We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our perfect little wedding.”
other travelers have booked this property
The Coach House, Durhamhill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Coach House, Durhamhill
Tranquil hillside setting of the Coach House Coachhouse from west end
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
The Coach House, Durhamhill
Tranquil hillside setting of the Coach House
Coachhouse from west end
Outdoor table & log store - east end
Coachhouse from east end
Giant stone horseshoe seat
East wing dining table
West wing sitting area
West wing dining/kitchen
Cat on wildflower meadow roof of extension
Friends
Matilda
Peace!
A good catch
Sidecar adventure
View from a sidecar
Ferrying the first guest to our writing course in March
Writing in better weather - with advice from Oz
Lettie
View of Coachhouse from back
View to the east  from Coachhouse back fence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leona M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our perfect little wedding.”
Reviewed September 21, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the coachhouse for our family to stay whilst celebrating our wedding.
Countryside, house, welcome of the owners juliet and alan first class.
We turned the games room into our reception area, setting 25 people, alan helped us in Evert way, getting extra tables, allowing uw to decorate and move everything a million times to suit.
We erected gazebos to get married in but last minute got married in the beautiful house, we moved furniture, had caterers, also brilliant, and neither juliet or alan battend an Eyelid.
Whilst having pictures taken an old motorbike and sidecar arrived.........brilliant, taking big and little kids for rides, thoroughly enjoyed, then mama llama arrived and was taken acwalknround the village with the little kids.
If your looking for a beautiful home, to hide away, i couldnt recommend enough. Anythingnwe asked was organised and juliet is fab at keeping in touch re details, they recommended a photographer - local Andy Buchanan who was excellent and unobtrusive and excellent local caterers Cartner catering - again who were excellent.
Thanks again to juliet and alan we could not have asked for more.
Leona and Drew

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 22, 2015
Thank you for the brilliant review and for choosing the Coach House as the place for your wedding - we feel very honoured by this. It was brilliant to see everyone looking so happy and we have never seen the games room looking quite so beautiful before! Thank you, too, for all the beautiful flowers which you left. You would be most welcome to come back for anniversaries!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tizzyliza...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
Reviewed August 28, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Where do I begin?
The Coach House really is perfect in every way possible! The hosts Juliet and Alan are lovely and make you feel at home, we were welcomed with balloons, banners, birthday cake and biscuits (such a thoughtful welcome).
The house is large, clean, well furnished and has such a good feel about it. From the lovable llama's to the cheeky chickens, the wildlife is varied and the children (and adults!) loved them. Plenty to do from a ping pong battle to spooky nighttime walks. The location is ideal, central to all the best visitor destinations in Dumfries and Galloway.
3 generations have all had a truly wonderful week celebrating two 40th birthdays. We all hope to return one day!!! Thank you Juliet and Alan. X

Date of stay: August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2015
Dear Birthday Girls and family, thank you for the brilliant review. It was such a pleasure to have you all to stay at the coach House. We are pleased you had fun and we hope you have another birthday to celebrate here again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic holiday accommodation equipped for all the family. Great location, beautiful house and surroundings.”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The Coach House more than met our expectations (which were high), needs and wishes. We arrived at this beautiful house set in lovely surroundings to a warm welcome from Juliet and Alan (Owners) which included tea, coffee and yummy home made cake. A quick tour of the house and we were left to get on and enjoy our holiday.

A large family of three generations coming together for our annual vacation and there was something for everyone. The accommodation was designed for comfort and equipped for everyone and every taste. Safe for the children to play inside or out, Wi-Fi for the teenagers and easy access throughout for the grandparents.

Ample space and comfort for the family to come together for meals, games and to sit and catch up on everyone's news, especially fabulous was the dining table made for all, yet enough alternative spaces for everyone to do their own thing without disturbing others.

The children and Grandpa in particular loved the llamas. Through feeding, walking the very patient Lettie and even taking her on a walking trip into town and back through the country lanes our little ones with special needs blossomed beyond belief. A trip in Alan's trailer through the surrounding countryside was a big hit with the younger ones and rides in the motorbike sidecar for others.

Easily accessible to many attractions made this a fabulous holiday for all of us.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ability for everyone to be sat together for meals, games and chats, yet each person able to do their own thing when they wanted to.
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2015
Wow, what a lovely, comprehensive and kind review - we are delighted with it, thank you so much. We (including the llamas and hens) really enjoyed seeing the little ones flourishing and it's a real bonus to meet a grandpa who is just as enthusiastic about the llamas as the kids are! We look forward to seeing you again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Werfner
1 review
“Beautiful, scenic, relaxing - spectacular house!”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Spectacular house, beautifully furnished and kitted out. The owners were lovely and so generous to us. Lots to do nearby and very comfortable house. We felt like we were at home! Loved the chickens roaming and the Llamas behind the house. Worth every penny :)

Date of stay: June 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2015
Thank you for the great review. We are delighted that you had a good hen weekend at the Coach House and you are most welcome to return any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2015
Thank you for the very kind words. It was a pleasure to meet you and you would be most welcome to visit the Coach House again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Graham R
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super Hero Sanctuary”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Our New Year 2014, was everything and more we could have wished for.
There was 3 families all under one roof (11 in total). loads of space for everybody to relax. The dining room table sat everybody with room to spare.
The owners Juliet and Alan made us so welcome and left you alone to get on with your holiday and helped at any time that we needed information or advice about the house.
The Llamas were very 'human' like and Juliet was more than happy for the kids to take them for a walk or help at feeding time.
Recommend this very special retreat to anybody looking for a peaceful get away.
Thank you Juliet and Alan for the great New Year Holiday.
From the Super Heroes x

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property, Play room, Large Kitchen and wood burning stoves
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 2, 2015
Dear Super heroes,
Thank you for the great review. You are welcome to fly back to the Coach House any time. Lettie the llama was pleased to be taken for a walk by Super Heroes!
I hope we see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jack p
Stirlingshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Santa Comes to Durhamhill”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Our family group, 2 Grandparents, 6 Parents and 6 Grandkids (aged 2 to 14) spent a magical Christmas week at Durhamhill.
With 2 sitting areas and 2 kitchens it was a fantastic layout that really worked for us. Especially the 2 kitchens were great on Christmas Day. All rooms were furnished to an excellent standard. Alan kept us well stocked up with wood for the two stoves and Juliet was a lovely, kind, helpful lady.
The highlight for our 2 year old Cara (excluding Santa's visit) was feeding the llamas and taking Olga, the tame llama, for a walk around the village.
We holidayed on the Solway some 40 years ago but had forgotten how beautiful the scenery around the coastline is. Even in December!!

Date of stay: December 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2015
Thank you for the incredibly kind review. We were so pleased that you had a good Christmas here and it was great that Santa managed to find you, away from your home, and squeeze down the wood burner flue!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing