We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place for entertaining, relaxing, and...”
other travelers have booked this property
The Coach House, Durhamhill
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Coach House, Durhamhill
Tranquil hillside setting of the Coach House Coachhouse from west end
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
The Coach House, Durhamhill
Tranquil hillside setting of the Coach House
Coachhouse from west end
Outdoor table & log store - east end
Coachhouse from east end
Giant stone horseshoe seat
East wing dining table
West wing sitting area
West wing dining/kitchen
Cat on wildflower meadow roof of extension
Friends
Matilda
Peace!
A good catch
Sidecar adventure
View from a sidecar
Ferrying the first guest to our writing course in March
Writing in better weather - with advice from Oz
Lettie
View of Coachhouse from back
View to the east  from Coachhouse back fence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JuniGreen...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect place for entertaining, relaxing, and escaping the day job!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Well designed, great use of interior space, tastefully decorated, all mod cons, and log burners - very comfortable, well equipped. We were a group of 9 and we had plenty of space to hang out and relax in. Juliet and Alan were perfect hosts - discreet, friendly and accommodating to our needs. We loved feeding the llamas - what a treat it was to take Lottie for a walk! - and the hens too. There's plenty to do on a rainy day (excellent DVD collection, Games room, mini cinema) but we had such good weather for all 4 days of our visit that we were out and about. Threave Castle is a great visit, and we enjoyed a very nice pub lunch at the Crown Hotel in Castle Douglas. The cafe by Carsluith Castle serves excellent smoked sausage and salmon. Cardoness Castle is also worth a visit as is nearby Gatehouse of Fleet. However, at the end of a day exploring it was lovely to return to Durhamhill to cook and eat and chill out - there's the option to have a BBQ and dine outside as there's plenty of garden furniture, thankfully insect free! Some of us had a go on Alan's sidecar and thoroughly enjoyed it. Durhamhill proved to be the perfect Easter Break location for my extended family who'd travelled from London, Manchester, Edinburgh and Glasgow - we hope to make a return visit soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great space, both indoors and outdoors and plenty to do in and around the cottage.
Liked least: Nothing - all excellent!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. It was a real pleasure having you all to stay in the Coach House. We look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 2, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kesh, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 25, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jess S
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect! Beautiful house, surroundings and plenty to do.”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Coach House for a weekend in June, group of 12 adults, all friends from school - and all 24 from Newcastle Upon Tyne. It was absolutely perfect for us, plenty bathrooms, beautiful bedrooms and enough space to cater for so many people. (12 full englishes, BBQs and lunches can by quite on ordeal but the house was so well equipped there was nothing we needed and plenty oven space).
The house itself is stunning, personally I work in property and was so impressed that all the fittings and furnishings were of extrememly high quality, the bathrooms are gorgeous and the bedrooms/bedlinen is more like 5 star hotel standard, in fact - the whole place is 5 star standard!
We just couldn't fault the house.
Hospitality was so welcoming and helpful. Grant had a ride in the sidecar and loved it!
We had a BBQ, watched films, did a bootcamp on Saturday morning with our token fit friend outside, went for a run, and did lots of drinking too! Just what you want from a weekend! The surroundings are gorgeous, the lamas are so cute and friendly, we even had fun on the tree swing!
As there was a large group of us we placed a food order with Tesco for delivery from the Tesco in Dumfries, which arrived to the house so we didn't have the hassle of taking things up, that was ideal so I'd recommend that.
We also went shooting at Forrest Experiences, it was great fun as we got to do clay pigeon and rifle shooting, the instructors were brilliant and it was great value for money, they put us in teams and ran a competition which made it fun (the girls were better than the boys overall which was even better!)
There's a loch called Loch Ken nearby with watersports which we really wanted to do but were a little too late in booking so if you're interested in that book in advance, we'll be back to do that next time!
We loved that the house is as eco friendly as possible and chemical/allergen free as much as can be, it's refreshing to see something so stylish yet achieving something good. It's so quiet too, our ears were ringing as it was so still! A lovely relaxing place.
I left a couple of things and Juliet also very kindly posted them to me - thanks!
We all said we must come back, and we certainly will - I can't recommend it enough! We've been telling everyone it's the best holiday home we've stayed in.
Congratulations on making the Coach House into a wonderful destination, and thanks for making it so much fun for us.
Five Stars!!!
Jess & Friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful house and so much to do around.
Liked least: Leaving, of course!!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staylonga...
Malvern
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is a gem, great property, countryside, llamas, pubs, things to do, helpfull owner - We had a magic time”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This recently converted eco house is situated in lovely countryside, and a great base for enjoying or exploring the area. The coach house itself is very smart, lots of oak, and lovely furniture. It is also well equiped with giants TV's and a brilliant stereo, plus good kitchen equipment etc. The accomodation is quite versatile, suiting parties small and large.
Our daughter really loved her handbuilt bunkbed, but was happy to get up in the mornings to feed the tame llammas with Juliet (the owner, who lives nearby)
We would have been content to stay in, and enjoy the house.
However as we were on holiday we dragged ourselves out to explore the area.
Kirkpatrick Durham is the nearest village, a short stroll away, quite picturesqe and well worth walking through. There is a good circular walk down one drive, through the village, and up the other drive.
There are good pubs around, some brilliant castles, some ruins, and an art trail. Also a brilliant place for homecooked lunches and cream teas.
Threave Castle, a short drive away, must not be missed. Its on a small Island, and features the shortest ferry crossing in the UK! Its about 20 metres in a little motor boat, and great fun.
Castle Douglas is about 15 minutes drive away, a pleasant market town, worth visiting, with good shops (large & small), pubs, restaurants,and a selection of indivudal takeaway restaurants.
Dumfries is about 20 minutes away, a good sized town, with good shops, pubs, restaurants, and a fair bit of history. You can park too!
I really enjoyed the quirky aircraft museum, just outside town. Our daughter enjoyed the small animal park and play centre.
Also lots of walks, forests, fishing etc.,
Everyday we had to rush back for llamma feeding time.
Juliet and Allan did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable.
My one negative comment is that the days seem to speed by very quickly in Kirkpatrick Durham. We want to go back there, because time ran out before we had done and seen much of what is available.
We all had a great holiday, our age range is 5<58. and will definitely be staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: llamas, countryside around, local castles, aircraft museum
Liked least: Going home afterwards!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 10, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, no complaints whatsoever
Liked least: No complaints
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
suzanne H
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“absolutely perfect !!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Cannot fault this property at all.Everything has been expertly thought out.It is a large coach house which has been renevated to an extremely high standard and can be rented as either the whole house or two seperate flats.We have just returned from a short break there.Three families consisting of 6 adults and 7 children and had a fantasic time.The owners,Juliet and Alan are exteremly welcoming and helpful.They have endless patience with children allowing them to help with feeding and walking the llamas not to mention 'Small' the farm cat.Alan can also organise a trip down the lane in a motorbike sidecar which is a huge hit.Everything in the house is of the best quality and every appliance you could wish for is there.Already looking forward to a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing