We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Santa Comes to Durhamhill”
other travelers have booked this property
The Coach House, Durhamhill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Coach House, Durhamhill
Tranquil hillside setting of the Coach House Coachhouse from west end
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The Coach House, Durhamhill
Tranquil hillside setting of the Coach House
Coachhouse from west end
Outdoor table & log store - east end
Coachhouse from east end
Giant stone horseshoe seat
East wing dining table
West wing sitting area
West wing dining/kitchen
Cat on wildflower meadow roof of extension
Friends
Matilda
Peace!
A good catch
Sidecar adventure
View from a sidecar
Ferrying the first guest to our writing course in March
Writing in better weather - with advice from Oz
Lettie
View of Coachhouse from back
View to the east  from Coachhouse back fence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jack p
Stirlingshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Santa Comes to Durhamhill”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Our family group, 2 Grandparents, 6 Parents and 6 Grandkids (aged 2 to 14) spent a magical Christmas week at Durhamhill.
With 2 sitting areas and 2 kitchens it was a fantastic layout that really worked for us. Especially the 2 kitchens were great on Christmas Day. All rooms were furnished to an excellent standard. Alan kept us well stocked up with wood for the two stoves and Juliet was a lovely, kind, helpful lady.
The highlight for our 2 year old Cara (excluding Santa's visit) was feeding the llamas and taking Olga, the tame llama, for a walk around the village.
We holidayed on the Solway some 40 years ago but had forgotten how beautiful the scenery around the coastline is. Even in December!!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2015
Thank you for the incredibly kind review. We were so pleased that you had a good Christmas here and it was great that Santa managed to find you, away from your home, and squeeze down the wood burner flue!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JOANNE H
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC COTTAGE BREAK”
Reviewed November 17, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed here at the Coachhouse from the Friday til the Sunday. There were 8 of us in total and we all had a brilliant weekend. The cottage itself is so spacious and very modern. Beautiful inside and out, it had everything we could have possibly needed, we even had cakes on arrival! Alan and Juliet are very friendly and welcoming. I even had a ride in the side car of Alans motorcycle and met some new friends..the lovely llamas :) ..as well as the friendly cat Ogg. There is a games room also to keep you occupied which includes table tennis, football table, cinema etc.There`s a fabulous little pub down the road called `The Grapes` where the food is great, and the landlord and locals are very friendly. The lovely Landlord even gave us a ride back home! Can`t wait to return to this lovely cottage in the near future. Thank you Alan and Juliet for having us xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2014
We were delighted to have such cheerful guests to stay at the Coach House and pleased that the birthday girl had fun too. Dave, the landlord of the Grapes, is great - I told you he'd give you a lift home if you played your cards right - must have been a couple of full carloads! You are welcome back any time and thank you for the great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2014
Thank you for the enthusiastic review. It was also my ( Juliet's) highlight that Lettie the llama strolled round the village so bravely without her camelids companions. I think the girls instilled a lot of confidence in her by being so calm and relaxed with her - thank you girls! She will be off shopping at Tescos in Castle Douglas on her own soon or climbing Mount Everest!
I hope you come back to see her again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kylieclyd...
East Kilbride
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent House”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A large group of family stayed for the weekend for a 50th Birthday.

The house is beautiful and very modern with lovely views of the countryside. Plenty of room for everyone and it had everything we needed. Beds really comfortable and bathrooms are high quality.

The owners are great and very friendly, letting us feed the and walk the Llamas. We also had a regular visitor to the house, Ogg, we all loved him.

A brilliant place and would stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. Og, in particular, appreciates it! It was a real pleasure for Alan, me, the llamas and Og to have you to stay in the Coach House and you are welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality accommodation with a layout that lends itself to a large party of people
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 22, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We just hope no-one from Gleneagles reads it! I hope you have another family birthday soon and need to come back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Shirley S
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just the ideal family holiday house”
Reviewed September 9, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We rented The coach House for our side of the family for my son's wedding nearby and it was absolutely top notch. We had our two little grandsons aged 3 and almost 7 with us and they had a ball - Juliet and Alan were so kind and generous and let them feed the llamas and they even had a trip in the side car of Alan's vintage motorbike. Nothing was a bother for Juliet and Alan and they made us feel so at home. The house is well kitted out and we had a lovely big family meal on the night before the wedding. It is simply gorgeous and we so enjoyed our time there. The views are spectacular and we even had a BBQ on the Sunday. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very well equipped and comfortable with great hosts.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2014
Thank you for the great review and we are pleased the wedding went well and the sun shone for you. The two mini- farmers were great. We would love to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane B
1 review
“Perfect place for an extended family holiday - something for everyone”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We cannot recommend the Coach House highly enough for a large group (in our case 3 generations of family). As well as the accommodation being to the highest standard, the setting is beautiful and plenty of lovely beaches and amazing castles within striking distance. The owners were very welcoming and all of the kids (and adults) loved the opportunity to feed the llamas and take them for a walk and have a ride in a motorbike and sidecar. The large games room/cinema was fantastic too. Another bonus was having a table big enough to seat 16, meaning the whole family could sit down to eat together. We'll hopefully be back again in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. It was a real pleasure to have such cheerful and appreciative guests staying in the Coach House and it is always a pleasure for me to introduce people to the llamas and for Alan to take people for a wee spin in the sidecar!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing