land lady, good pub with spacious clean rooms above. Didn't eat at the hotel in the evening but wished I had after sampling the fantastic breakfast. Will definitely use this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone. I reckon it's the best value for money hotel I've ever stayed in. Thanks for the hospitality.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlWooll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I recently held my wedding dinner at this hotel and it was excellant food,and service the owners and waitress were very kind and friendly : we spent our wedding night in the hotel ; the room was big very clean and had a beautiful bay window all in all this is a lovely family friendly hotel and i would recommened it to any 1 x

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsspoonxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Had lunch here as part of a wedding party. The food was lovely (huge portions) and,the service from the staff was friendly and helpful.They made everyone welcome especially the children and helped make this a wonderful day. We stayed overnight and the room was clean and bright with lovely toiletries and plenty of clean towels.We were a bit fragile the next morning and did not want any breakfast and were offered lunch later instead.We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a comfortable home from home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Douglas
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Urr Valley Hotel
The Urr Valley Hotel
#4 of 4 in Castle Douglas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
15.4 mi away
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
17.1 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
22.1 mi away
Bruce Hotel
Bruce Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newton Stewart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Hotel

Property: Crown Hotel
Address: 25 King Street, Castle Douglas DG7 1AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Castle Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Castle Douglas
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Castle Douglas, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing