We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“outstanding quality and extremely friendly...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Burnbrae Mill

Burnbrae Mill Summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Burnbrae Mill Summer
Summer view from Burnbrae Sandyhills Beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
76 reviews
Burnbrae Mill Summer
Summer view from Burnbrae
Sandyhills Beach
Sledging at Burnbrae
Mountain biking in Dalbeattie Forest
Red Haven Beach
Loch Ken Aqua Park
Badgers photographed by Ian Dickie at Burnbrae Mill April 2017
The night sky by Ian Dickie at Burnbrae April 2017
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
janM4625C...
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
“outstanding quality and extremely friendly welcome with milk in the fridge and a home baked cake.”
Reviewed December 14, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Everything about the mill is 1st class down to bedding and towels..Everything you could possibly n eed for your stay. This is our 2nd time here to just relax, read, crotchet etc. Amazing little recluse, although not far from Tesco at Castle Douglas for supplies.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen L
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Burnbrae Mill was a lovely place to stay in an excellent location.”
Reviewed October 17, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We were a group of 5 and there was plenty of space for everyone, indoors and out. The two spotless bathrooms were a particular luxury we all really appreciated. Very cosy, well equipped house with a lovely view over fields (with horse and sheep). So much care had obviously gone into furnishing the house and the outside, from beautifully hand made curtains and blnds to putting green out front, and not forgetting the milk & eggs and an awesome strawberry sponge gateau which we all enjoyed after our journey there! Really dark skies at night made for plenty of stargazing. The location was very tranquil, but still close to all we wanted to visit in the area. We all want to go back and stay here again, both for the house and because it is in such a great location. Thank you, Allan & family:)

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cosy house
Liked least: Nothing we didn't like
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cacollett
whithorn
1 review
“PERFECT!”
Reviewed May 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The mill was everything stated and more.Very well equipped,especially the kitchen,clean and comfortable.Bathrooms modern and luxurious.Felt very welcome on arrival(cake was a lovely touch and delicious!!!).Our time at the mill was all we hoped for, very peaceful and relaxing and we would love to go again.Plenty to do in surrounding area or perfect for a lazy relaxing break as we went for.Highly recommended to all our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything,just felt like home from home.
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicolawhi...
Carnforth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Complete Relaxation”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Wonderful place, very tranquil. Beautiful cottage, very clean, a home from home experience. Thankyou to the owners for the most gorgeous cake, baked especially for us on our arrival....we devoured the lot. Will most definitely be returning.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgwalklat...
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A peaceful location”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed for a week in March 2015. The mill is very well laid out and has everything you need. The location is nice with good views over the fields containing sheep and cows. With 3 bedrooms and two bathrooms it is suitable for families and couples. The kitchen is large and has the added bonus of a dishwasher so no slaving over the dishes after a long day walking. It is well located for touring the southern areas of Scotland and the Galloway forest is on your doorstep. All in all a lovely place to stay and we hope to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything that we needed in the kitchen was on hand
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyToge...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful accommodation in a wonderful location”
Reviewed March 29, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed here for a week in March. The accommodation is really lovely and spacious. It has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The kitchen is very well equipped. We happily stayed inside for the days when it was rainy outside and did some baking, played board games and watched dvds while still enjoying the views from the warmth of indoors. It was brilliant watching the sheep from the sitting room windows at all times of the day as they are fascinating, and the amazing skyline is stunning at a different times too. We were also lucky enough to have several dry and bright days. We explored different parts of the Galloway Forest and spotted several Red Kites in the sky and even some deer. The stars at night are extraordinary. This really is a wonderful place to visit to explore the countryside. Very peaceful and relaxing. We had a brilliant break away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to come home to return to work!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyjji
1 review
“Christmas stay”
Reviewed January 14, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at the Mill for 2 weeks over Christmas. It was a lovely setting with great views. The owners decorated the mill outside and in with a real Christmas tree. It was a lovely touch that the owners took our children horse riding on Christmas day, thank you and see you soon

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing