We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“100%”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Burnbrae Mill

Burnbrae Mill Summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Burnbrae Mill Summer
Summer view from Burnbrae Sandyhills Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
72 reviews
Burnbrae Mill Summer
Summer view from Burnbrae
Sandyhills Beach
Sledging at Burnbrae
Mountain biking in Dalbeattie Forest
Red Haven Beach
Loch Ken Aqua Park
Badgers photographed by Ian Dickie at Burnbrae Mill April 2017
The night sky by Ian Dickie at Burnbrae April 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 72 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Yvonne D
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“100%”
Reviewed April 10, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Burnbrae Mill is the ideal holiday location and is perfect for couples and families alike. The property is set in stunning countryside. The owners are very genuine and friendly people and they show lots of interest in making your holiday special. All aspects and needs are catered for in this beautiful property. We hope to return as soon as possible.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 15, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
smmc1
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed February 12, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We have just returned from a weekend in the cottage and it was perfect. On arrival the kids found a huge homemade cake in the fridge and they were over the moon and that set off the mood for the rest of the weekend. The cottage has everything required to make it a real home from home. Three good sized bedrooms, lovely big kitchen and dining area and really cozy living room with log burner. Over the years we have stayed in many homes all over the UK and I have no hesitations in saying this was the best. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cat197043
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First class, simply beautiful.”
Reviewed January 21, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

A lovely stay sheer first class accommodation, loved by all. Allan and Suzanne have thought of everything and we will definitely be back. The best accommodation I have stayed in, simply beautiful x

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Continues to be our perfect home from home get-away”
Reviewed October 26, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great countryside location for all seasons. Now stayed here 6 times in the past few years. Perfect for a weekend with friends or to relax as a family. Beautiful surrounding scenery. Always clean, warm, welcoming and well equipped - we feel very at home. Plenty of great activities nearby, especially for young kids (walking/cycling in Galloway Forrest, beautiful beaches Rockliffe/Sandgreen, Dumfries Museum, Cream o'Galloway, The Cocoabean Company, Drumlanrig Castle, Mabie Farm Park, Dalscone Farm Park). Our three year old son is already asking to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas...
2 reviews
“Beautiful cottage with fantastic views”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a great stay here - the cottage is really well designed and equipped for a great holiday. It is really quiet with fantastic views and a good location for visiting some great places in Galloway. Everything was immaculate, clean and of great quality, and the victoria sponge on arrival was delicious. Thanks so much for a really good holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home sweet home”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Sorry for the very late review Allan and Suzanne. I reviewed Burnbrae in April 2016 when we first visited and I am pleased to say that we were just as impressed the second time round. I can't fault the property. Felt like coming home. It is immaculate. The weather was a little mixed this year but we still had a fantastic time as there is so much to do in the area. We visited Mabie farm again using our tesco days out vouchers. We visited the grounds of Drumlanrig castle which has a fantastic adventure playground but unfortunately the castle was not open to visit. We also saw the red kites gather this time which was a spectacular sight. Allan took my eldest who is 11 horse riding again and the Victoria sponge was superb. Burnbrae has everything you could ever need or want from self catering holiday accommodation and is excellent value too which can be difficult to find. Thanks for helping us make special memories.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing